VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Photo: Simon Arcache

African Acid Is The Future:
Mdou Moctar
06.06.

Concert

Mdou Moctar immediately stands out as one of the most innovative artists in contemporary Saharan music. His unconventional interpretations of Tuareg guitar have pushed him to the forefront of a crowded scene. Back home, he’s celebrated for his original compositions and verbose poetry, an original creator in a genre defined by cover bands. In the exterior, where Saharan rock has become one of the continents biggest musical exports, he’s earned a name for himself with his guitar moves. Mdou shreds with a relentless and frenetic energy that utterly sets him apart.

Mdou Moctar hails from a small village in central Niger in a remote region steeped in religious tradition. Growing up in an area where secular music was all but prohibited, he taught himself to play on a homemade guitar cobbled together out of wood. It was years before he found a “real” guitar and taught himself to play in secret. His immediately became a star amongst the village youth. In a surprising turn, his songs began to win over local religious leaders with their lyrics of respect, honor, and tradition.

In 2008, Mdou traveled to Nigeria to record his debut album of spacey autotune, drum machine, and synthesizer. The album became a viral hit on the mp3 networks of West Africa, and was later released on the compilation Music from Saharan Cellphones. In 2013, he released Afelan, compiled from field recordings of his performances recorded in his village. Then he shifted gears, producing and starring in the first Tuareg language film, a remake of Prince’s Purple Rain (Rain the Color Blue with a Little Red in it). Finally, in 2017, he created a solo folk album, Sousoume Tamachek, a mellow blissed out recording evoking the calm desert soundscape. Without a band present, he played every instrument on the record. “I am a very curious person and I want to push Tuareg music far,” he says.

Ilana is the latest opus of Moctar which he recorded in Detroit in 2018, and from which we will probably hear few songs alongside the now classics from his “répertoire”. Finally, Mdou Moctar will play in the frame of African Acid Is The Future in Berlin, in the intimacy of the Grüner Salon.


African Acid Is The Future is a Berlin-based collective, founded by Maryama Luccioni aka Maryisonacid in 2014 in a Bar in Neukölln. Their night and concert series features a wide range of music genres, and is known for audacious and truly eclectic DJ sets, showcasing live acts all over the world within the context of a party, which has taken place at Loftus Hall as a regular venue, but as well at Festsaal Kreuzberg, Funkhaus and many international venues and festivals. African Acid Is The Future is also responsible for regular radio shows for Berlin Community Radio and Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM. After a tremendous year of touring and putting on events which showcased artists such as Les Filles de Illighadad, Guem or Ogoya Nengo and the Dodo Women’s Group, African Acid is the Future released their first LP in collaboration with The Vinyl Factory, Ambiance I, which unveils the essence of their project to a larger audience. To carry on their passionate relationship with live music, African Acid is the Future’s Berlin crew will host a series of concerts at Grüner Salon this year, spanning from Senegalese Kora to French Post Punk.

06.06.19, 22:00
> tickets

Past Activities

African Acid Is The Future: Sourakata Koité

Doors 8 pm, concert 9 pm
Tickets: 15 / 10 €

To inaugurate a series of collaborative events with Volksbühne, African Acid Is The Future is glad to host Sourakata Koité´s first concert in Germany. His debut album “En Hollande” is set to be newly published by Awesome Tapes From Africa in January 2019. “En Hollande” was recorded in an old hen-house in Delft in 1984 and has since become nothing short of a modern kora classic. The kora is a lute popular throughout West Africa; It usually has 21 strings, but Koité's customized instrument has 22, and he is known for experimenting with unusual tunings. The kora is mostly known as the central instrument of the djéli (or griot in French), the hereditary caste of musician-storyteller-historians in West Africa, who are highly respected members of the ancestral caste societies.

Sourakata Koité was born in a Senegalese village close to the Mauritanian border in 1955. He is a member of a family of djéli, and his musical life began early: he started playing kora at the age of 3 and was performing alongside his family members by the age of 11. In 1975 he moved to Dakar, and then to Paris in 1977, where he made a living playing in upscale African restaurants. In Paris, he played with many different bands and musicians, including Les Lézards, Les Ballets Kodia, La Kola, Le Griot de Paris, Manu Dibango, Jacques Higelin, Touré Kounda, Manfeï Obin, Mangala, Luther Allison and Mah Damba. Influenced by his eclectic musical encounters in Paris, he expanded his musical repertory and began to compose and build koras, and has since released albums and toured worldwide.

[logo bytefm 100]

26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
09.06
10.06
11.06
12.06
13.06
14.06
15.06
16.06
17.06
18.06
19.06
20.06
21.06
22.06
23.06
24.06
25.06
26.06
27.06
28.06
29.06
30.06
01.07
02.07
03.07
04.07
05.07
06.07
07.07
08.07
09.07
10.07
11.07
12.07
13.07
14.07
15.07
16.07
17.07
18.07
19.07
20.07
21.07
22.07
23.07
24.07
25.07
26.07
27.07
28.07
29.07
30.07
31.07
01.08
02.08
03.08
04.08
05.08
06.08
07.08
08.08
09.08
10.08
11.08
12.08
13.08
14.08
15.08
16.08
17.08
18.08
19.08
20.08
21.08
22.08
23.08
24.08
25.08
26.08
27.08
28.08
29.08
30.08
31.08
01.09
02.09
03.09
04.09
05.09
06.09
07.09
08.09
09.09
10.09
11.09
12.09
13.09
14.09
15.09
16.09
17.09
18.09
19.09
20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
04.10
05.10
06.10
07.10
08.10
09.10
10.10
11.10
12.10
13.10
14.10
15.10
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
08.11
09.11
10.11
11.11
12.11
13.11
14.11
15.11
16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Foto: Simon Arcache

African Acid Is The Future:
Mdou Moctar
06.06.

Konzert

Das unkonventionelle Spiel seiner Tuareggitarre macht Mdou Moctar zu einem der innovativsten Interpreten zeitgenössischer Musik aus der Sahara. Dabei wird er besonders für seine poetischen Eigenkompositionen gefeiert. Er gilt als ein origineller Schöpfer in einem Genre, das von Coverbands definiert wird. Seitdem Sahara-Rock zu einem der größten Musikexporte des Kontinents geworden ist, schreddert Mdou Moctar seine Gitarre mit einer unerbittlichen und frenetischen Energie.

Mdou Moctar stammt aus einem kleinen Dorf im Zentralniger, in einer abgelegenen, von religiöser Tradition geprägten Region. Da weltliche Musik dort verboten war, brachte er sich selbst bei, auf einer selbstgebauten Gitarre zu spielen, die aus Holz zusammengesetzt war. Unter den Dorfjugendlichen wurde er sofort zum Star. Später überzeugten seine Lieder mit ihren Texten über Respekt, Ehre und Tradition zu seiner Überraschung auch lokale religiöse Führer.

2008 reiste Mdou nach Nigeria, um sein Debütalbum mit spacigem Autotune, Drumcomputer und Synthesizer aufzunehmen. Das Album wurde zu einem viralen Hit in den mp3-Netzwerken Westafrikas und ein Lied schaffte es auf die Compilation Music from Saharan Cellphones. 2013 veröffentlichte er Afelan, das aus field recordings von in seinem Dorf aufgenommenen Auftritten zusammengestellt wurde. Schließlich produzierte er 2017 mit Sousoume Tamachek ein Solo-Volksalbum, eine sanfte, fröhliche Aufnahme, die an ruhige Wüstenlandschaften erinnert. Ohne andere Bandmitglieder spielt er jedes Instrument auf der Platte selbst. "Ich bin ein sehr neugieriger Mensch und möchte die Tuareg-Musik weit bringen", sagt er.

Ilana, 2018 in Detroit aufgenommen, ist das neueste Werk von Moctar und wird das an diesem Abend neben den Klassikern aus seinem Repertoire zu hören sein, wenn er schließlich im Rahmen von African Acid Is The Future in der intimen Atmosphäre des Grünen Salons auftritt


African Acid Is The Future ist ein Kollektiv aus Berlin, das 2014 von Maryama Luccioni aka Maryisonacid in einer Bar in Neukölln gegründet wurde. Die regelmäßige Party- und Konzertserie deckt eine große Bandbreite an musikalischen Genres ab und ist bekannt für gewagte und eklektische DJ-Sets. Im unkonventionellen Rahmen einer Clubnacht werden zudem Konzerte von internationalen Liveacts veranstaltet. African Acid Is The Future findet regelmäßig in der Loftus Hall statt, zudem im Festsaal Kreuzberg, dem Funkhaus sowie in vielen internationalen Venues und auf Festivals. Das Kollektiv betreibt eine regelmäßige Radioshow bei Berlin Community Radio und auf Gilles Petersons Worldwide FM. Nach einem unglaublichen Jahr mit Touren und Veranstaltungen, auf denen Künstler wie Les Filles de Illighadad, Guem oder Ogoya Nengo and the Dodo Women’s Group auftraten, veröffentlichte das Kollektiv in Zusammenarbeit mit The Vinyl Factory seine erste LP mit dem Titel Ambiance I, mit der das zentrale Anliegen der Reihe einem größeren Publikum nähergebracht werden soll. Mit einer Konzertreihe im Grünen Salon wird die Crew von African Acid Is The Future ihre Liebe zur Livemusik weiterverfolgen – von senegalischer Kora-Musik bis zu französischem Post Punk.

06.06.19, 22:00
> Tickets

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

African Acid Is The Future: Sourakata Koité

Einlass: 20:00, Beginn: 21:00
Tickets: 15 / erm. 10 €

Sourakata Koité wurde 1955 in einem senegalesischen Dorf nahe der Grenze zu Mauretanien geboren. Seine Familie gehört zu den djéli. Er war schon früh musikalisch aktiv und begann im Alter von drei Jahren die Kora zu lernen; mit elf Jahren trat er bereits gemeinsam mit anderen Mitgliedern der Familie auf. 1975 zog Koité nach Dakar und 1977 schließlich nach Paris, wo er seinen Lebensunterhalt mit Auftritten in gehobenen afrikanischen Restaurants bestritt. In Paris spielte Koité mit verschiedenen Bands und Musiker*innen, darunter Les Lézards, Les Ballets Kodia, La Kola, Le Griot de Paris, Manu Dibango, Jacques Higelin, Touré Kounda, Manfeï Obin, Mangala, Luther Allison und Mah Damba. Diese eklektischen musikalischen Begegnungen hatten auch Einfluss auf sein eigenes Schaffen. Koité erweiterte sein musikalisches Repertoire, begann selbst zu komponieren und eigenhändig Koras zu bauen. Er veröffentlicht regelmäßig und tourt weltweit.

[logo bytefm 100]

24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
09.06
10.06
11.06
12.06
13.06
14.06
15.06
16.06
17.06
18.06
19.06
20.06
21.06
22.06
23.06
24.06
25.06
26.06
27.06
28.06
29.06
30.06
01.07
02.07
03.07
04.07
05.07
06.07
07.07
08.07
09.07
10.07
11.07
12.07
13.07
14.07
15.07
16.07
17.07
18.07
19.07
20.07
21.07
22.07
23.07
24.07
25.07
26.07
27.07
28.07
29.07
30.07
31.07
01.08
02.08
03.08
04.08
05.08
06.08
07.08
08.08
09.08
10.08
11.08
12.08
13.08
14.08
15.08
16.08
17.08
18.08
19.08
20.08
21.08
22.08
23.08
24.08
25.08
26.08
27.08
28.08
29.08
30.08
31.08
01.09
02.09
03.09
04.09
05.09
06.09
07.09
08.09
09.09
10.09
11.09
12.09
13.09
14.09
15.09
16.09
17.09
18.09
19.09
20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
04.10
05.10
06.10
07.10
08.10
09.10
10.10
11.10
12.10
13.10
14.10
15.10
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
08.11
09.11
10.11
11.11
12.11
13.11
14.11
15.11
16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx