de / en
Platform East: An Unholy Alliance?
“Christian Values” and Anti-Gender Politics in Central and Eastern Europe
26.02.

Discourse
English

An event of the international festival POSTWEST

With: Regina Elsner (ZOiS, Berlin), Elżbieta Korolczuk (Södertörn Universtity, Stockholm), Radoslav Stoyanov (Bulgarian Helsinki Commitee, Sofia), Kristina Stöckl (Universität Innsbruck) and others

Moderation: Patricia Hecht

Today, right-wing populist movements and authoritarian governments worldwide use “Christian values” to promote conservative social policies. They proclaim to represent what is supposedly “real" civil society, as opposed to the elites. In countries such as Russia, Poland or Bulgaria in particular, the anti-gender and pro-family agenda of right-wing parties strengthens those who are nationalist and critical of Europe. However, these movements are also part of international ultraconservative Christian alliances that view Eastern Europe as a new bastion for the defense of their values. For instance, these links are clearly evident at the World Congress of Families (WCF), where ultraconservative Christian groups and individuals gather to defend a traditionalist understanding of the family.

What are the driving factors behind this “unholy alliance” of religion and politics, in which gender is equated with demoralization? What role do the Catholic and Orthodox Churches play in this process? How do the different denominations of the Christian church position themselves and engage in this conflict of values?

Regina Elsner is a theologian and a researcher at ZOiS. Through the project Morality instead of peace, Regina Elsner is investigating the dynamics of Russian Orthodox social ethics since the fall of the Soviet Union.

Elżbieta Korolczuk is a sociologist, commentator and women’s and human rights activist. She works at Södertörn University in Stockholm and teaches at the American Studies Center at Warsaw University. Her research interests involve: gender, social movements and civil society. She published numerous texts, e.g. on the women’s movement and its relation with neoliberalism, on new forms of citizenship, politicization of reproduction and anti-gender mobilization in Poland and abroad.

Radoslav Stoyanov is a Bulgarian human rights activist with a focus on LGBTI issues. As a gay activist, he litigated many cases before the national equality body regarding public hate speech against sexual minorities. He is acting as a watchdog for right-wing conservative activities in Bulgaria. He is currently working as an expert in the Bulgarian Helsinki Committee and is pursuing a master’s degree in law.

Patricia Hecht worked for radio and print in Germany, Mexico and Colombia, before she joined taz in 2012. She was editor on the Berlin desk and for the front page and is now gender editor on the politics desk, working for example on reproductive rights and antifeminism. She was part of the international research team Europe's Far Right, reporting on strategies and networks of European far right politics.

Kristina Stöckl is Professor at the University of Innsbruck’s Department of Sociology. She is currently principal investigator of the ERC funded research project POSEC - Postsecular Conflicts about religious-moral conflicts in contemporary societies, in particular conflicts regarding religious freedom, gender and sexuality, and bioethics.

In cooperation with

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

Platform East: Urban Activism in Eastern Europe, 28.01.
Der Weg aus der Nische? Belarussische Literatur und ihre Zukunft, 18.02.
POSTWEST_Shot


Platform East
Which forms of civic engagement exist in Eastern Europe? Which agents are participating in the restructuring of public space? How has collective memory changed in the post-Soviet era? The new series Platform East will raise these questions and many others as part of the transcultural festival POSTWEST. Academics, artists, and activists from Central and Eastern Europe as well as various experts on Eastern Europe will address the socially relevant issues that affect their everyday lives: the freedom of art and media, the politics of memory and the construction of identities, generational relationships and conflicts as well as protest against political systems. Bringing together these different professions will produce mental collages that expand epistemic horizons and serve as the starting point for diverse future scenarios and a collective utopia of POSTWEST.

The series Platform East is a collaboration between the Centre for East European and International Studies (ZOiS) and the Volksbühne Berlin. Through panel discussions, films, lecture performances, and other formats, the series will function as a platform in the truest sense: at the intersection of art and science, it moves past the existing homogenous images of Eastern Europe and offers space for political, societal, and cultural diversity.

26.02.20, 19:00
> tickets

Past Activities

Platform East: (De)constructing Stereotypes. Media Images in the European Press

An event of the international festival POSTWEST

With: Alice Bota (ZEIT), Dóra Diseri (n-ost), Tamina Kutscher (dekoder), Dariya Orlova (Mohyla School of Journalism)
Moderation: Gesine Dornblüth

The media shapes our perception of political events, people, public debates, countries – and the stereotypes associated with them – within society. When we think about Eastern Europe our judgments are also inevitably influenced by imagery constructed by the media through pictures and texts. But how accurate are these images and between what tensions are they created?

This event focuses on the representation of Eastern Europe in Western European media outlets and vice versa: What ideas does Germany have about Eastern Europe and how do they view “us” there? To what extent do reports in the media influence our perception of East and West and the construction of the stereotypes associated with them? What role do political and economic factors play? What level of responsibility do foreign correspondents have with regard to the dissemination and maintenance of stereotypes and what new challenges are they facing?

In this discussion, journalists and media experts use these questions to approach the status quo of the media landscape in Europe. Against the background of a perceived East-West divide, they identify influential factors and talk about possible future scenarios and the conditions they would require: What would media coverage that's free of the continuous construction and reproduction of stereotypes look like?

Dóra Diseri is a Berlin-based Hungarian journalist and project lead of the European cross-border grant program “Reporters in the Field” at n-ost (Network for Reporting on Eastern Europe). Until October 2018, she was the Berlin correspondent of the Hungarian news channel HírTV. She studied journalism, cultural and Eastern-European studies in Budapest, Leipzig and Berlin. Before moving to Berlin in 2012, she worked as a multimedia journalist and reporter in the news department of the Hungarian Public Television (MTVA) in Budapest.

Gesine Dornblüth is a journalist and was the Moscow correspondent for Deutschlandradio from 2012 to 2017. With her doctorate in Slavic Studies, Dornblüth has reported primarily for radio reports and features from Russia and other former Soviet countries since the 90s.

Tamina Kutscher is a trained journalist, historian and Slavonic studies scholar. In 2016, she became dekoder’s editor-in-chief. dekoder is an online platform that connects the public spheres in Russia and Germany: It publishes translations of articles and reports in the other country’s language and also provides context and expertise from universities. For this combination of journalism and scholarship, dekoder was honoured with the 2016 Grimme Online Award.

Dariya Orlova is a Senior Lecturer and Deputy Director for Research at the Mohyla School of Journalism (National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy, Ukraine). She holds a PhD degree in Mass Communications from Autonomous University of Barcelona. Her major academic interests include: media transformations in transition countries, political communication, journalism culture, media and national identity. She has also served as an independent media expert and researcher with NGOs and international development agencies and worked as a journalist prior to her academic career.

In cooperation with

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en
Platform East: An Unholy Alliance?
“Christian Values” and Anti-Gender Politics in Central and Eastern Europe
26.02.

Diskurs
In englischer Sprache

Eine Veranstaltung des internationalen Festivals POSTWEST

Mit: Regina Elsner (ZOiS, Berlin), Elżbieta Korolczuk (Södertörn Universtität, Stockholm), Radoslav Stoyanov (Bulgarian Helsinki Commitee, Sofia), Kristina Stöckl (Universität Innsbruck)

Moderation: Patricia Hecht (taz, Berlin)

Heute bedienen sich rechtspopulistische Bewegungen und autoritäre Regierungen weltweit „christlicher Werte“, um eine konservative Sozialpolitik voranzutreiben. Sie proklamieren, die vermeintlich „wahre“ Zivilgesellschaft, jenseits von Eliten, zu repräsentieren. Vor allem in Ländern wie Russland, Polen oder Bulgarien stärkt die Anti-Gender- und Pro-Family-Agenda rechter Parteien einerseits europakritische und nationalistische Akteure. Andererseits sind diese Bewegungen auch Teil internationaler christlicher ultrakonservativer Allianzen, die in Osteuropa eine neue Bastion der Verteidigung ihrer Werte sehen. Prägnant zeigen sich diese Verbindungen am World Congress of Families (WCF) zu dem sich christliche, ultrakonservative Gruppen und Einzelpersonen versammeln, um ein traditionalistisches Familienverständnis zu verteidigen.

Was sind die treibenden Faktoren für diese „unheilige Allianz“ von Religion und Politik, in der Gender mit Demoralisierung gleichgesetzt wird? Welche Rolle spielen die katholische bzw. orthodoxe Kirche in dem Prozess? Wie positionieren und engagieren sich verschiedene Strömungen der christlichen Kirchen in diesem Wertekampf?

Regina Elsner ist Theologin und Wissenschaftlerin am ZOiS. In ihrem Forschungsprojekt Moral statt Frieden untersucht sie die Dynamiken der russisch-orthodoxen Sozialethik seit dem Ende der Sowjetunion.

Elżbieta Korolczuk ist Soziologin, Kommentatorin sowie Frauen- und Menschenrechtsaktivistin. Sie lehrt an der Södertörn-Universität in Stockholm und am American Studies Center der Universität Warschau. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen Gender, soziale Bewegungen und Zivilgesellschaft. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Texte, u.a. zur Frauenbewegung und deren Verhältnis zum Neoliberalismus, zu neuen Formen der Staatsbürger*innenschaft und zur Politisierung von Reproduktion sowie Anti-Gender-Bewegungen in Polen und darüber hinaus.

Patricia Hecht hat für Radio und Print gearbeitet, unter anderem in Mexiko und Kolumbien, bevor sie 2012 zur taz kam. Sie war Chefin vom Dienst im Berlinteil, für die Planung der vorderen Seiten verantwortlich und arbeitet heute als Genderredakteurin im Inlandsressort. Zu ihren thematischen Schwerpunkten gehören reproduktive Rechte und Antifeminismus. Sie war Teil des internationalen Rechercheverbunds Europes Far Right zu Strategien und Netzwerken der europäischen Rechten.

Radoslav Stoyanov ist bulgarischer Menschenrechtsaktivist mit Fokus auf LGBTI-Angelegenheiten. Als Aktivist für Homosexuellenrechte, brachte er zahlreiche Fälle öffentlicher hate speech gegen sexuelle Minderheiten vor die nationale Gleichstellungsbehörde. Stoyanov ist Überwachunsbeauftragter für rechtskonservative und rechtsextreme Aktivitäten in Bulgarien. Er arbeitet als Experte beim Bulgarian Helsinki Committee und erwirbt seinen Masterabschluss in Rechtwissenschaften.

Kristina Stöckl ist Professorin am Institut für Soziologie der Universität Innsbruck. Zurzeit ist sie leitende Forscherin des ERC-geförderten Projekts POSEC- Postsecular Conflicts about religious-moral conflicts in contemporary societies. Es widmet sich insbesondere Konflikten in Bezug auf Religionsfreiheit, Gender und Sexualität sowie Bioethik.

In Kooperation mit

Gefördert durch die

Kommende Veranstaltungen:
Platform East: Urban Activism in Eastern Europe, 28.01.
Der Weg aus der Nische? Belarussische Literatur und ihre Zukunft, 18.02.
POSTWEST_Shot


Platform East
Welche Formen zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagements existieren in Osteuropa? Welche Akteur*innen beteiligen sich an der Umgestaltung des öffentlichen Raumes? Wie hat sich das kollektive Gedächtnis im postsowjetischen Zeitalter verändert? Diese und andere Fragen stellt die neue Reihe Platform East im Kontext des transkulturellen Festivals POSTWEST. Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen aus Mittel- und Osteuropa sowie Osteuropaexpert*innen adressieren gesellschaftsrelevante Themen, die ihren Alltag prägen: Die Freiheit von Künsten und Medien, Erinnerungspolitik und die Konstruktion von Identitäten, Generationsbeziehungen und -konflikte sowie das Aufbegehren gegen politische Systeme. Durch das Zusammenführen verschiedener Professionen entstehen Denkcollagen, die Wissenshorizonte erweitern und als Ausgangspunkt für diverse Zukunftsszenarien und eine gemeinsame Utopie von POSTWEST dienen.

Die Serie Platform East ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Zentrum für Osteuropa- und internationale Studien (ZOiS) und der Volksbühne Berlin. Mit Paneldiskussionen, Filmen, Lecture Perfomances und anderen Formaten, funktioniert die Reihe im buchstäblichen Sinne als Plattform: An der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Kunst, setzt sie jenseits existierender homogener Osteuropabilder an und bietet Raum für politische, gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Diversität.

26.02.20, 19:00
> Tickets

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Platform East: (De)constructing Stereotypes. Media Images in the European Press

Eine Veranstaltung des internationalen Festivals POSTWEST

Mit: Alice Bota (ZEIT), Dóra Diseri (n-ost), Tamina Kutscher (dekoder), Dariya Orlova (Mohyla School of Journalism)
Moderation: Gesine Dornblüth

Medien prägen unsere Wahrnehmung von politischen Ereignissen, Personen, öffentlichen Debatten, Ländern – und die mit ihnen verbundenen Stereotype – innerhalb der Gesellschaft. Wenn wir an Osteuropa denken, sind unsere Einschätzungen zwangsläufig auch von visuell oder sprachlich konstruierten Medienbildern geprägt. Doch wie akkurat sind diese und in welchem Spannungsfeld entstehen sie?

Im Zentrum der Veranstaltung steht die Repräsentation von Osteuropa in westeuropäischen Medien und vice versa: Welches Bild macht man sich in Deutschland von Osteuropa und wie blickt man dort auf „uns“? In welchem Maße beeinflussen Medienberichte unsere Wahrnehmung von Ost und West und die Konstruktion der damit verbundenen Stereotypen? Welche Rolle spielen politische und wirtschaftliche Faktoren? Welche Verantwortung tragen Auslandskorrespondent*innen hinsichtlich der Verbreitung und Aufrechterhaltung von Stereotypen und vor welchen neuen Herausforderungen stehen sie?

Im Gespräch nähern sich Journalist*innen und Medienexpert*innen anhand dieser Fragen dem Status Quo der Medienlandschaften Europas an. Vor dem Hintergrund einer wahrgenommenen Ost-West-Spaltung identifizieren sie beeinflussende Faktoren und sprechen über mögliche Zukunftsszenarien und die dafür notwendigen Voraussetzungen: Wie sieht eine mediale Berichterstattung aus, die frei ist von der kontinuierlichen Konstruktion und Reproduktion von Stereotypen?

Alice Bota wurde 1979 im polnischen Krapkowice geboren. 1988 emigrierte ihre Familie nach Norddeutschland. Sie studierte Politikwissenschaft und Neuere Deutsche Literatur in Kiel, Poznan Berlin und Potsdam. 2006 schloss sie die Deutsche Journalistenschule in München ab, seither ist sie Redakteurin der ZEIT. Seit 2013 berichtet sie über die Ukraine, auch über die Maidan-Proteste und den Krieg im Donbas, seit Ende 2015 ist sie Korrespondentin mit Sitz in Moskau.

Dóra Diseri ist eine ungarische Journalistin und Projektmanagerin in Berlin, Koordinatorin des Cross-Border Grant-Programms Reporters in the Field bei dem Journalistennetzwerk n-ost. Sie pendelt seit 2012 zwischen Berlin und Ungarn und berichtet über Deutschland für ungarische bzw. über Ungarn für internationale Medien. Bis Oktober 2018 arbeitete sie als Deutschland-Korrespondentin für den ungarischen Nachrichtensender HírTV. Davor studierte sie in Budapest, Leipzig und Berlin Journalismus, Kulturwissenschaften und Osteuropastudien, und arbeitete in der Nachrichtenabteilung des ÖR Ungarischen Fernsehens als TV-Reporterin und Multimedia Journalistin.

Gesine Dornblüth ist Journalistin und war von 2012 bis 2017 Deutschlandradio-Korrespondentin in Moskau. Die promovierte Slavistin berichtet seit den 90er Jahren vor allem in Hörfunk-Reportagen und Features aus Russland und anderen postsowjetischen Ländern.

Tamina Kutscher ist ausgebildete Journalistin, Slawistin und Historikerin. Seit 2016 ist sie Chefredakteurin von dekoder. Die Online-Plattform schlägt eine Brücke zwischen russischer und deutscher Öffentlichkeit: Sie übersetzt Medienbeiträge in die jeweils andere Sprache, liefert außerdem Kontext und Expertise aus den Universitäten. Für diese Verbindung von Journalismus und Wissenschaft wurde dekoder 2016 mit dem Grimme Online Award ausgezeichnet.

Dariya Orlova ist Dozentin und stellvertretende Direktorin für Forschung an der Mohyla School of Journalism (Nationale Universität Kiew-Mohyla-Akademie, Ukraine). Sie promovierte in Massenkommunikation an der Autonomen Universität Barcelona. Zu ihren Forschungsgebieten zählen Medientransformationen in Schwellenländern, politische Kommunikation, Journalismuskultur, Medien und nationale Identität. Sie war außerdem als unabhängige Medienexpertin sowie als Forscherin für NGOs und internationale Entwicklungsagenturen tätig. Bevor sie ihre akademische Laufbahn einschlug, arbeitete sie als Journalistin.

In Kooperation mit

Gefördert durch die

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx