VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Photo: Photononstop / Alamy Stock Foto

Syria’s war economy and reconstruction
Mohammad Al Attar
24.09.
Roter Salon

Discourse
English

Alongside his new production The Factory, the Syrian playwright and dramaturge Mohammad Al Attar hosts a group of experts to discuss the topics of war economy and reconstruction in Syria – two central issues to his piece. This session will take a critical approach to the calls for Syria’s reconstruction that are currently being advanced behind closed doors, and which have unfortunately found a receptive audience among Europe’s surging right-wing parties, who are solely preoccupied with reversing the flow of refugees. It will also examine Syria’s war economy through the case of the French cement giant Lafarge and the legal violations committed by its Syrian branch.

The presentations by the experts will be followed by an open discussion with the audience, moderated by Mohammad Al Attar.

The event was designed by Mohammad Al Attar as part of a fellowship awarded by the Allianz Kulturstiftung in the program "Weltoffenes Berlin" of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

Anyone who purchased a ticket for both The Factory and Syria's economy and reconstruction will receive the ticket for the discussion in the Roter Salon at a reduced price of 4 euros.

Topics:

Claire Tixeire (France) will present the case of Lafarge’s Syria activities, detailing how the company struck deals with different parties involved in the ongoing war to ensure its factory would continue to operate in North Syria. She will also highlight the importance of the current case against Lafarge before the French judiciary, as an exceptional example of attempts to hold multinational corporations accountable for their violations in conflict zones.

Shaza Alsalmoni (Syria) will address the legal basis that must undergird any discussion of post-war Syria’s reconstruction to avoid it being used as a bargaining chip or political blackmail. This is particularly relevant given Russia’s increasing calls for donor states to pump money into projects under the pretext of facilitating the return of Syrian refugees.

AlHakam Shaar (Syria) will discuss the ‘Aleppo Project,’ which aims to develop a vision for Aleppo's reconstruction that includes its residents’ narratives, especially those of its displaced inhabitants. By incorporating voices usually excluded from reconstruction plans, the project seeks to propose an alternative to the economic and investment approaches to reconstruction advanced by politicians and their business allies.

Biographies:

Claire Tixeire is a legal advisor at the Berlin-based European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), a non-profit organization that litigates strategic human rights cases to hold powerful actors to account. In the last two years she has been focusing her work on the Lafarge case filed in France against the cement multinational for crimes committed in Syria. From 2004 to 2011, Claire worked for the New York-based Center for Constitutional Rights (CCR) seeking to hold American U.S. officials accountable for torture committed in the context of the so-called “war on terror”. In those years, she led the advocacy work of the International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH) before the United Nations in New York. She holds law degrees from France, England and Canada.

AlHakam Shaar is the Holbrooke Fellow for The Aleppo Project at the Shattuck Center on Conflict, Negotiations, and Recovery at Central European University in Budapest. Since he joined the Aleppo Project in January 2015, he has collaborated with Aleppians of all walks of life, including urban planners, cultural heritage experts and civil society actors, and worked closely with graduate students of public policy researching problems that are most likely to face post-war Aleppo. AlHakam was lecturer of English at Isik University, Istanbul and holds a Masters in TESOL from the University of Aleppo. His fascination with Aleppo’s heritage started at the age of ten when his family renovated and moved to an Old Aleppo house.

Shaza Alsalmoni is the head of the International Law Support Unit at the Syrian Legal Development Programme. She holds an LLM in International Human Rights Law from the University of Exeter - UK and a Bachelor in Law from Damascus University – Syria. Shaza resides in London and has been working with NGOs for the past three years focusing on advocacy, research and legal consultation, she worked with the Equal Rights Trust, the British Institute for International and Comparative Law, Small Media Foundation among others. Her areas of interest include international human rights law, as well as international humanitarian law and international criminal law.

16.07
17.07
18.07
19.07
20.07
21.07
22.07
23.07
24.07
25.07
26.07
27.07
28.07
29.07
30.07
31.07
01.08
02.08
03.08
04.08
05.08
06.08
07.08
08.08
09.08
10.08
11.08
12.08
13.08
14.08
15.08
16.08
17.08
18.08
19.08
20.08
21.08
22.08
23.08
24.08
25.08
26.08
27.08
28.08
29.08
30.08
31.08
01.09
02.09
03.09
04.09
05.09
06.09
07.09
08.09
09.09
10.09
11.09
12.09
13.09
14.09
15.09
16.09
17.09
18.09
19.09
20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
04.10
05.10
06.10
07.10
08.10
09.10
10.10
11.10
12.10
13.10
14.10
15.10
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
08.11
09.11
10.11
11.11
12.11
13.11
14.11
15.11
16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Foto: Photononstop / Alamy Stock Foto

Mohammad Al Attar
Syria’s war economy and reconstruction
24.09.
Roter Salon

Diskurs
Englisch

Parallel zu seiner neuen Produktion The Factory empfängt der syrische Dramatiker Mohammad Al Attar Expert*innen, um u.a. die syrische Kriegswirtschaft und den Wiederaufbau des Landes – zentrale Themen des Stückes – zu diskutieren. Die Veranstaltung setzt sich kritisch mit den Aufrufen zum Wiederaufbau Syriens auseinander, die gegenwärtig hinter verschlossenen Türen vorangetrieben werden und innerhalb der zunehmend rechtsgerichteten Strömungen in Europa auf positive Resonanz stoßen – ganz konkret vor dem Hintergrund einer Umkehrung des Flüchtlingsstromes. Ebenfalls diskutiert wird die syrische Wirtschaft, am Beispiel des französischen Zementgiganten Lafarge und dessen Rechtsverstößen in der syrischen Niederlassung.

Nach kurzen Präsentationen der Expert*innen wird die Diskussion für das Publikum geöffnet, moderiert von Mohammad Al Attar.

Die Veranstaltung konzipierte Mohammad Al Attar im Rahmen eines von der Allianz Kulturstiftung vergebenen Fellowships im Programm „Weltoffenes Berlin“ der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Wer sowohl für The Factory als auch für Syria’s war economy and reconstruction ein Ticket erwirbt, der erhält das Ticket zur Diskussion im Roten Salon zum reduzierten Preis von 4 Euro.

Themen:

Claire Tixeire (Frankreich) stellt die Aktivitäten von Lafarge in Syrien vor und beleuchtet die Abkommen, die der Konzern mit verschiedenen Kriegsparteien geschlossen hat, um den Betrieb seiner Fabrik in Nordsyrien aufrechtzuerhalten. Weiterhin thematisiert sie die Bedeutung des Verfahrens der französischen Justiz gegen Lafarge als möglichen Präzedenzfall: Im Sinne der Bemühungen, multinationale Konzerne für ihre Zuwiderhandlungen in Konfliktgebieten zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen.

Shaza Alsalmoni (Syrien) referiert zur rechtlichen Grundlage, die jegliche Diskussion hinsichtlich des Wiederaufbaus in einem Nachkriegssyrien untermauern sollte, um eine Instrumentalisierung als Tauschobjekt und politische Erpressung auszuschließen. Umso relevanter wird dies vor dem Hintergrund, dass Russland andere Staaten zu Investitionen in Syrien aufruft, unter dem vermeintlichen Vorwand, eine Rückkehr für Geflüchtete zu vereinfachen.

AlHakam Shaar (Syrien) stellt die Initiative „The Aleppo Project” vor, die eine Vision des Wiederaufbaus von Aleppo entwickeln und die Narrative der Einwohner miteinbeziehen möchte, insbesondere jener, die vertrieben worden. Durch das Einbeziehen von Stimmen, die normalerweise aus dem Wiederaufbauprozess ausgeschlossen werden, möchte das Projekt eine Alternative zu ökonomischen und investitionsbezogenen Ansätzen des Wiederaufbaus entwickeln, welche von Politikern und Geschäftsallianzen vorangetrieben werden.

Biografien Expert*innen:

Claire Tixeire (Frankreich) ist Rechtsberaterin beim European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) in Berlin, einer Non-Profit-Organisation, die Menschenrechtsfälle prozessiert, in der mächtige Akteure zur Verantwortung gezogen werden. In den letzten zwei Jahren konzentrierte sie sich auf den Fall Lafarge, der in Frankreich gegen den gleichnamigen multinationalen Zementkonzern eingereicht wurde. Lafarge wird angeklagt, Straftaten in Syrien begangen zu haben. Von 2004 bis 2011 arbeitete Claire für das New Yorker Center for Constitutional Rights (CCR), um US-amerikanische Beamte für Folter im Zusammenhang mit dem sogenannten „Krieg gegen den Terror“ zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen. Damals leitete sie auch die Vertretung der International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH) vor der Vereinten Nationen in New York.

Shaza Alsalmoni (Syrien) ist Leiterin der Abteilung für internationale Rechtshilfe beim syrischen Rechtsentwicklungsprogramm. Sie machte einen LLM in Internationalem Menschenrechtsrecht an der Universität von Exeter (Vereinigtes Königreich) und den Bachelor in Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Damaskus (Syrien). Shaza lebt in London und arbeitet seit drei Jahren für Nichtregierungsorganisationen, wobei sie sich auf Interessenvertretung, Forschung und rechtliche Beratung konzentriert. Sie arbeitete unter anderem mit dem Equal Rights Trust, dem British Institute for International and Comparative Law, Small Media Foundation. Zu ihren Interessensgebieten gehören das internationale Menschenrecht sowie das humanitäre Völkerrecht und das internationale Strafrecht.

AlHakam Shaar (Syrien) ist Holbrooke Fellow für das Aleppo Project im Shattuck-Zentrum für Konflikt, Verhandlungen und Wiederaufbau an der Mitteleuropäischen Universität von Budapest. Seit seinem Eintritt in das Aleppo Project im Januar 2015 hat er mit Bewohnern von Aleppo aus allen Bereichen des Lebens zusammengearbeitet, darunter Stadtplaner, Experten für kulturelles Erbe und Akteure der Zivilgesellschaft. Gemeinsam mit Doktoranden der Public Policy untersuchte er Probleme, die das Nachkriegs-Aleppo betreffen. AlHakam war Dozent für Englisch an der Isik Universität in Istanbul und hat einen Master in TESOL von der Universität von Aleppo. Seine Faszination für Aleppos Erbe begann im Alter von zehn Jahren, als seine Familie ein historisches Haus in Aleppo renovierten und dort einzogen.

16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
08.11
09.11
10.11
11.11
12.11
13.11
14.11
15.11
16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx