VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Andrew Pekler

Andrew Pekler & Tomoko Sauvage
26.02.
Roter Salon

Concert

Andrew Pekler was born in 1973 in Samarkand, Uzbekistan. His family immigrated to the United States in 1980. He has resided in Germany since 1995. As an artist, Pekler works with techniques of digital sampling and analog synthesis to re–contextualize found sounds and archival musical materials.

His last album release, Tristes Tropiques is a collection of synthetic exotica, pseudo-ethnographic music and unreal field recordings. More recently, Pekler has employed strategies of imaginary ethnography to produce the piece “Description of an Island”, which was premiered at the 2017 INA - GRM Présences Électronique festival and to assemble Phantom Islands – A Sonic Atlas, an interactive online map that charts the sounds and histories of islands that were once found on nautical maps but have since disappeared.

Andrew Pekler’s live performances are largely improvisational works-in-progress in which he produces a flow of spontaneous new compositions using the sonic and visual components of his most recent and upcoming projects.

Over the past decade, Tomoko Sauvage (JP/FR) has been working on “natural synthesizer” of her invention – waterbowls - combining water, ceramics, hydrophones (underwater microphones) and electronics. Through primordial elements augmented by technology, enlivened by ritualistic yet playful gestures, Sauvage's work contemplates, tunes and connects both the material and the immaterial, in keeping a fragile balance between hazard and mastery. Her latest album, "Musique Hydromantique", (Shelter Press, 2017) alludes to hyromancy, the ancient method of divination by means of water.

media

Tomoko Sauvage. Credit: WOS Festival / Leo Lopez

22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Andrew Pekler

Andrew Pekler & Tomoko Sauvage
26.02.
Roter Salon

Konzert

Andrew Pekler wurde 1973 in Samarkand (Usbekistan) geboren. Seine Familie emigrierte 1980 in die Vereinigten Staaten. Seit 1995 lebt er in Deutschland. Als Künstler arbeitet Pekler mit Techniken des digitalen Sampling und analogen Synthesizern, um Found Sounds und archiviertes Musikmaterial neu zu arrangieren.

Sein letztes Album, Tristes Tropiques, ist eine Sammlung synthetischer Exotika, pseudoethnografischer Musik und unwirklicher Field Recordings. In jüngster Zeit hat Pekler so genannte Strategien der imaginären Ethnographie eingesetzt, um etwa das Stück Description of an Island zu produzieren, das auf dem Festival INA - GRM Présences Électronique 2017 uraufgeführt wurde. Mit Phantom Islands - A Sonic Atlas hat er eine interaktive Online-Karte komponiert, sie besteht aus Geräuschen und Geschichten von Inseln, die einst auf Seekarten verzeichnet waren und seit langer Zeit verschwunden sind.

Die Live-Performances von Andrew Pekler sind größtenteils improvisatorischer Natur. Er erzeugt spontan neue Kompositionen, wobei er die klanglichen und visuellen Komponenten seiner neuesten und kommenden Projekte verwendet.

In den letzten zehn Jahren arbeitet Tomoko Sauvage (JP / FR) mit einem eigens erfundenen „natürlichen Synthesizer“ - Wasserschalen – in denen sie die Geräusche von Wasser, Keramik, Hydrophone (Unterwassermikrofone) und Elektronik kombiniert. Durch von Technologie unterstützte Urelemente, die durch rituelle, aber spielerische Gesten belebt werden, betrachtet, stimmt und verbindet Sauvages Werk das Materielle und das Immaterielle, um ein fragiles Gleichgewicht zwischen Gefahr und Beherrschung zu bewahren. Ihr letztes Album Musique Hydromantique (Shelter Press, 2017) spielt auf Hyromantie an, die uralte Methode der Weissagung mittels Wasser.

26.02.19, 21:00
> Tickets

Medien

Tomoko Sauvage. Credit: WOS Festival / Leo Lopez

21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
03.06
04.06
05.06
06.06
07.06
08.06
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx