VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Photo: Karam Alhamad

Real Talk: Accommodating the Devil.
The Syrian Civil Society’s Struggle for Survival
09.04.

Discourse
English

19:00 Welcome: Marion Detjen
Introduction: Kristin Helberg

19:15 Panel Discussion with Christin Lüttich (Moderation), Karam Alhamad, Kristin Helberg, Zeidoun Alzoubi and Ameenah Sawwan
followed by responses and discussion with the audience

The revolution in Syria did not only try to get rid of Assad's regime. It also created a diverse landscape of civil society structures that allowed the population to sustain itself: schools, health centers, infrastructure projects, journalistic initiatives, and more. These grassroot structures survived the war and the sieges. But now they are facing annihilation: ever since the USA and other Western powers signaled their withdrawing from Syria, the grassroot organizations and NGOs have been threatened to remain without any means, and the volunteers find themselves squeezed between the terror of the regime and the terror of the Islamist groups.

How should we, how should free societies in the West act in this situation? A lively civil society here cannot be impervious to a dying civil society there. What is the current situation in the different regions of Syria? Can we even imagine an arrangement with Assad? Can Russia be moved to force Assad to secure at least a minimum of protection for the people in those areas? The evening will be framed by photos and posters from the revolution.


Real Talk is a new series at Grüner Salon that renders visible the political discourse of the young, resistance-oriented, democratic and activist Middle-Eastern diaspora in Berlin and provides space for its debates. This series aims to make evident the transnational realities and struggles between ‘here’ and ‘there’; ‘then’ and ‘now’, differences which Nationalism seeks to deny and erase, and which reveal themselves in the Diasporas. The talks serve as a platform to explore the diaspora’s own thoughts and reactions to these realities. The series in the Grüner Salon aims to create a space where Syrian, Afghan, Yemen, Iraqi and other experts in various discursive and artistic discipline can discuss and perform their work.

The series is a cooperation between Bard College Berlin, the Volksbühne Berlin and the German Council on Foreign Relations. It offers a mix of lectures, short-films, panel discussions and performances discussing themes such as the struggle for survival of the civil society in the Middle East; the re-claiming of political agency; disappeared and missing prisoners; the fate of women in the revolution; the political dimension of the (post-)traumatic; the experience of statelessness; and other topics related to the diaspora.

09.04.19, 19:00
> tickets

23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Foto: Karam Alhamad

Real Talk: Accommodating the Devil.
The Syrian Civil Society’s Struggle for Survival
09.04.

Diskurs
In englischer Sprache

Ausgleich mit Teufeln. Der Überlebenskampf der syrischen Zivilgesellschaft

19:00 Begrüßung: Marion Detjen
Einführung: Kristin Helberg

19:15 Panel-Diskussion mit Christin Lüttich (Moderation), Karam Alhamad, Kristin Helberg, Zeidoun Alzoubi und Ameenah Sawwan​
Danach Reaktionen und Diskussion mit dem Publikum

Die Revolution in Syrien hat nicht nur versucht, das Assad-Regime loszuwerden. Sie hat auch vielfältige zivilgesellschaftliche Strukturen hervorgebracht: Schulen, Gesundheitszentren, Infrastruktur, journalistische Projekte, mit denen die Bevölkerung ihre eigene Versorgung in die Hand genommen hat. Auch im Krieg und in der Belagerung haben diese Strukturen überlebt. Doch jetzt stehen sie vor dem Aus. Seit der Westen sich zurückzieht, drohen den Graswurzel-Organisationen die letzten Mittel abhanden zu kommen. Und die Menschen, die sich noch fürs Gemeinwohl engagiert hatten, werden zwischen dem Terror des Regimes und dem Terror der islamistischen Gruppen zerrieben.

Was müssen wir, was muss der Westen in dieser Situation jetzt tun? Die sterbende Zivilgesellschaft dort kann einer lebendigen Zivilgesellschaft hier nicht gleichgültig sein. Wie sieht es in den verschiedenen Regionen Syriens jetzt konkret aus? Ist ein Arrangement mit Assad überhaupt denkbar? Oder lässt sich Russland bewegen, Assad zu zwingen, wenigstens ein Minimum an Schutz für die Menschen zu gewährleisten? Eingerahmt wird der Abend von Fotos und Plakaten der Revolution.


Real Talk ist eine neue Reihe im Grünen Salon, die den politischen Diskurs von jungen, widerständigen, demokratisch-freiheitlich gesinnten Diasporas des Mittleren Ostens in Berlin sichtbar und diskutierbar macht. Es geht um die transnationalen Wirklichkeiten und Kämpfe zwischen dem „hier“ und dem „dort“, dem “damals” und dem “jetzt”, die der Nationalismus auszuradieren sucht und die sich in den Diasporas zeigen. Die Serie gibt syrischen, afghanischen, irakischen und anderen Intellektuellen und Künstler*innen eine Plattform, um politische Themen gemeinsam mit Expert*innen in unterschiedlichen diskursiven und/oder künstlerischen Formaten zu diskutieren.

Die Serie ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Bard College Berlin, der Volksbühne Berlin und der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik. Vorträge, Kurzfilme, Paneldiskussionen und Performances werden die Abende prägen. Der Überlebenskampf der Zivilgesellschaften im Nahen Osten, die Rückgewinnung politischer Handlungsfähigkeit, die in den Gefängnissen Verschwundenen, die politische Dimension des (Post-)Traumatischen, die Erfahrung von Staatenlosigkeit, das Schicksal der Frauen in der Revolution – diese und andere, Diaspora und Welt verbindende Themen werden zur Diskussion stehen.

09.04.19, 19:00
> Tickets

21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx