VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Photo: Eleni Avraam

Heather Leigh, Konrad Sprenger
12.02.
Roter Salon

Concert

Heather Leigh
The daughter of a coal miner, weaving a trail from West Virginia to Texas and now residing in Scotland, Heather Leigh furthers the vast unexplored reaches of pedal steel guitar.

Her playing is as physical as it is phantom, combining spontaneous compositions with a feel for the full interaction of flesh with hallucinatory power sources. With a rare combination of sensitivity and strength, Leigh’s steel mainlines sanctified slide guitar and deforms it using hypnotic tone-implosions, juggling walls of bleeding amp tone with choral vocal constructs and wrenching single note ascensions.

New album 'Throne', out on Editions Mego in October 2018, is a suite of heartbleed ballads cauterised with burning riffs. After the rawness of its precursor I Abused Animal, Throne is a record of late night Americana and heavy femininity; intimate love songs smoked in sensuality. The songs on Throne are woozy, gorgeous and uncomfortable, smothered in thick layers of bass but lifted by multitracked vocals. These are rich song forms that stand in contrast to the stripped down steel in her duo with Peter Brotzmann. It is an album of cosmic echoes, abstractions and introspection, of characters and stories that make up Leigh's first best pop record, its melodies and hooks set alight with the fiery core of her unique and distinctive pedal steel.

Heather will perform as a duo with John Hannon (violin/electronics).

Konrad Sprenger (Choose, PAN) is the pseudonym of Joerg Hiller, a composer, music producer and artist based in Berlin. His recent focus has been on live performance with a computer-controlled multi-channel electric guitar. Konrad Sprenger explores rhythmic patterns based on the Euclidean algorithm, to evoke a kind of cognitive insecurity through metrical dissonance. Sprenger approaches the strings of the guitar as frequency generators, tuned and set into motion by various electronically controlled mechanical actions. The music relates to the insistent rhythms of Minimalism, Krautrock and Techno, and their shared focus on transcendence through propulsive, full-spectrum sound. His music and installation work have been presented at Berghain, Pavilion of the Volksbühne Berlin, Kunsthalle Basel, MoMA PS1, Sonar among others.
Soundcloud

media

19.07
20.07
21.07
22.07
23.07
24.07
25.07
26.07
27.07
28.07
29.07
30.07
31.07
01.08
02.08
03.08
04.08
05.08
06.08
07.08
08.08
09.08
10.08
11.08
12.08
13.08
14.08
15.08
16.08
17.08
18.08
19.08
20.08
21.08
22.08
23.08
24.08
25.08
26.08
27.08
28.08
29.08
30.08
31.08
01.09
02.09
03.09
04.09
05.09
06.09
07.09
08.09
09.09
10.09
11.09
12.09
13.09
14.09
15.09
16.09
17.09
18.09
19.09
20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
04.10
05.10
06.10
07.10
08.10
09.10
10.10
11.10
12.10
13.10
14.10
15.10
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
08.11
09.11
10.11
11.11
12.11
13.11
14.11
15.11
16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en

Foto: Eleni Avraam

Heather Leigh, Konrad Sprenger
12.02.
Roter Salon

Konzert

Heather Leigh
Als Tochter eines Bergarbeiters, die es von West Virginia nach Texas führte, lebt Heather Leigh nun in Schottland und erweitert die unerforschten Weiten der Pedal Steel-Gitarre.

Ihr Spiel ist so physisch wie gespenstisch und verbindet leichte Kompositionen mit einem Gefühl für die volle Interaktion von Fleisch und halluzinogenen Kraftquellen. Mit einer seltenen Kombination aus Sensibilität und Stärke bearbeitet Leigh die Slide-Gitarre und verformt sie mit hypnotischen Tone-Implosionen, jonglierenden Wänden aus blutendem Amp-Sound sowie Chorgesangskonstruktionen und mitreißenden Single-Note-Aufstiegen.

Das neue Album Throne, im Oktober 2018 auf Editions Mego erschienen, ist eine Suite herzzerreißender Balladen mit brennenden Riffs. Nach der Rohheit seines Vorläufers Abused Animal verquickt Throne nun Americana mit großer Weiblichkeit und intimen Liebesliedern. Die Songs auf Throne sind wunderschön und manchmal bedrohlich, umspült von dicken Bassschichten, getragen von mehrspurigen Vocals. Es ist ein Album mit kosmischen Echos, Abstraktionen und Introspektion, Charakteren und Geschichten, aus denen Leighs ihre erste Pop-Platte formt. Die Melodien und Hooks zünden mit dem feurigen Kern ihres einzigartigen und unverwechselbaren Pedal Steel.

Heather wird als Duo mit John Hannon (Violine / Elektronik) auftreten.

Konrad Sprenger (Choose, PAN) ist das Pseudonym von Joerg Hiller, einem Berliner Komponisten, Musikproduzenten und Künstler. Zuletzt konzentrierte er sich auf Live-Auftritte mit seiner computergesteuerten Mehrkanal-E-Gitarre. In seiner Musik erforscht Konrad Sprenger rhythmische Muster basierend auf dem Euklidischen Algorithmus, um durch metrische Dissonanz eine Art kognitiver Unsicherheit hervorzurufen. Sprenger nutzt die Saiten der Gitarre als Frequenzgenerator, die durch verschiedene elektronisch gesteuerte, mechanische Aktionen gestimmt und in Bewegung gesetzt werden. Diese Musik steht in Verbindung zu den Rhythmen des Minimalismus, Krautrock und Techno sowie deren gemeinsamen Fokus auf das Transzendente durch Vollspektrum Sound. Seine Musik- und Installationsarbeiten wurden u.a. im Berghain, im Pavillon der Volksbühne, in der Kunsthalle Basel, im MoMA PS1 und im Sonar präsentiert.
Soundcloud

Medien

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx