VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Photo: Dicky Bahto

Tashi Wada Group and Marc Sabat ft. Julia Holter
22.12.
Roter Salon

Concert

Los Angeles-based composer Tashi Wada presents his new group featuring Julia Holter and percussionist Corey Fogel performing music from Wada's new album “Nue” out this fall on Brooklyn-based label RVNG Intl.

In Japanese, ‘nue’ is a mythological chimera with the face of a monkey, the legs of a tiger, and the tail of a snake. In French, nue means naked—stripped of complexity, bare and exposed, but also raw and essential. This duality underlies “Nue.” Released as part of RVNG Intl’s FRKWYS series of intergenerational projects, this collaboration ranges from minimalist bagpipes to otherworldly vocals, creating, in Wada’s words, “a vision, an endless night of dreams, and a personal history of sorts, full of joys and demons.”

From the doubling of tones—and the world of harmonic nuances such an action produces—to the rich interplay between individual musicians, all baring their own personalities and experiences through shared performance, Wada’s compositions allow space for these elements to join and grow. The multipartite creature that is an ensemble melds in the simplicity and purity of the music itself.

Canadian composer of Ukrainian descent Marc Sabat (*1965) has been based in Berlin since 1999. He makes pieces for concert and installation settings, drawing inspiration from investigations of the sounding and perception of Just Intonation and of various music traditions — folk, experimental and classical. He is a frequent collaborator, seeking fruitful interactions with other musicians and artists of visual and literary modes to find points of shared exploration and dialogue between various forms of experience. Sabat studied composition, violin and mathematics at the University of Toronto, at the Juilliard School in New York, and at McGill University, as well as working privately with Malcolm Goldstein, James Tenney and Walter Zimmermann. Together with Wolfgang von Schweinitz he has developed the Extended Helmholtz-Ellis JI Pitch Notation and is a pioneer of music written and performed in microtonal Just Intonation. He teaches composition and the theory and practice of intonation at the Universität der Künste Berlin.

https://youtu.be/5QguWBOE5oc

This show is presented by Care Of Editions

22.12.18, 21:00
> tickets

16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Foto: Dicky Bahto

Tashi Wada Group und Marc Sabat ft. Julia Holter
22.12.
Roter Salon

Konzert

Der in Los Angeles lebende Komponist Tashi Wada performt mit seiner neuen Band um Julia Holter und Perkussionist Corey Fogel sein neues Album Nue, das diesen Herbst auf dem Brooklyner Label RVNG Intl. Erschienen ist.

Im Japanischen steht "nue" für eine mythologische Chimäre mit dem Gesicht eines Affen, den Beinen, eines Tigers und dem Schwanz einer Schlange. Im Französischen bedeutet nue nackt – ohne Komplexität, ungeschützt und bloßgestellt, aber auch roh und wesenhaft. Diese Dualität liegt Nue zugrunde. Erschienen als Teil von RVNG Intl.s FRKWYs-Reihe, reicht dieses Projekt vom minimalistischen Dudelsack bis zu außerweltlichem Gesang und schafft nach Wadas Worten „eine Vision, eine endlose Traumnacht und eine persönliche Geschichte voller Freuden und Dämonen.“

Von der Verdoppelung der Töne und der Welt der harmonischen Nuancen bis hin zum reichen Zusammenspiel einzelner Musiker, die ihre Persönlichkeiten und Erfahrungen durch gemeinsame Performances einbringen. Wadas Kompositionen lassen Raum für die einzelnen Elemente, die sich hier verbinden und wachsen. Die mehrteilige Kreatur, die im Spiel eines Ensembles erscheint, erzeugt die Einfachheit und Reinheit der Musik.

Der kanadisch-ukrainische Komponist Marc Sabat (*1965) lebt seit 1999 in Berlin. Er schreibt Stücke für Konzerte und Installationen und lässt sich durch Untersuchungen zum Klang und zur Wahrnehmung reiner Stimmung und verschiedener Musiktraditionen inspirieren - Folk, Experimental und klassisch. Er arbeitet häufig zusammen mit anderen Musiker*innen und Künstler*innen aus dem visuellen oder literarischen Bereich, um mit verschiedenen Formen der Wahrnehmung in Dialog zu treten. Sabat studierte Komposition, Violine und Mathematik an der University of Toronto, an der Juilliard School in New York und an der McGill University und arbeitete privat mit Malcolm Goldstein, James Tenney und Walter Zimmermann. Zusammen mit Wolfgang von Schweinitz entwickelte er die Extended Helmholtz-Ellis JI Pitch Notation und ist ein Pionier der mikrotonalen reinen Stimmung. Er unterrichtet Komposition sowie Theorie und Praxis der Intonation an der Universität der Künste Berlin.

https://youtu.be/5QguWBOE5oc

Der Abend wird präsentiert von Care Of Editions

22.12.18, 21:00
> Tickets

21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx