VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Eliza McCarthy. Photo: Pat Davey

Eliza McCarthy plays Mica Levi's
Slow Dark Green Murky Waterfall
& Kareem Lotfy
19.02.
Roter Salon

Concert

Eliza McCarthy performs Slow Dark Green Murky Waterfall, six intimate piano pieces composed by Mica Levi, followed by a set by Berlin-based producer Kareem Lotfy.

The culmination of three years’ work between Mica and Eliza - winner of the 2013 British Contemporary Piano Competition - ‘Slow Dark Green Murky Waterfall’ follows up their collaboration on the Oscarnominated score for Pablo Larrain’s ‘Jackie’ with a finer-shaded expression that’s so intimate and personal it almost feels like eavesdropping a private recording. Ineffably bound by a sense of unreal poise, Eliza’s interpretations are subtly, dynamically rendered in-the-mix by Mica to present the pieces as though in flux, like poignant, unresolved statements that occur in the flow of quiet, intent dialogue and linger in the air.
www.elizamccarthy.com
Soundcloud

The Berlin-based producer Kareem Lotfy started out studying painting in Alexandria before running the gamut of an emergent visual art career in Amsterdam then arriving at music. Lotfy has been experimenting with electronic music since 1999, releasing his debut album Dirty Zeyda via Cairo’s 100copies label in 2008.

Since then, he has performed art and music club nights around the globe, provided beats to other interdisciplinary artists and producers like 18+, and produced a mix as Dj Saudi Cables for the OSLO10 web residency curated by Agatha Valkyrie Ice in 2017. Most recently, Lotfy contributed to PAN’s Mono No Aware compilation and released an EP of mostly sampled-based and ambient music on New York-based label Quiet Time.
Soundcloud

media

Kareem Lotfy

20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Eliza McCarthy. Foto: Pat Davey

Eliza McCarthy plays Mica Levi's
Slow Dark Green Murky Waterfall
& Kareem Lotfy
19.02.
Roter Salon

Konzert

Eliza McCarthy spielt Slow Dark Green Murky Waterfall, sechs intime, von Mica Levi komponierte Klavierstücke, gefolgt von einem Set des Berliner Produzenten Kareem Lotfy.

Nachdem Mica und Eliza bereits für die oscarnominierte Filmmusik zu Pablo Larrains Jackie zusammengearbeitet haben, bildet Slow Dark Green Murky Waterfall den Höhepunkt der dreijährigen musikalischen Kollaboration. Diese Klavierstücke sind noch feiner, intimer und persönlicher als die vorherigen Arbeiten und erzeugen fast den Eindruck, als höre man eine private Aufnahme der beiden. Eliza gewann 2013 die British Contemporary Piano Competition. Ihr Klavierspiel ist subtil und Mica schafft es, die Stücke wie in Bewegung zu halten. Ergreifende, ungelöste Aussagen, die im Fluss des ruhigen Dialogs aufpoppen und in der Luft verweilen.
www.elizamccarthy.com
Soundcloud

Der in Berlin lebende Produzent Kareem Lotfy begann in Alexandria Malerei zu studieren bevor er in Amsterdam als visueller Künstler arbeitete und letztlich zur Musik kam. Seit 1999 experimentiert Lotfy mit elektronischer Musik und veröffentlichte 2008 sein Debütalbum Dirty Zeyda auf dem 100copies-Label aus Kairo.

Seitdem bespielt er Kunst- und Clubabende rund um den Globus und produziert Beats für andere interdisziplinäre Künstler und Produzenten wie 18+. Als DJ Saudi Cables hat er einen Mix für die OSLO10-Webresidenz zusammen gestellt, die 2017 von Agatha Valkyrie Ice kuratiert wurde. Zuletzt war er an der Mono No Aware-Compilation des Berliner Labels PAN beteiligt und veröffentlichte eine EP, die hauptsächlich aus Samples und Ambient-Musik des in New York ansässigen Labels Quiet Time bestand.
Soundcloud

Medien

Kareem Lotfy

19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
09.06
10.06
11.06
12.06
13.06
14.06
15.06
16.06
17.06
18.06
19.06
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx