de / en
HOWL
Ein Abend für Allen Ginsberg

Drama
German with English surtitles

Großes Haus
Premiere 21.11.19

1.

American poet Allen Ginsberg was a passionate photographer and, like many well-known street photographers of his generation gathered images and associations of the America visible to them according to their own aesthetics – such as Lee Friedlander, Garry Winogrand and Robert Frank, Ginsberg's famous poem Howl is full of a mass of associations, private and universal clues that are difficult and easy to decipher, snapshots of moments of awareness. At almost the same time Howl was released, Robert Frank published his photo book The Americans and thereby transformed not only the path of photography in the 20th century but also perspectives on America. In the images that he made in 1955/1956, Frank looked under the surface of American life: he portrayed a people plagued by racism, that was condemned by its politicians and appeared to be congealing completely through a growing consumer culture. At the edges of American life, a new kind of beauty was emerging and Frank's intuitive style made his book into a powerful and provocative poem.

Whoever does not like poetry, go home, watch television with large images of cowboys with big hats being well treated by kind horses.
Jack Kerouac

2.

A little book titled Howl and other Poems was released in 1956 in San Francisco as the young poet Allen Ginsberg's first publication in the City Lights Books Pocket Poets series and was immediately subjected to an obscenity trial, which ended with a historical affirmation of the individual freedom of art and creative expression. Ever since, the poem Howl has been the spearhead of poetic freedom, an attack on every form of conformity, a holy relic of the desire for freedom and outsider status, in short: the poem that fundamentally changed American society and slid its periphery into the centre of focus. What else should we expect of literature? “The appeal in “Howl” is to the secret or hermetic tradition of art ‘justifying’ or ‘making up for’ defeat in worldly life…. In publishing “Howl,” I was curious to leave behind after my generation an emotional time bomb that would continue exploding inside U.S. consciousness in case our military-industrial-nationalist complex solidified into a repressive police bureaucracy.” so Ginsberg.

Crazy highway driving people forward– crazy highway, solitary, driving along bends in the entrances of space ...”
Jack Kerouac

3.

GATE GATE PARAGATE PARASAMGATE BODHI SVAHA

Music played a major role in Allen Ginsberg's life and work, he worked with groups like Bob Dylan and The Clash, he inspired Patty Smith in the creation of some of her songs, but he mostly played on a small harmonium and sang along. In the second half of his life, Ginsberg became a devout Buddhist. In 1979 he played a concert in a Munich loft and concluded the evening with a harmonium version of the Heart Sutra. This mantra is at the core of a concentrated teaching; whoever recites it with devotion many times is supposed to internalise the essence of the teaching of emptiness and be strengthened in the process of sinking deeper and deeper into inner emptiness and silence. After his death in New York on 5 April 1997, Ginsberg spent an additional three days on the Earth as soul and spirit and then, with this mantra, was released into the infinity of the cosmos. He was curious to know what death looked like.... and it looks like life - what else should it look like? - because Ginsberg knew what the Sutras say.

How is all of that connected to each other?

We will see...

Cast
With: Hassan Akkouch, Hendrik Arnst, Thorbjörn Björnsson, Paul Brody, Jan Czajkowski, Jill Emerson, Marie Goyette, Silvia Rieger, Sarah Maria Sander, Sir Henry, Theo Trebs, Yuka Yanagihara

Director: David Marton
Stage design: Christian Friedländer
Costumes: Tabea Braun
Choreography: Jill Emerson
Lighting: Henning Streck
Dramaturgy: Peggy Mädler, Henning Nass

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en

Animation: Skizzomat/Marie Emmermann

HOWL
nach Allen Ginsberg

Schauspiel

Großes Haus
Uraufführung am 21.11.19

1.

Der amerikanische Dichter Allen Ginsberg fotografierte voller Leidenschaft – und so wie bekannte Street Photographer seiner Generation, etwa Lee Friedlander, Garry Winogrand, oder Robert Frank Bilder und Assoziationen ihres für sie sichtbaren Amerikas auf eigene ästhetische Weise sammelten, ist Ginsbergs berühmtes Gedicht Howl voll von einer Masse von Assoziationen, schwer und leicht zu entziffernden privaten und universellen Hinweisen, Momentaufnahmen der Wahrnehmung. Robert Frank veröffentlichte fast zeitgleich zu Howl sein Fotobuch Die Amerikaner und veränderte damit nicht nur den Lauf der Fotografie des 20. Jahrhunderts, sondern ebenso den Blick auf Amerika. Frank schaute, in seinen 1955/1956 aufgenommenen Bildern, unter die Oberfläche des amerikanischen Lebens, porträtierte ein von Rassismus geplagtes Volk, das von seinen Politikern missbilligt wurde und durch eine zunehmende Konsumkultur vollkommen zu erstarren scheint. An den Rändern des amerikanischen Lebens wurde eine neuartige Schönheit sichtbar und Franks intuitiver Stil machte sein Buch zu einem kraftvollen und provokativen Gedicht.

„Und wer keine Gedichte mag, der soll nach Hause gehen und sich im Fernsehen Aufnahmen von Cowboys mit großen Hüten und im Sattel von freundlich-geduldigen Pferden anschauen.“ Jack Kerouac

2.

Das kleine Büchlein Howl and other Poems wurde 1956 als erste Publikation des jungen Dichters Allen Ginsberg in der Reihe City Lights Books Pocket Poets Series in San Francisco veröffentlicht und sofort einem Gerichtsprozess wegen des Verdachts auf Obszönität unterzogen, der mit einer historischen Bestätigung der individuellen Freiheit der Kunst und des kreativen Ausdrucks geklärt wurde. Seitdem ist das Gedicht Howl die Speerspitze poetischer Freizügigkeit, ein Angriff auf jede Form von Konformität, eine heilige Reliquie des Freiheitsdranges und Außenseitertums, kurzum: das Gedicht, das die amerikanische Gesellschaft tiefgreifend verändert hat und ihre Peripherie in den Mittelpunkt der Betrachtung rückte. Was sonst sollte man von Literatur verlangen? „Howl beruft sich auf die geheime oder hermetische Tradition, derzufolge Kunst ein Scheitern im weltlichen Leben rechtfertigt oder dafür entschädigt. Mit der Veröffentlichung hatte ich es darauf angelegt, eine emotionale Zeitbombe zu hinterlassen, die immer im Bewusstsein der Vereinigten Staaten explodieren sollte, falls der militärisch-industrielle nationalistische Komplex sich zu einem repressiven Polizeistaat entwickeln sollte“, so Ginsberg.

„Die Straße des Wahnsinns treibt die Menschen voran, die Straße des Wahnsinns, einsam führt sie um die Biegung ins Offene...“ Jack Kerouac

3.

GATE GATE PARAGATE PARASAMGATE BODHI SVAHA

Musik spielte im Leben und Werk Allen Ginsbergs eine große Rolle, er arbeitete u.a. mit Bob Dylan und The Clash, er inspirierte Patty Smith zu einigen Songs, doch meist spielte er auf einem kleinen Harmonium und sang dazu. In seiner zweiten Lebenshälfte wurde Ginsberg überzeugter Buddhist. 1979 gab er im Münchener Loft ein Konzert und beendete den Abend mit einer Harmonium Version des Herz-Sutras. Dieses Mantra ist der Kern einer konzentrierten Unterweisung; wer es hingebungsvoll viele Male rezitiert, soll die Essenz der Lehre von der Leere verinnerlichen und darin bestärkt werden, sich immer tiefer und tiefer in die innere Leere und Stille sinken zu lassen. Nach seinem Tod in New York am 5. April 1997 verbrachte Ginsberg drei weitere Tage auf der Erde als Seele und Geist und wurde dann, mit diesem Mantra, in die Unendlichkeit des Kosmos entlassen. Er war neugierig, wie der Tod wohl aussieht … Und er sieht wie das Leben aus – wie sonst? – denn Ginsberg wusste was die Sutras sagen.

Was hat das alles miteinander zu tun?

Wir werden sehen...

Besetzung
Mit: Hassan Akkouch, Hendrik Arnst, Thorbjörn Björnsson, Paul Brody, Jan Czajkowski, Jill Emerson, Marie Goyette, Silvia Rieger, Sarah Maria Sander, Sir Henry, Theo Trebs, Yuka Yanagihara

Regie: David Marton
Bühne: Christian Friedländer
Kostüme: Tabea Braun
Choreografie: Jill Emerson
Licht: Henning Streck
Dramaturgie: Peggy Mädler, Henning Nass

21.11.19, 19:30
* Uraufführung
> ggf. Restkarten Abendkasse

23.11.19, 19:30
> Tickets

08.12.19, 18:00
> Tickets

22.12.19, 18:00
> Tickets

Medien

> Play II Pause
00:00
Sound on Sound off
00:

Animation: Skizzomat / Marie Emmermann

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx