VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Chris Dercon

Chris Dercon, artistic director of the Volksbühne Berlin as of the 17/18 season, is an art historian, documentary filmmaker and cultural producer. He has been directing art institutions since 1990, including PS1 in New York, Witte de With – Center for Contemporary Art and Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, both in Rotterdam, Haus der Kunst in Munich and the Tate Modern in London.

From 1976 to 1982, he studied theatre and film in the Netherlands. Throughout the 1980s Dercon was active in the Belgian and Dutch performance, dance, and avant-garde theatre scene. During this time, he worked as a freelance theatre producer and director for the theatre and dance festival Klapstuk in Leuven and founded the International Theatre Tape Festival in Rotterdam. He produces numerous programmes on dance and film for Belgian and Dutch television.

In 1988 Dercon assumed the position of programme director at the Institute of Contemporary Art PS1 in New York. In 1990, he took on the role of director of Witte de With – Center for Contemporary Art in Rotterdam and became the director of the Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Rotterdam in 1996. As director of Haus der Kunst in Munich 2003-2011, he initiated collaborations with, and publications about, Amar Kanwar, Allan Kaprow, Alexander Kluge, Martin Margiela, Paul McCarthy, Carlo Mollino, Garin Nugroho, Christoph Schlingensief, Patti Smith, Apichatpong Weerasethakul and Ai Weiwei. In addition, alongside contemporary art, Dercon also firmly established theatre, dance and performance, as well as film, photography, architecture, design and fashion in the programme. In addition, he headed the institution’s “critical reconstruction”, which reversed structural changes that had been carried out in the context of architectural denazification after the Second World War, to provide a perspective on the venue’s origins and to facilitate a discourse about its history. From 2011 to 2016, as director of Tate Modern, Chris Dercon focussed firmly on Africa, Asia and the Middle East. In 2013, he opened the new “Tank” exhibition spaces that were transformed by Herzog & de Meuron, for Art in Action and organises exhibitions including ones on Edvard Munch, Saloua R. Choucair, Ibrahim El-Salahi, Meschac Gaba, Richard Tuttle, Marlene Dumas, Bhupen Khakhar and Wolfgang Tillmans.

Chris Dercon frequently gives lectures and interviews; he is widely published both at home and abroad, writing about developments in the visual and performing arts, collection policies, the future of museums and cultural institutions, and the changing role of the artist.

11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Chris Dercon

Chris Dercon, Intendant der Volksbühne Berlin seit der Spielzeit 17/18, ist Kunsthistoriker, Dokumentarfilmregisseur und Kulturproduzent. Seit 1990 leitet er Kunstinstitutionen, darunter das PS1 Museum in New York, das Witte de With – Center for Contemporary Art und das Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in Rotterdam, das Haus der Kunst in München und die Tate Modern in London.

Von 1976 bis 1982 studierte er in den Niederlanden Kunstgeschichte, Theater- und Filmwissenschaften. Die 1980er Jahre hindurch war Dercon aktiv in der belgischen und holländischen Performance-, Tanz- und Avantgarde-Theater-Szene. Er arbeitete als freier Theaterproduzent und Regisseur für das Theater- und Tanzfestival Klapstuk in Leuven und gründete in Rotterdam das internationale Theatre Tape Festival. Für das belgische und niederländische Fernsehen realisierte Dercon zahlreiche Sendungen zu Tanz und Film.

1988 wurde Dercon Programmdirektor am Institute of Contemporary Art PS1 in New York. 1990 wechselte er als Direktor an das Witte de With – Center for Contemporary Art in Rotterdam und wurde 1996 Direktor des Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam. 2003-2011 initiierte er als Direktor des Hauses der Kunst in München Kollaborationen mit und Publikationen über Amar Kanwar, Allan Kaprow, Alexander Kluge, Martin Margiela, Paul McCarthy, Carlo Mollino, Garin Nugroho, Christoph Schlingensief, Patti Smith, Apichatpong Weerasethakul und Ai Wei Wei. Außerdem verankerte Dercon neben der zeitgenössischen Kunst auch Theater, Tanz und Performance sowie Film, Fotografie, Architektur, Design und Mode im Programm. Zudem leitete er den „Kritischen Rückbau“ des Hauses ein, d.h. er machte bauliche Änderungen, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg als architektonische Entnazifizierung galten, rückgängig, um den Blick auf den Ursprung des Hauses freizulegen und eine Auseinandersetzung mit seiner Geschichte zu ermöglichen. Von 2011 bis 2016 hat Chris Dercon als Direktor der Tate Modern den Fokus des Hauses stark nach Afrika, Asien und den Mittleren Osten gerichtet. 2013 eröffnete er mit den von Herzog & de Meuron transformierten Tanks neue Ausstellungsräume für „Art in Action“ und realisierte Ausstellungen zu u.a. Edvard Munch, Saloua R. Choucair, Ibrahim El Salahi, Meshac Gaba, Richard Tuttle, Marlene Dumas, Buphen Khakhar und Wolfgang Tillmans.

Chris Dercon hält zahlreiche Vorträge und Interviews und publiziert im In- und Ausland über Entwicklungen in den bildenden und darstellenden Künsten, über Sammlungspolitik, die Zukunft von Museen und Kulturinstitutionen und die sich verändernde Rolle der Künstler*innen.


26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx