VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Marietta Piekenbrock

Marietta Piekenbrock, programme director of the Volksbühne Berlin as of the 17/18 season, is a theatre scholar, writer and producer. Her most recent work includes stints as head dramaturg at the Ruhrtriennale and as programme director for music, theatre and dance for the Capital of Culture Europe RUHR.2010.

From 1984 to 1991, she studied theatre, philosophy and history of art in Aix-en-Provence, Munich and Paris (with Julia Kristeva). From the mid-80s onward, her many roles included dramaturg, curator and writer for the Bavarian State Theatre, Literaturhaus Munich, the German Theatre Museum and various publishing houses. From 2000 on, she worked in a journalistic capacity for several daily newspapers, and then as a theatre critic for the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung from 2003. In 2004 Jürgen Flimm made her the dramaturg for the Ruhrtriennale 2005-2008. In 2007, she joined the management team of the Capital of Culture Europe RUHR.2010 as the director of the music, theatre and dance programme. As head dramaturg from 2012 to 2014, under the direction of Heiner Goebbels, she advanced the Ruhrtriennale/International Festival of the Arts to the most innovative festival in Europe. She then became a professor in cultural reflection at Witten/Herdecke University in 2013.

Marietta Piekenbrock curates and organises cross-genre exhibitions, festivals, programmes and a series of talks with and about Joachim Kaiser, amongst others: I’m the last of the Mohicans: Joachim Kaiser. Critic, Born in ’28 (2003); James Nachtwey: James Nachtwey: War photographer images from 1990-2003 (2003); René Pollesch: Ruhr trilogy (2008-2010); Frie Leysen: Theatre of the World (2010); Hans Werner Henze: The Henze Project, New music for a Metropolis (2010); raumlaborberlin: Odyssey Europe (2010); Jitka Hanzlová: Portraits (2011); Boris Charmatz: enfant, Levée des Conflits, manger (2012-2014); Tarek Atoui: Improvisation & Sound Art (2012); Jérôme Bel: Disabled Theater (2012); Dan Perjovschi: www.2013 (2013); Rimini-Protokoll: Situation Rooms (2013); Harun Farocki: An Attitude to Work (2014); and Tino Sehgal: (No title).(2000) (2014). The award-winning series No Education conceived by Piekenbrock launched a broad debate on new forms of cultural education in 2012.

She is the author of numerous lectures and essays on developments in international theatre and dance, on cultural policy issues, as well as artist monographs, interviews, anthologies and exhibition catalogues (e.g. on Marguerite Duras, Marieluise Fleißer, Therese Giehse, Klaus Michael Grüber, Bernard-Marie Koltès). She also serves on the boards of various juries, including that of the Munich state literary prize 2005, the independent theatre award Favoriten, Festival freier Theater NRW 2008/2010, the George Tabori prize 2010, the endowment fund Darstellende Künste e.V. Berlin, the Mauricio-Kagel music prize of the art foundation NRW 2011/2013 and sits on the Board of Trustees of the endowment fund Darstellende Künste e.V., Berlin 2011-2014.

18.09
19.09
20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
04.10
05.10
06.10
07.10
08.10
09.10
10.10
11.10
12.10
13.10
14.10
15.10
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Marietta Piekenbrock

Marietta Piekenbrock, Programmdirektorin der Volksbühne Berlin seit Beginn der Spielzeit 17/18, ist Theaterwissenschaftlerin, Autorin und Produzentin. Zuletzt hat sie als Leitende Dramaturgin der Ruhrtriennale und als Programmleiterin Musik, Theater und Tanz für die Kulturhauptstadt Europas RUHR.2010 gearbeitet.

Von 1984 bis 1991 studiert sie Theaterwissenschaften, Philosophie und Kunstgeschichte in Aix-en-Provence, München und Paris (bei Julia Kristeva). Seit Mitte der 80er Jahre arbeitet sie als Dramaturgin, Kuratorin und Autorin u.a. für das Bayerische Staatsschauspiel, das Literaturhaus München, das Deutsche Theatermuseum und verschiedene Verlagshäuser. Von 2000 an schreibt sie als freie Journalistin für mehrere Tageszeitungen, ab 2003 als Theaterkritikerin für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. 2004 engagiert Jürgen Flimm sie als Dramaturgin der Ruhrtriennale 2005-2008. 2007 wechselt sie in das Leitungsteam der Kulturhauptstadt Europas RUHR.2010 und übernimmt die Programmleitung für das Musik-, Theater- und Tanzprogramm. Unter der Intendanz von Heiner Goebbels entwickelt sie als Leitende Dramaturgin von 2012 bis 2014 die Ruhrtriennale / International Festivals of the Arts zu einem der innovativsten Festivals Europas. An der Universität Witten/Herdecke übernimmt sie 2013 einen Lehrauftrag für Kulturreflexion.

Marietta Piekenbrock kuratiert und organisiert genreübergreifende Ausstellungen, Festivals, Programm- und Gesprächsreihen mit und über u.a. Joachim Kaiser: Ich bin der letzte Mohikaner: Joachim Kaiser. Kritiker, Jahrgang 28 (2003); James Nachtwey:

James Nachtwey. Kriegsfotograf Bilder von 1990-2003 (2003); René Pollesch:Ruhrtrilogie (2008-2010); Frie Leysen: Theater der Welt (2010); Hans-Werner Henze:Das Henze-Projekt. Neue Musik für eine Metropole (2010); raumlaborberlin: Odyssee Europa (2010); Jitka Hanzlová: Porträts (2011); Boris Charmatz: enfant, Levée des Conflits, manger (2012-2014); Tarek Atoui: Improvisation & Sound Art (2012); Jérôme Bel: Disabled Theater (2012); Dan Perjovschi: www.2013 (2013); Rimini-Protokoll: Situation Rooms (2013); Harun Farocki: Eine Einstellung zur Arbeit (2014); und Tino Sehgal: (Ohne Titel).(2000) (2014). Die von ihr konzipierte und preisgekrönte Reihe No Education stößt 2012 einen breiten Diskurs über neue Formen kultureller Bildung an. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Vorträge und Essays zu Entwicklungen im internationalen Theater und Tanz, zu kulturpolitischen Fragen sowie Künstlermonographien, Interviews, Anthologien und Ausstellungskatalogen (u.a. über Marguerite Duras, Marieluise Fleißer, Therese Giehse, Klaus Michael Grüber, Bernard-Marie Koltès) sowie Mitglied verschiedener Fach- und Preisjurys, darunter der Literaturpreis der Landeshauptstadt München 2005, der Off-Theater-Preis Favoriten, Festival freier Theater NRW 2008/2010, der George-Tabori-Preis 2010 des Fonds Darstellende Künste e.V. Berlin, der Mauricio-Kagel-Musikpreis der Kunststiftung NRW 2011/2013 und des Kuratoriums des Fonds Darstellende Künste e.V., Berlin 2011-2014.

19.07
20.07
21.07
22.07
23.07
24.07
25.07
26.07
27.07
28.07
29.07
30.07
31.07
01.08
02.08
03.08
04.08
05.08
06.08
07.08
08.08
09.08
10.08
11.08
12.08
13.08
14.08
15.08
16.08
17.08
18.08
19.08
20.08
21.08
22.08
23.08
24.08
25.08
26.08
27.08
28.08
29.08
30.08
31.08
01.09
02.09
03.09
04.09
05.09
06.09
07.09
08.09
09.09
10.09
11.09
12.09
13.09
14.09
15.09
16.09
17.09
18.09
19.09
20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx