de / en
POSTWEST_Shot
by and with the ensemble

Drama

An event of the international festival POSTWEST

As a prelude to POSTWEST Festival in May 2020, the ensemble will thoroughly yet sensitively explore the world of POSTWEST and present artistic contributions on (un)familiar subjects and figures, their own ideas and approaches to the festival’s theme. Get to know our ensemble in a completely different way, and let this snapshot for your mind and senses guide you around the evening performance and to POSTWEST Festival.

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation


11.01.20, 18:50
> free admission

25.01.20, 18:50
> free admission

Past Activities

Ivan Krastev: The Light That Failed – A Reckoning

Book premiere
English with consecutive translation into German by Johannes Hampel

An event of the international festival POSTWEST

Susan Neiman (director of the Einstein Forum, Potsdam) talks with author Ivan Kastev about sources for the current global crises, on the occasion of the German-language release of his book The Light that Failed - A Reckoning.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall and the collapse of the Soviet Union, the model of liberal democracy was supposed to be the only alternative. Today the liberal world is breaking apart before our very eyes. Populism, nationalism and a departure from liberal democratic values are accompanying its downfall. The West won the Cold War, and yet it has lost its political relevance. How could it come to this?

In the political analysis presented in The Light that Failed, Ivan Krastev and Stephen Holmes argue that the supposed “end of history” turned out to be the beginning of an “Age of Imitation”. For almost three decades the imperative for the East was: “Imitate the West”! Through this imperative, the life of the imitators was increasingly dominated by feelings of inadequacy, inferiority, dependence, and the loss of identity.

Ivan Krastev, born 1965 in Bulgaria, is a political scientist. He is the chairman of the Centre for Liberal Strategies in Sofia and permanent fellow at the The Institute for Human Sciences in Vienna, where he is head of the Democracy in Questionprogramme. Krastev writes for the international edition of The New York Times. His essay After Europewas published in 2017.

“Ivan Krastev is one of the great European minds of today.” Timothy Snyder

“Reading Krastev is a pleasure, because a love of literature, political realism and the beauty of thought all flow together in the art of his style.” Elisabeth von Thadden, DIE ZEIT

“Ivan Krastev is one of Europe's leading intellectuals.” Madeleine Albright

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en
POSTWEST_Shot
von und mit dem Ensemble

Schauspiel

Eine Veranstaltung des internationalen Festivals POSTWEST

Als Auftakt zum POSTWEST-Festival im Mai 2020 setzt sich das Ensemble tiefgehend leichtfüßig mit dem POSTWEST-Universum auseinander und präsentiert künstlerische Beiträge zu un-/bekannten Stoffen & Figuren, eigene Ansätze und Ideen zum Thema des Festivals. Lernen Sie unser Ensemble auf eine ganz andere Art kennen und lassen Sie sich rund um die Abendvorstellung mit diesem geistig & sinnlichen Shot zum POSTWEST-Festival geleiten.

Gefördert durch die


11.01.20, 18:50
> Eintritt frei

25.01.20, 18:50
> Eintritt frei

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Ivan Krastev: The Light That Failed – A Reckoning

Buchpremiere
Englisch mit deutscher Konsekutivübersetzung von Johannes Hampel

Eine Veranstaltung des internationalen Festivals POSTWEST

Anlässlich der deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichung von Das Licht, das erlosch – Eine Abrechnung spricht Susan Neiman (Direktorin des Einstein Forums, Potsdam) mit dem Autor Ivan Krastev über die Ursachen der aktuellen globalen Krisen.​

Mit dem Mauerfall und dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion wurde das Modell freiheitlicher Demokratie vermeintlich alternativlos. Heute zerbricht die liberale Welt vor unseren Augen. Populismus, Nationalismus und die Abkehr von freiheitlichen Werten begleiten ihren Niedergang. Der Westen hat den Kalten Krieg gewonnen und doch seine politische Strahlkraft verloren. Wie konnte es dazu kommen?

In ihrer politischen Analyse Das Licht, das erlosch argumentieren Ivan Krastev und Stephen Holmes, dass sich das vermeintliche „Ende der Geschichte“ als der Beginn des „Zeitalters der Imitation“ entpuppt hat. Fast drei Jahrzehnte lang lautete der Imperativ für den Osten: „Imitiert den Westen!“ Dabei erwies sich, dass das Leben des Imitators zunehmend von Gefühlen der Unzulänglichkeit, Minderwertigkeit, Abhängigkeit und des Verlusts der eigenen Identität beherrscht wird.

Ivan Krastev,* 1965 in Bulgarien, ist Politikwissenschaftler. Krastev ist Vorsitzender des Centre for Liberal Strategies in Sofia und Permanent Fellow am Institut für die Wissenschaften vom Menschen in Wien, wo er den Schwerpunkt Die Zukunft der Demokratie leitet. Er schreibt für die internationale Ausgabe der New York Times. 2017 erschien sein Essay Europadämmerung.

Gefördert durch die

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de

Pressestimmen
"Ivan Krastev ist einer der großen europäischen Denker unserer Zeit." Timothy Snyder

"Krastev zu lesen ist ein Genuss, denn in seiner stilistischen Kunst finden die Liebe zur Literatur, die politische Illusionslosigkeit und die Schönheit des Gedankens zusammen." Elisabeth von Thadden, DIE ZEIT

"Ivan Krastev ist einer der führenden Intellektuellen Europas." Madeleine Albright

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx