de / en
Festival POSTWEST

Großes Haus
27.05.-31.05.20

From 27-31 May 2020 we're planning a transcultural theatre festival under the title POSTWEST. In Berlin, the European window to the East, and as a cooperatively built theatre, the Volksbühne is characterised by a dramatic history between East and West. The festival takes the “between place” of the Volksbühne as an anchoring point, opening the window to the East and empowering art makers themselves to be actors that analyse attributions in order to shape them in their own way.

Together with partner theatres from Eastern Europe, which serve in their own countries as places of reflection and critical engagement with the socio-political situation, new productions will be created that challenge the questionable conflict between East and West, interrogating the concepts and the stereotypes that go along with it. Different artistic and discourse formats are planned around the festival's productions in order to expand on the theatrical works and extend the spectrum of the content.

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de


Past Activities

Ivan Krastev: The Light That Failed – A Reckoning

Book premiere
English with consecutive translation into German by Johannes Hampel

[logo postwest 112] An event of the international festival POSTWEST

Susan Neiman (director of the Einstein Forum, Potsdam) talks with author Ivan Kastev about sources for the current global crises, on the occasion of the German-language release of his book The Light that Failed - A Reckoning.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall and the collapse of the Soviet Union, the model of liberal democracy was supposed to be the only alternative. Today the liberal world is breaking apart before our very eyes. Populism, nationalism and a departure from liberal democratic values are accompanying its downfall. The West won the Cold War, and yet it has lost its political relevance. How could it come to this?

In the political analysis presented in The Light that Failed, Ivan Krastev and Stephen Holmes argue that the supposed “end of history” turned out to be the beginning of an “Age of Imitation”. For almost three decades the imperative for the East was: “Imitate the West”! Through this imperative, the life of the imitators was increasingly dominated by feelings of inadequacy, inferiority, dependence, and the loss of identity.

Ivan Krastev, born 1965 in Bulgaria, is a political scientist. He is the chairman of the Centre for Liberal Strategies in Sofia and permanent fellow at the The Institute for Human Sciences in Vienna, where he is head of the Democracy in Questionprogramme. Krastev writes for the international edition of The New York Times. His essay After Europewas published in 2017.

“Ivan Krastev is one of the great European minds of today.” Timothy Snyder

“Reading Krastev is a pleasure, because a love of literature, political realism and the beauty of thought all flow together in the art of his style.” Elisabeth von Thadden, DIE ZEIT

“Ivan Krastev is one of Europe's leading intellectuals.” Madeleine Albright

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

[logo KSB 140]

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en
Festival POSTWEST

Großes Haus
27.05.-31.05.20

Vom 27. bis 31. Mai 2020 planen wir ein transkulturelles Theater-­Festival unter dem Titel POSTWEST. In Berlin, dem europäischen Fenster zum Osten, zeichnet sich die Volksbühne als genossen­schaftlich erbautes Haus durch eine bewegte Geschichte zwischen Ost und West aus. Das Festival nimmt den „Zwischenort“ Volksbühne als Ankerpunkt, öffnet das Fenster in den Osten und macht die Kunstschaffenden selbst zu Akteur*innen, die Zuschreibungen analysieren, um sie auf ihre eigene Art mitzugestalten.

Gemeinsam mit den Partnertheatern aus Osteuropa, die in ihren Ländern als Orte der Reflexion und kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der gesellschaftspolitischen Situation agieren, werden Neuproduktion entstehen, die den fraglichen Konflikt zwischen Ost und West herausfordern, das Konzept und die damit verbundenen Stereotype hinterfragen. Rund um die Festivalproduktionen sind verschiedene künstlerische und diskursive Formate geplant, um die Theaterstücke zu ergänzen und das inhaltliche Spektrum auszubauen.

Gefördert durch die

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de


Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Ivan Krastev: The Light That Failed – A Reckoning

Buchpremiere
Englisch mit deutscher Konsekutivübersetzung von Johannes Hampel

[logo postwest 112] Eine Veranstaltung des internationalen Festivals POSTWEST

Anlässlich der deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichung von Das Licht, das erlosch – Eine Abrechnung spricht Susan Neiman (Direktorin des Einstein Forums, Potsdam) mit dem Autor Ivan Krastev über die Ursachen der aktuellen globalen Krisen.​

Mit dem Mauerfall und dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion wurde das Modell freiheitlicher Demokratie vermeintlich alternativlos. Heute zerbricht die liberale Welt vor unseren Augen. Populismus, Nationalismus und die Abkehr von freiheitlichen Werten begleiten ihren Niedergang. Der Westen hat den Kalten Krieg gewonnen und doch seine politische Strahlkraft verloren. Wie konnte es dazu kommen?

In ihrer politischen Analyse Das Licht, das erlosch argumentieren Ivan Krastev und Stephen Holmes, dass sich das vermeintliche „Ende der Geschichte“ als der Beginn des „Zeitalters der Imitation“ entpuppt hat. Fast drei Jahrzehnte lang lautete der Imperativ für den Osten: „Imitiert den Westen!“ Dabei erwies sich, dass das Leben des Imitators zunehmend von Gefühlen der Unzulänglichkeit, Minderwertigkeit, Abhängigkeit und des Verlusts der eigenen Identität beherrscht wird.

Ivan Krastev,* 1965 in Bulgarien, ist Politikwissenschaftler. Krastev ist Vorsitzender des Centre for Liberal Strategies in Sofia und Permanent Fellow am Institut für die Wissenschaften vom Menschen in Wien, wo er den Schwerpunkt Die Zukunft der Demokratie leitet. Er schreibt für die internationale Ausgabe der New York Times. 2017 erschien sein Essay Europadämmerung.

Gefördert durch die

[logo KSB 140]

www.kulturstiftung-bund.de

Pressestimmen
"Ivan Krastev ist einer der großen europäischen Denker unserer Zeit." Timothy Snyder

"Krastev zu lesen ist ein Genuss, denn in seiner stilistischen Kunst finden die Liebe zur Literatur, die politische Illusionslosigkeit und die Schönheit des Gedankens zusammen." Elisabeth von Thadden, DIE ZEIT

"Ivan Krastev ist einer der führenden Intellektuellen Europas." Madeleine Albright

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx