de / en
Grace Schwindt: Knockout
12.04.
Grüner Salon

Performance
German and English

“Knockout” is the newest iteration of Grace Schwindt’s performance, developed specifically for the Grüner Salon from the earlier piece “The Boxer,” which was commissioned by David Roberts Foundation in London. “Knockout” features the figures of a story-teller, a drummer and a singer. The piece’s text focuses on the body as a site of training, discipline and standardized appearance, and deviations from this model. In previous performances, Schwindt connected such bodily experiences with those of dancers and performers caring for their bodies after an injury or trauma. In this performance, the storyteller’s experiences are detached from their specific history and interspersed with questioning and musical responses by the drummer and the singer. The interrelations between the three figures and the fluidity of their storytelling raise questions about subjectivity and memory, especially as related to physical trauma. The three figures exchange perspectives and narratives, which flow between them without clear boundaries between the characters. Furthermore, their bodies are echoed in various surfaces, on a screen and in the costumes arranged in the space; although the physical activities they perform and speak of are powerful gestures, their bodily presence is fragile and tentative.

Grace Schwindt is a German artist based in London and Amsterdam. Her artistic practice is focused on performance and film as well as sculptures and drawings. Many of her works explore aspects of historical events with an emphasis on social relations. It is however never obvious where she draws the line between fiction and non-fiction. She aims to clear institutionalized spaces from meaning and to deconstruct narrative structures, while acknowledging that spaces will always stay loaded with given connotations. Schwindt’s film “Only a Free Individual Can Create a Free Society” has toured from Eastside Project in Birmingham to Badischer Kunstverein in Karlsruhe, The Showroom in London and Contemporary Art Gallery in Vancouver, among others. She has shown exhibitions, performances and films worldwide, including at Argos, Brussels; Moving/Image at Arko Art Centre, Seoul; Museum M, Leuven; Block Universe festival, London and the 14th Istanbul Biennale.

With:
Percussion: Maria Schneider
Voice: Inbal Hever
Storyteller: Camille Rearden

Maria Schneider is an independent percussionist. Growing up in a family of musicians, she studied classical percussion along with her two sisters. She continued her music studies at the Hans Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin, where she studied percussion under Edgar Guggeis, Franz Schindlbeck, Rainer Seegers, Li Biao and Sanja Fister. Since 2013 she has been a fixed member of the Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra, and regularly plays with other orchesters, ensembles and bands. She has played, among others, at the Proms in London, the Roskilde Festival, and alongside great musicians such as Hermeto Pascoal, Iva Bittova und Benny Greb. She is also a pianist and has played in musical theater productions at the Schaubühne and the Maxim Gorki Theater.

Inbal Hever is a Mezzo Soprano, whose repertoire ranges from Baroque to Contemporary Classical music. A graduate of the Buchman-Mehta Academy of Music at Tel Aviv University and the Royal Conservatory in The Hague, Hever has performed as a soloist in Israel, Europe and the US, and has worked with Reinbert de Leeuw, Jos van Veldhoven, Elisabeth Wallfisch, Asko-Schönberg Ensemble and the Jerusalem Baroque Orchestra, among others. Most recently she premiered and recorded Chaya Czernowin’s Adiantum Capillus-Veneris, for Deutschlandfunk. She divides her life between New York and Berlin.

Image: Grace Schwindt, The Boxer, 2018. An Evening of Performances. Photo: Christa Holka

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en
Grace Schwindt: Knockout
12.04.
Grüner Salon

Performance
Deutsch und Englisch

Knockout ist die neueste Performance der Künstlerin Grace Schwindt. Sie wurde eigens für den Grünen Salon aus der früheren Arbeit The Boxer entwickelt (im Auftrag der David Roberts Foundation in London). Knockout ist ein Stück für eine Erzählerin, eine Schlagzeugerin und eine Sängerin. Der Text konzentriert sich auf den Körper als Austragungsort von Training und Disziplin und auf von diesem Modell abweichende Erscheinungsformen. In früheren Aufführungen verband Schwindt diese körperlichen Erfahrungen mit denen von Tänzer*innen und Darsteller*innen, die sich nach einer Verletzung oder einem Trauma um ihren Körper kümmern müssen. In dieser Performance werden die Erfahrungen der Erzählerin mit Fragen und musikalischen Antworten der Schlagzeugerin und der Sängerin durchsetzt. Die Wechselbeziehungen zwischen den drei Figuren und der Fluss des Erzählens werfen Fragen nach Subjektivität und Gedächtnis auf, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit körperlichen Traumata. Die Figuren tauschen Perspektiven und Erzählungen aus, es gibt keine klaren Grenzen zwischen ihnen. Darüber hinaus werden ihre Körper auf verschiedenen Oberflächen, wie auf einem Bildschirm, und in den im Raum angeordneten Kostümen widergespiegelt. Obwohl die körperlichen Aktivitäten, von denen sie ausgehen und sprechen, kraftvolle Gesten sind, ist ihre Präsenz zerbrechlich und zaghaft.

Grace Schwindt ist eine deutsche Künstlerin, die in London und Amsterdam lebt. Ihre künstlerische Praxis konzentriert sich auf Performance und Film sowie Skulpturen und Zeichnungen. Ihre Arbeiten setzen sich oft mit Aspekten historischer Ereignisse im Hinblick auf soziale Beziehungen auseinander. Dabei ist jedoch nie offensichtlich, wo Schwindt die Grenze zwischen Fiktion und Realität zieht. Ihr Ziel ist es, institutionalisierte Räume von ihrer zugewiesenen Bedeutung zu befreien und narrative Strukturen zu dekonstruieren. Schwindts Film Only a Free Individual Can Create a Free Society tourte u.a. vom Eastside Project in Birmingham zum Badischen Kunstverein in Karlsruhe, zu The Showroom in London und zur Contemporary Art Gallery in Vancouver. Schwindts Ausstellungen, Performances und Filme werden weltweit gezeigt, u.a. in Argos, Brüssel, Moving/Image at Arko Art Centre in Seoul, Museum M, Leuven, Block Universe Festival, London und bei der 14. Istanbul Biennale.

Performers:
Maria Schneider, Percussion
Inbal Hever, Voice

Maria Schneider ist freiberufliche Schlagzeugerin. Sie wuchs in einer Musikerfamilie auf und studierte wie ihre Eltern und ihre beiden Schwestern klassisches Schlagzeug. Schneider studierte an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin Schlagzeug bei Edgar Guggeis, Franz Schindlbeck, Rainer Seegers, Li Biao und Sanja Fister. Seit 2013 ist sie festes Mitglied beim Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra und spielt regelmäßig in diversen Orchestern, Ensembles und Bands. Sie musizierte u.a. bereits bei den Proms in London, beim Roskilde Festival, mit bekannten Musiker*innen wie Hermeto Pascoal, Iva Bittova und Benny Greb. Schneider ist außerdem als Pianistin tätig und wirkte bei diversen Musiktheaterproduktionen mit, u.a. in der Schaubühne Berlin und am Maxim Gorki Theater Berlin.

Inbal Hever ist Mezzosopranistin. Ihr Repertoire reicht von Barock bis hin zu zeitgenössischer klassischer Musik. Hever ist Absolventin der Buchman-Mehta-Musikakademie an der Universität Tel Aviv und des Königlichen Konservatoriums in Den Haag und trat als Solistin in Israel, Europa und den USA auf. Sie arbeitete mit zahlreichen Künstler*innen zusammen, u.a. mit Reinbert de Leeuw, Jos van Veldhoven, Elisabeth Wallfisch, dem Asko-Schönberg-Ensemble und dem Jerusalem Baroque Orchestra. Zuletzt hat sie für Deutschlandfunk Adiantum Capillus-Veneris von Chaya Czernowin uraufgeführt und aufgenommen. Sie lebt in New York und Berlin.

Bild: Grace Schwindt, The Boxer, 2018. An Evening of Performances. Foto: Christa Holka

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx