VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Pansy & P14: High Drag
20.04.
Grüner Salon

Performance, Party
English

Drag has oft been considered a low brow art form. As a performance staple in queer culture it has been relegated to the glistening stages of underground nightclubs and back corners of seedy dive bars. High Drag will pull back the sequinned curtain to showcase the diversity of Berlin's drag performance in all it's entirety. Pansy has selected some of Berlin's most talented performers to take the Grüner Salon stage alongside brand new queens birthed in collaboration with the P14 youth theater program at Volksbühne on Saturday, April 20th. High Drag is an art form-- elevated. It's also 420. Come get high with us.

Performances by:
MARTINI
LUNA TIKTOK
CATHY VON SNATCH
CHERYL FROM OFF OFF OFF BROADWAY
NANA SCHEWITZ
PRENS EMRAH
+ more

Music by: MR. MANIC

PANSY is the stage and internet persona of Parker Tilghman, an artist living and working in Berlin. While he holds a degree from the California College of the Arts, she finds that her work functions better in financially accessible night clubs, festivals, public arts institutions, and open educational settings instead of commercial galleries. They view drag as a tool for social justice and focus on promoting the bodies and voices of other female, trans*, and non-binary identified artists. She mixes comedy and camp to discuss heavy topics like HIV, white supremacy, misogyny, mental health, and sexual violence. He believes creating joy is essential to survival in this world.

PANSY has performed all over Europe, Australia, America, Korea, and Japan. For the last five years, she has been the mother and host of the internationally-renowned House of Presents drag show every Tuesday night at Monster Ronson’s in Berlin. Additionally, he organizes talks on sexual health and responsible drug use in collaboration with Praxis Cordes and Berliner Aidshilfe in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. From 2015 to 2017 they were the founder and director of the YO! SISSY Music Festival, a two-day festival showcasing local and established queer artists in Berlin. He has held drag workshops and performances at the Ruhrtriennale in Bochum, Kampnagel in Hamburg, and the Volksbühne in Berlin. Her work has been written about in The Guardian, Der Spiegel, Berliner Morgenpost, Berliner Zeitung, SPEX Magazin, and more. PANSY believes collaboration is key to the future of a sustainable art practice. We must come up together...and throw a cute party while we’re at it.

Photo: Victor Hensel-Coe

20.04.19, 22:00
> tickets

22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en
Pansy & P14: High Drag
20.04.
Grüner Salon

Performance, Party
In englischer Sprache

Drag wurde oft als anspruchslose Kunstform wahrgenommen. In der Queer-Kultur wurde es in glitzernde Underground-Nachtclubs und in die hintersten Ecken schäbiger Bars verbannt. High Drag zieht den paillettenbesetzten Vorhang nun zurück, um die Vielfalt der Berliner Drag Performance in ihrer Gesamtheit zu zeigen. Pansy hat einige der talentiertesten Berliner Performer*innen ausgewählt. Am 20. April betreten sie gemeinsam mit brandneuen Königinnen, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jugendtheater P14 in der Volksbühne geboren wurden, die Bühne des Grünen Salons.

Performances von:
MARTINI
LUNA TIKTOK
CATHY VON SNATCH
CHERYL FROM OFF OFF OFF BROADWAY
NANA SCHEWITZ
PRENS EMRAH
+ viele mehr

Musik: MR. MANIC

PANSY ist die Bühnen und Internet-Identität von Parker Tilghman, einem Künstler, der in Berlin lebt und arbeitet. Während seines Studiums am California College of the Arts stellt sie fest, dass ihre Arbeit in Nachtclubs, auf Festivals, in öffentlichen Kunstinstitutionen und offenen Bildungseinrichtungen besser funktioniert als in kommerziellen Galerien. Sie betrachten Drag als ein Instrument für mehr soziale Gerechtigkeit und konzentrieren sich auf die Förderung der Körper und Stimmen anderer weiblicher, trans* und nicht-binärer Künstler*innen. Sie mischt comedy und camp, um ernste Themen wie HIV, weiße Vorherrschaft, Frauenfeindlichkeit, psychische Gesundheit und sexuelle Gewalt zu diskutieren. Er glaubt, dass die Entwicklung von Freude für das Überleben in dieser Welt unerlässlich ist.

PANSY ist in ganz Europa, Australien, Amerika, Korea und Japan aufgetreten. Seit fünf Jahren ist sie jeden Dienstagabend bei Monster Ronson in Berlin die Mutter und Gastgeberin der international renommierten Drag-Show des House of Presents. Darüber hinaus organisiert er in Zusammenarbeit mit Praxis Cordes und der Berliner Aidshilfe in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz Gespräche über sexuelle Gesundheit und verantwortlichen Drogenkonsum. Von 2015 bis 2017 waren sie Gründer und Direktor der YO! SISSY Music Festival, ein zweitägiges Festival, das lokale und etablierte Queer Artists in Berlin vorstellt. Er hat Drag-Workshops und Performances bei der Ruhrtriennale in Bochum, Kampnagel in Hamburg und der Volksbühne in Berlin organisiert. Über ihre Arbeiten wurde unter anderem in The Guardian, Der Spiegel, der Berliner Morgenpost, der Berliner Zeitung, dem SPEX Magazin und anderen geschrieben. PANSY glaubt, dass Zusammenarbeit der Schlüssel für die Zukunft einer nachhaltigen Kunstpraxis ist. ‘Kommt zusammen... und lass uns eine süße Party schmeißen, wenn wir schon dabei sind.’

Foto: Victor Hensel-Coe

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx