de / en

Photo: Julian Röder

rauschen
by Sasha Waltz & Guests

Dance
1h 35min

Following her last two projects – »Kreatur« and »Exodos«, which plumbed timeless, in ways archaic, levels of human existence and social interaction – in her latest piece from 2019, Sasha Waltz focuses on life in the present, which is embedded within artificial structures. »rauschen« deals with a society that inhabits a perfect environment, but has lost touch with the world, and is gaining a new dimension against the backdrop of our current situation of social distancing and a yet increased shift towards the digital.

One of the main restrictions for the movement of the twelve dancers were a prohibition or extreme limitation of real physical contact between the dancers. George Lucas’ dystopian science fiction movie »THX 1138«, depicting our current technologized state of life almost prophetically in 1967, served as one important source of inspiration during the creation of »rauschen«. The main questions here included: What language of movement results from conditions in which mind and body are inextricably entwined with technology? What position do we find ourselves in, surrounded by an overabundance of comforts that are simultaneously a means of control? What is the horizon of a globally networked life that has simultaneously forgotten the world? The semicircular stage area can thus be understood as a call to interrogate and explore anew our own inner panoramas. The slightly modified choreography leads to a process of revelation, in which the piece’s visual and dance-oriented languages are seized and transformed by a subversive power.

»rauschen« is a collaboration with lighting designer David Finn, who has mainly worked with Sasha Waltz on her large-scale opera productions, and whose lively spheres of light play across the perfectly white stage. The costumes were designed by Bernd Skodzig, whose creations have accompanied Sasha Waltz’s choreographic production for many years now.

Premiere: 07.03.2019

A production by Sasha Waltz & Guests in coproduction with Volksbühne Berlin. Made in Radialsystem.

Sasha Waltz & Guests are funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe and the Capital Cultural Fund.




Cast

With: Blenard Azizaj, Davide Camplani, Clémentine Deluy, Edivaldo Ernesto, Peggy Grelat-Dupont, Hwanhee Hwang, Lorena Justribó Manion, Annapaola Leso, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Aladino Rivera Blanca, László Sandig, Stylianos Tsatsos

Director and choreography: Sasha Waltz
Stage design: Thomas Schenk, Sasha Waltz
Costumes: Bernd Skodzig
Lighting: David Finn
Rehearsal: Claudia de Serpa Soares
Dramaturgy: Jochen Sandig, Agnes Scherer

16.12.20, 20:00

17.12.20, 20:00

18.12.20, 20:00

media

Photo: Julian Röder

Photo: Julian Röder

Photo: Julian Röder

Photo: Julian Röder

Photo: Julian Röder

Photo: Julian Röder

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en

Foto: Julian Röder

rauschen
von Sasha Waltz & Guests

Tanz
1h 35min

Im Anschluss an ihre beiden letzten Projekte Kreatur und Exodos, in welchen zeitlose, teils archaische Ebenen der menschlichen Existenz sowie unterschiedliche Gruppendynamiken ergründet wurden, widmet sich Sasha Waltz in ihrem neuesten Stück von 2019 dem in künstliche Strukturen eingebetteten Leben der Gegenwart. rauschen beschäftigt sich mit einer Gesellschaft, der in den Kulissen ihres perfekten Lebensraumes die Welt und das reale Miteinander abhandengekommen sind. Vor dem Hintergrund unserer aktuellen Situation von sozialer Distanz und einer zusätzlichen Verlagerung des Lebens ins Digitale, erhält rauschen eine neue Dimension.

Als zentrale Aufgabenstellung an die 12 Tänzer*innen war in der Bewegung keine oder kaum Berührung erlaubt. Den kreativen Prozess begleitete als inspirierende Referenz George Lucas‘ dystopischer Science-Fiction-Klassiker THX 1138, der den heutigen „Überwachungskapitalismus“ bereits 1967 fast schon prophetisch erzählt. Im Zentrum standen unter anderem die Fragen: Welche Bewegungssprache geht aus Zuständen hervor, in denen Geist und Körper von Technologie unabgrenzbar durchdrungen sind? In welche Lage versetzt uns ein Überangebot an Komforts, die zugleich Kontrollmittel sind? Wo liegt der Horizont eines global vernetzten und zugleich weltvergessenen Lebens? Die halbrunde Form des Bühnenraumes wird dabei als Aufforderung verstanden, unsere inneren Panoramen neu zu befragen und auszuloten. Die den aktuellen Bestimmungen angepasste Choreographie steuert in einen Enthüllungsprozess, bei dem die bildliche und tänzerische Sprache des Stücks durch eine subversive Kraft erobert und verwandelt wird.

rauschen ist eine Kollaboration mit dem Lichtdesigner David Finn, der mit Sasha Waltz vor allem in ihren großen Opernproduktionen zusammenarbeitete und eine vollkommen weiße Bühne mit seinen lebendigen Lichtsphären bespielt. Das Kostümbild gestaltete Bernd Skodzig, dessen Kreationen Sasha Waltz’ choreographisches Schaffen seit vielen Jahren begleiten.

Uraufführung war am 07.03.2019.

Eine Produktion von Sasha Waltz & Guests in Koproduktion mit der Volksbühne Berlin. Made in Radialsystem.

Sasha Waltz & Guests wird gefördert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa und dem Hauptstadtkulturfonds.




Besetzung

Mit: Blenard Azizaj, Davide Camplani, Clémentine Deluy, Edivaldo Ernesto, Peggy Grelat-Dupont, Hwanhee Hwang, Lorena Justribó Manion, Annapaola Leso, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Aladino Rivera Blanca, László Sandig, Stylianos Tsatsos

Regie und Choreografie: Sasha Waltz
Bühne: Thomas Schenk, Sasha Waltz
Kostüme: Bernd Skodzig
Licht: David Finn
Repetition: Claudia de Serpa Soares
Dramaturgie: Jochen Sandig, Agnes Scherer

16.12.20, 20:00

17.12.20, 20:00

18.12.20, 20:00

Medien

Foto: Julian Röder

Foto: Julian Röder

Foto: Julian Röder

Foto: Julian Röder

Foto: Julian Röder

Foto: Julian Röder

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx