VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Today Is Tomorrow
Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff
>> gruener.salon

Drama

Empathy is a fallen empire. RIP. No one could handle their nightly strolls bombarded by neighbourhood goldfinches screaming about pesticides and their demented children born from tissue-paper-thin eggs... I understand the jumpers and sleeping-pill swallowers. It was too much to listen to the family dog rattle on about his heartbreak from his balls being chopped off, his yearnings for a family of his own, his insecurities with his weight... more emotional labour to process... Oh yes, I understand Joan of Arc's last words to the judge: Light your fires.

Today Is Tomorrow follows a TV news channel and its anchors as they navigate the contested truths of this loud and absurd planet.

No entry after the play starts!

Cast

With: Lily McMenamy, Mia von Matt, Sir Henry, Ann Göbel, Preston Chaunsumlit

Choreography: Tarren Johnson
Music: Katrin Vellrath, Sir Henry
Stage and Costume Design: Nadja Sofie Eller, Calla Henkel, Max Pitegoff


Grüner Salon

In the current season, the Grüner Salon becomes the main character in a series of evenings organised by Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff. The bar has been doubled and costumed, turning the space into its own backdrop, where artists, writers and musicians present original performances and concerts that unfold in a loosely serial way.

The doors open one hour before the performance starts.

The Grüner Salon is ticketed only for plays and performances and remains open afterwards for ticket-holders and non-ticket-holders alike.

media

> Play II Pause
00:00
sound on sound off
00:

Past Activities

CONCORDE: Saturn Returns

Flight’s boarding. A voyage of discovery of sorts. A funny mix of people on board. A bit like a wedding: some old people, some new people, some artists I’d rather avoid. 'Scuse me … 'scuse me ... you don’t look like anyone famous at all. Please make your way to the exit. Oh hello, are you a skunk? Oh you're a DJ, aren’t you. O M Goya, Henry VIII is such a glutton quaffing on that champagne, slurring his words like Saturn devouring his sons. Oh and he has Elizabeth I and Sir Walter of Vapealot in tow. Can’t blame them all for skipping down the gangplank, that divorce is a M E S S. Oh looky, there’s some popstars. I’m sat back here with the great unwashed, some punks near me. They smell like death. Henry! Off with their 'eads! That one’s a real mind-detonator. It’s all getting very mad here in the mad room. Speaking of outrage, if this bloody plane doesn’t take off within the next ten minutes I’m gonna have to pop a zanny. Really, are they playing "Candle in the Wind"? A bit sinister before take off, innit?

CONCORDE: Saturn Returns is a redux of CONCORDE, which premiered at Kunstnernes Hus, Oslo, in October 2017. It charts the journey of the iconic supersonic jet as it hosts a crew of celebrities and art stars on the edge of the atmosphere. Georgia Gardner Gray's previous theatre pieces include Precious Provincials (Kunstverein in Hamburg, 2017) and Schaumstoffladen (Acud Macht Neu, 2016) and DD Mood (New Theater Berlin 2015).

Image: Enver Hadzijaj

Cast

With: Steven Warwick, Joseph Geagan, Max Pitegoff, Calla Henkel, Georgia Gardner Gray, Tara Khan, Michele Di Menna, Britta Thie

Script: Georgia Gardner Gray, Steven Warwick
Director: Georgia Gardner Gray

Grüner Abend: Möbelkammer

In the depths of the Volksbühne, between pianos, benches, lecterns, chairs, tables and sofas there has always has been and will always be music. Sometimes it's out of key, but that's not the point. Finding joy and pleasure in making music among coworkers has a long tradition here. There have been many evenings, many songs, many people, arguments, love, happiness, tears. Making music brings people together. Our non-professional band, playing with feeling under the beating pulse of the wheel that has not stopped turning.

Möbelkammer is Volksbühne's house band, named after its furniture storage room – a place where a lot of stuff is stowed away, some of it as old as the hills but some of it brand new. This is their first standalone public concert.

With: Eike Grögel, Anke Marschall, Fee Aviv Marschall, Antje Schulz, Yvonne Schulz, Sir Henry, Jan Wüstenberg

Concert: Lyra / Bendik Giske

In this intimate concert, saxophonist Bendik Giske and singer Lyra Pramuk will explore the raw expressive potential of their own voices as instruments, their instruments as voices. The evening will blend solo material with collaborative play, with works both acoustic and electronic, in a reverberating arc of experimental song and storytelling.


Bendik Giske photography by Florian Hetz
Lyra photography by Richie Shazam

Abonnement Lyrique No. I

abonnement lyrique no. I
- hector berliozzz -
is the first in a series of classical concerts in the Grüner Salon staged and organised by Michael Kleine. The programme begins with the classic duo set-up, featuring dramatic soprano Vera Maria Kremers and Roman Lemberg on the piano, and it focuses on the work of Hector Berlioz, as a representative of the extreme Romanticism of 19th-century France.

abonnement lyrique continues throughout the 2017/2018 season. Musicians come together in various combinations, and each evening explores a different genre, epoch, performance context or function of music, encompassing entertainment, religion, education or symbolising social prestige. The programme includes performances of Romantic chamber music, early Baroque madrigals accompanied by an Organo di legno, and sung liturgies from the late Middle Ages. All of the concerts in the series take place within a scenario and setting designed by Michael Kleine.

16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Today Is Tomorrow
Calla Henkel und Max Pitegoff
>> gruener.salon

Schauspiel

Empathie ist ein gestürztes Imperium. RIP. Niemand konnte mehr mit ihren nächtlichen Spaziergängen umgehen, bombardiert von den Goldfinken der Nachbarschaft, die einen anschreien mit ihren Geschichten über Pestizide und verrückte, aus hauchdünnen Eiern geschlüpfte Kinder... Ich verstehe die Hochhausspringer und die Schlafmittel-Schlucker. Es war zu viel, dem Familienhund zuzuhören, als er anfing, über seinen Herzschmerz wegen seiner abgehackten Hoden zu klagen, über seine Sehnsucht nach einer eigenen Familie, seine Unzufriedenheit mit seinem Gewicht ... als hätten wir nicht schon genug Emotionsarbeit... Oh ja, ich verstehe Jeanne d'Arcs letzte Worte an den Richter: Zündet eure Feuer an!

Today Is Tomorrow folgt einem TV-Nachrichtensender und seinen Moderatorinnen in dem Versuch, mit den umstrittenen Wahrheiten dieses lauten und absurden Planeten umzugehen.

KEIN NACHEINLASS!

Besetzung

Mit: Lily McMenamy, Mia von Matt, Sir Henry, Ann Göbel, Preston Chaunsumlit

Choreografie: Tarren Johnson
Musik: Katrin Vellrath, Sir Henry
Bühne, Kostüm: Nadja Sofie Eller, Calla Henkel, Max Pitegoff


Grüner Salon

Der Grüne Salon ist ein Ort des ständigen Wandelns, der für die Spielzeit 2017 / 18 von dem Künstlerduo Calla Henkel und Max Pitegoff programmiert wird. Die Spielzeit wird maßgeblich durch Theaterstücke von Henkel und Pitegoff strukturiert, die den Aufstieg und Zerfall einer Stadt skizzieren. Begleitend finden regelmäßig sogenannte Grüne Abende statt, die aus der Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern innerhalb und außerhalb der Volksbühne erwachsen und so ein spontaneres Arbeiten und einen direkten Bezug auf drängende Fragen erlauben. Aktuelle Informationen zum laufenden Programm sind auf gruener.salon verfügbar

Die Türen öffnen jeweils eine Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

Der Grüne Salon nimmt nur für seine Veranstaltungen Eintritt und bleibt anschließend für Gäste mit und ohne Ticket geöffnet.

Medien

> Play II Pause
00:00
Sound on Sound off
00:

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

CONCORDE: Saturn Returns

Einsteigen zum Abflug. Eine Art Entdeckungsreise. An Bord eine komische Mischung von Leuten. Ein bisschen wie bei einer Hochzeit: ein paar alte Leute, ein paar neue Leute, ein paar Künstler, die ich lieber meide. »Tschuldigung … Tschuldigung … Sie sehen nun gar nicht nach Prominenz aus. Bitte begeben Sie sich zum Ausgang. Oh, hallo, sind Sie ein Stinktier? Ach, Sie sind DJ, nicht wahr? O Mein Goya, Henry VIII. ist so ein Schlemmer, wie er diesen Champagner wegsäuft und seine Worte verschluckt gleich dem seine Kinder verschlingenden Saturn. Oh, er hat Elizabeth I. und Sir Walter von Vapealot im Schlepptau. Man kann nicht allen vorwerfen, dass sie die Passsagierbrücke herunterspringen, diese Scheidung ist ein FIASKO. Oh, kuckma, da sind ein paar Pop Stars. Ich sitze hier hinten mit den einfachen Leuten, in meiner Nähe sind sogar ein paar Punks. Die riechen nach dem Tod. Henry! Hau ihnen die Rübe ab! Der da ist ein echter Hirnsprenger. Es wird alles sehr irre hier in der Irrenkammer. Apropos Aufruhr, wenn dieser Scheißflieger in den nächsten Minuten nicht abhebt, werde ich 'nen Downer einwerfen müssen. Spielen die jetzt echt »Candle in the Wind«? Bisschen gruselig so kurz vor dem Start, hä?

CONCORDE: Saturn kehrt zurück ist eine Neuauflage von CONCORDE, das im Oktober 2017 im Kunstnernes Hus in Oslo uraufgeführt wurde. Das Stück schildert, wie der ikonische Überschalljet mit einem Haufen Prominenter und Kunststars an Bord am Atmosphärenrand entlangreist.

Bild: Enver Hadzijaj

Besetzung

Mit: Steven Warwick, Joseph Geagan, Max Pitegoff, Calla Henkel, Georgia Gardner Gray, Tara Khan, Michele Di Menna, Britta Thie

Text: Georgia Gardner Gray, Steven Warwick
Regie: Georgia Gardner Gray

Grüner Abend: Möbelkammer

In den Tiefen der Volksbühne, zwischen Klavieren, Bänken, Rednerpulten, Stühlen, Tischen, Teppichen und Sofas, gab und gibt es Musik. Die Töne sitzen nicht immer, aber darum geht es auch nicht. Der Spaß und die Freude am gemeinsamen Musizieren unter Kollegen, hat eine lange Geschichte. Es gab viele Abende, viele Lieder, viele Menschen, Streit, Liebe, Freude, Tränen. Musizieren verbindet. Laienhaft doch mit Herz und Seele unter dem Pulsschlag des Rades, welches sich immer noch bewegt.

Die Möbelkammer ist die Hausband der Volksbühne, benannt nach jenem Ort im Gebäude, an dem einiges aufbewahrt wird, was es schon immer gab oder doch ganz neu ist. Dies ist ihr erster öffentlicher Einzelauftritt.

Mit: Eike Grögel, Anke Marschall, Fee Aviv Marschall, Antje Schulz, Yvonne Schulz, Sir Henry, Jan Wüstenberg

Konzert: Lyra / Bendik Giske

In this intimate concert, saxophonist Bendik Giske and singer Lyra Pramuk will explore the raw expressive potential of their own voices as instruments, their instruments as voices. The evening will blend solo material with collaborative play, with works both acoustic and electronic, in a reverberating arc of experimental song and storytelling.


Bendik Giske photography by Florian Hetz
Lyra photography by Richie Shazam

Abonnement Lyrique No. I

abonnement lyrique no. I
- hector berliozzz -
ist der erste Abend in einer Konzertreihe klassischer Musik im Grünen Salon inszeniert und organisiert von Michael Kleine. Die Serie beginnt mit einem klassischen Duo - Dramatischer Sopran, Vera Maria Kremers und am Klavier, Roman Lemberg. Ihr Programm konzenxtriert sich auf Werke von Hector Berlioz - ein Vertreter der übersteigerten Romantik im Frankreich des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Die Reihe abonnement lyrique läuft über die gesamte Saison 2017/2018. Musiker kommen in ganz unterschiedlichen Besetzungen zusammen. Jeder Abend widmet sich einem anderen Genre, einer anderen Epoche, einem anderen Aufführungskontext, einer anderen Funktion von Musik - Unterhaltung, Religion, Lehre, Repräsentation... Auf dem Programm stehen u. a. romantische Kammermusik des 19. Jahrhunderts, frühbarocke Madrigale begleitet von einem Organo di legno, gesungene Liturgien des Spätmittelalters. Michael Kleine gestaltet für die Konzertreihe einen Raum und ein wiederkehrendes Szenario.

13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx