de / en
Eine Odyssee
based on Homer
re-told by Thorleifur Örn Arnarsson and Mikael Torfason

Drama
4h, one break
German with English surtitles

Homer's Odyssey (8th century BCE) begins ten years after Troy's defeat and is inconceivable without the Trojan War. Sure, Odysseus is one of the victorious Greeks, but because of Poseidon's curse, his odyssey lasts for another 10 years before he can finally arrive home to Ithaca. Can life continue on seamlessly after so much time spent far away and alone on the ocean? What does reality mean when it's long been replaced by the myths around the Trojan war? The trauma extends to the family as well. Penelope perseveres in the non-time at a place besieged by suitors. Their son Telemachos has grown up without a father in a patriarchal system and to him, Odysseus is nothing more than a projection of a hero.

Echoes of wars – in Afghanistan and Vietnam – reverberate. Or has reality, with its non-linear complexity, long since passed the myth? Odysseus tells his story, reloaded on stage from a multitude of perspectives by Thorleifur Örn Arnarsson and Mikael Torfason together with the ensemble, because no one is Odysseus.

After Troy's defeat, Odysseus is one of the victorious Greeks; his journey home takes 10 years. In Ithaca Penelope perseveres in the non-time. Their son Telemachos has grown up without a father in a patriarchal system.

Echoes of wars – in Afghanistan and Vietnam – reverberate. Or has reality, with its non-linear complexity, long since passed the myth?

Premiere: 12.09.19.

Cast
With: Sólveig Arnarsdóttir, Johanna Bantzer, Sarah Franke, Claudio Gatzke, Jella Haase, Robert Kuchenbuch, Daniel Nerlich, Silvia Rieger, Sarah Maria Sander, Nils Strunk, Theo Trebs und Gabriel Cazes (musical director), Damiàn Dlaboha (musician), Sir Henry (musician), Laura Witzleben (dancer)

Director: Thorleifur Örn Arnarsson
Stage design: Daniel Angermayr
Costumes: Karen Briem
Music: Gabriel Cazes
Choreography: Laura Witzleben
Assistant and translator: Damiàn Dlaboha
Video: Voxi Bärenklau, Nanna MBS
Lighting: Kevin Sock
Dramaturgy: Degna Martens

02.11.19, 19:00
17:00, foyer: Stage talk. Thorleifur Örn Arnarsson, Prof. Markus Asper and Dr. Thomas Poiss (Institute for Classic Philology, HU Berlin)
> tickets

24.11.19, 18:00
> tickets

media

> Play II Pause
00:00
sound on sound off
00:

Photo: Vincenzo Laera

Photo: Vincenzo Laera

Photo: Vincenzo Laera

Photo: Vincenzo Laera

Photo: Vincenzo Laera

Photo: Vincenzo Laera

Photo: Vincenzo Laera

> Play II Pause
00:00
sound on sound off
00:

Animation: Skizzomat / Marie Emmermann

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Eine Odyssee
nach Homer
neu erzählt von Thorleifur Örn Arnarsson und Mikael Torfason

Schauspiel
4h, eine Pause
Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln

„Es ist die Geschichte der Versäumnisse und Fehler und Tode aller seiner Weggefährten. Es ist die Geschichte vom einzigen Überlebenden. Und sie wird von ihm erzählt.“ (Eine Odyssee)

Homers Odyssee (8. Jh. v. Chr.) beginnt zehn Jahre nach der Niederlage Trojas und ist ohne den Krieg nicht zu denken. Zwar gehört Odysseus den siegreichen Griechen an, doch dauert seine Irrfahrt ob Poseidons Fluch weitere zehn Jahre bis zur Heimkehr nach Ithaka. Lässt sich das Leben nach Stationen in der Ferne und allein auf dem Meer nahtlos fortsetzen? Was bedeutet Realität, wenn der Mythos um die trojanische Schlacht diese längst ersetzt hat? Das Trauma erfasst auch die Familie. Penelope verharrt in der Nicht-Zeit an einem Ort, belagert von den Freiern. Ihrer beider Sohn Telemachos ist vaterlos im patriarchalen System aufgewachsen und Odysseus dessen bloße Projektion einer Heldenfigur.

Echos des Krieges – in Afghanistan und Vietnam – hallen nach. Oder hat die Wirklichkeit den Mythos in seiner nicht linearen Komplexität längst eingeholt? Odysseus erzählt seine Geschichte, die Thorleifur Örn Arnarsson und Mikael Torfason gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble im Bühnenraum multiperspektivisch aufladen, denn Niemand ist Odysseus.

Uraufführung war am 12.09.19.

Besetzung
Mit: Sólveig Arnarsdóttir, Johanna Bantzer, Sarah Franke, Claudio Gatzke, Jella Haase, Robert Kuchenbuch, Daniel Nerlich, Silvia Rieger, Sarah Maria Sander, Nils Strunk, Theo Trebs und Gabriel Cazes (Musikalischer Leiter), Damiàn Dlaboha (Musiker), Sir Henry (Musiker), Laura Witzleben (Tänzerin)

Regie: Thorleifur Örn Arnarsson
Bühne: Daniel Angermayr
Kostüme: Karen Briem
Musik: Gabriel Cazes
Choreografie: Laura Witzleben
Assistenz und Übersetzung: Damiàn Dlaboha
Video: Voxi Bärenklau, Nanna MBS
Licht: Kevin Sock
Dramaturgie: Degna Martens

22.09.19, 19:00
> Tickets

05.10.19, 19:00
> Tickets

13.10.19, 19:00
> Tickets

02.11.19, 19:00
> Tickets

Medien

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

Foto: Vincenzo Laera

> Play II Pause
00:00
Sound on Sound off
00:

Animation: Skizzomat / Marie Emmermann

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx