VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Yael Bartana
What if Women Ruled the World?

Drama, Visual arts
English

The end of the world is drawing near, it's two minutes before midnight. In the cabinet of a country with a pacifist constitution and a state disarmament programme, the president and her ministers face a dilemma. Another country is breaking a joint international agreement by announcing an increase in its nuclear stockpiles. Will they abandon their one-sided disarmament or continue with their original programme?

Inspired by Stanley Kubrick’s satire Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb(1964), Yael Bartana brings actresses together with different, internationally renowned experts for every performance. Intertwining fiction and serious political experiment, together they attempt to solve pressing global problems and keep the Doomsday Clock from reaching midnight. The piece is partly scripted, partly improvised.

In her films, installations, photographs and theatre projects, Yael Bartana, born in Afula, Israel in 1970 and now based in Berlin, explores the imagery of identity and the politics of memory. She garnered renown for her film trilogy And Europe Will Be Stunned, which represented Poland at the Venice Biennale in 2011.

Production: Volksbühne Berlin, Manchester International Festival, Aarhus, Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2017

No entry after the play starts.

http://whatifwomenruledtheworld.org/

Cast
President: Olwen Fouéré
Vice President: Anat Saragusti
Peace Secretary: Noa Bodner
Army Chief of Staff: Alix Wilton Regan
State Secretary: Anne Tismer

Experts (06.06.): Naila Bozo, Christina von Braun, Ulrike von Pilar, Irena Sabic, Mai Zeidani
Experts (07.06.): Antke Engel, Reem Fadda, Bana Gora, Xanthe Hall, Illa Ben-Porat

Concept, director: Yael Bartana
Text: Yael Bartana, Alex Barrett
Stage design: Saygel & Schreiber
Costumes: Nadja Eller, Chloe Lamford
Lighting: Felix Plüddemann
Camera: Uri Ackermann
Sound: Daniel Meir
Curator: Elodie Evers
Dramaturgical assistance: Alan Twitchell
Artistic producer: Chris Barrett

Naila Jajan Bozo
She is the editor of the Alliance for Kurdish Rights (www.kurdishrights.org), an independent digital initiative whose mission is to mobilize public opinion, collect information, and disseminate knowledge about human rights abuses against the Kurdish people. She is also a doctor of medicine at Odense University Hospital in Denmark.

Christina von Braun
She is a writer, filmmaker, and professor. She was promoted to full professor in 1994 at the Humboldt University’s Institute for Cultural History and Theory. For many years, she was director of the Department of Gender Studies, created in 1996, and is now co-director of The Center for Jewish Studies Berlin-Brandenburg, established in 2012. Beyond gender, her research fields comprise media theory, religious history, and the history of anti-Semitism.

Ulrike von Pilar
She is the founding president of Doctors Without Borders in Germany. For nearly thirty years, she has worked in the field of international humanitarian action. From 1997 to 2005 she served as the executive director of Doctors Without Borders in Germany. After coordinating the La Mancha reflection process, which dealt with the challenges facing Doctors Without Borders globally, she served as a country coordinator in Malawi for two years, where she worked on an HIV / AIDS project.

Irena Sabic
She is an established public legal practitioner with particular expertise in immigration and asylum, community care, and housing and planning law. She has focussed on representing vulnerable children and adults that have been subject to immigration policing and is regularly assigned cases in which she represents unaccompanied, asylum-seeking children and victims of human trafficking.

Mai Zeidani
She is a social scientist and activist based in Berlin. Her work explores postcolonial migration societies in Europe and the processes of identity-making in Palestine and Israel. She is a project officer with Insaan e.V., the co-host of Reboot.fm’s radio show, Talking Feminisms and an activist with the “Caravan of Migrants and Refugees”.

Antke Engel
She is the director of the Institute for Queer Theory in Berlin; a site where academic debate meets up with political activism and artistic practices (www.queer-institut.de). She received her PhD in Philosophy at Potsdam University and works as an independent scholar and guest professor. She has published numerous essays and monographs.

Reem Fadda
She is a curator and art historian. From 2010 to 2016, Fadda worked as the associate curator of Middle Eastern art for the Guggenheim Abu Dhabi Project of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation based in New York. From 2005 to 2007, Fadda was director of the Palestinian Association for Contemporary Art (PACA) and served as academic director for the International Academy of Art Palestine in Ramallah, which she helped found in 2006.

Bana Gora
She is the CEO of the Muslim Women’s Council, an organization established in 2009 to represent the views of Muslim women from across the UK. The Muslim Women’s Council plans to build the first women-led mosque in the UK. Gora has over twenty years of experience working in the charitable and not-for-profit sector and has worked directly with ethnically and religiously diverse communities as well as marginalized groups.

Xanthe Hall
She is the co-director, disarmament expert, and international campaigner for the German affiliate of the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW). She worked in the UK before leaving Britain in 1985 to move to Berlin. She manages the board of the German section of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN Germany), which won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2017 for their work on the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Dr. Illa Ben-Porat
She is a sociologist as well as a novelist and musician. She currently teaches at Kibbutzim College in Tel Aviv, Israel. Her studies deal with the relationship between nation states and the diasporic populations. Just as a homeland plays an active part in conceptualizing certain diasporic populations as belonging to it, so too does the diasporic population influence the national collective reshaping its character.


press voices

“A conceptually and visually striking production that feels urgent (...)" - The New York Times

Adam J. Goldmann, 24.05.18

media

> Play II Pause
00:00
sound on sound off
00:

Photo: Birgit Kaulfuss

Photo: Birgit Kaulfuss

Photo: Birgit Kaulfuss

Photo: Birgit Kaulfuss

> Play II Pause
00:00
sound on sound off
00:
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
08.11
09.11
10.11
11.11
12.11
13.11
14.11
15.11
16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Yael Bartana
What if Women Ruled the World?

Schauspiel, Bildende Kunst
Englisch

Der Weltuntergang naht, es ist zwei Minuten vor Mitternacht. In dem Kabinett eines Landes mit einer pazifistischen Verfassung und einem staatlichen Abrüstungsprogramm stehen die Präsidentin und ihre Ministerinnen vor einem Dilemma. Ein anderes Land bricht ein gemeinsames, internationales Abkommen, indem es die Aufstockung seiner Nuklearlager ankündigt. Werden sie ihre einseitige Entwaffnung aufgeben oder ihr ursprüngliches Programm fortsetzen?

Inspiriert von Stanley Kubricks Satire Dr. Seltsam oder: Wie ich lernte die Bombe zu lieben (1964) lässt Yael Bartana in jeder Vorstellung unterschiedliche, international renommierte Expertinnen und Aktivistinnen auf Schauspielerinnen treffen. In einer Verflechtung aus Fiktion und Realität, Satire und ernsthaftem Politikexperiment versuchen sie gemeinsam eines der drängendsten Probleme unserer Zeit zu lösen. Und zu verhindern, dass die Weltuntergangsuhr Mitternacht schlägt. Das Stück ist teils gescriptet, teils improvisiert.

In ihren Filmen, Installationen, Fotografien und Theaterprojekten erforscht die 1970 in Afula in Israel geborene und in Berlin lebende Yael Bartana die Bildsprache der Identität und die Politik der Erinnerung. Bekannt wurde sie mit ihrer Filmtrilogie And Europe Will Be Stunned (Und Europa wird sprachlos sein) für den polnischen Pavillon auf der Biennale Venedig 2011.

Kein Nacheinlass.

Produktion: Volksbühne Berlin, Manchester International Festival, Aarhus, Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2017

http://whatifwomenruledtheworld.org/

Besetzung
Präsidentin: Olwen Fouéré
Vize-Präsidentin: Anat Saragusti
Friedensministerin: Noa Bodner
Generalstabschefin: Alix Wilton Regan
Außenministerin: Anne Tismer

Expertinnen (06.06.): Naila Bozo, Christina von Braun, Ulrike von Pilar, Irena Sabic, Mai Zeidani
Expertinnen (07.06.): Antke Engel, Reem Fadda, Bana Gora, Xanthe Hall, Illa Ben-Porat

Konzept, Regie: Yael Bartana
Text: Yael Bartana, Alex Barrett
Bühne: Saygel & Schreiber
Kostüme: Nadja Eller, Chloe Lamford
Licht: Felix Plüddemann
Kamera: Uri Ackermann
Ton: Daniel Meir
Kuratorin: Elodie Evers
Dramaturgische Mitarbeit: Alan Twitchell
Künstlerische Produktionsleitung: Chris Barrett

Naila Jajan Bozo
Sie ist Herausgeberin der Alliance for Kurdish Rights (www.kurdishrights.org). Die unabhängige, digitale Initiative hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die öffentliche Meinung zu mobilisieren, Informationen über Menschenrechtsverletzungen gegen Kurd*innen zu sammeln und Wissen darüber zu verbreiten. Zudem ist Bozo Doktorin der Medizin am Universitätsklinikum Odense in Dänemark.

Christina von Braun
Sie ist Autorin, Filmemacherin und Professorin. 1994 wurde sie als Professorin an das Institut für Kulturwissenschaft der Humboldt-Universität berufen. Sie veröffentlichte über fünfzig Filme und zahlreiche Bücher. Viele Jahre war sie Leiterin des 1996 gegründeten Studiengangs Gender Studies. Heute ist sie Ko-Direktorin des 2012 geschaffenen Kollegiums Jüdische Studien in Berlin-Brandenburg. Neben Gender forscht sie zu Medientheorie, Religionsgeschichte und Geschichte des Antisemitismus.

Ulrike von Pilar
Sie ist Gründungspräsidentin der deutschen Sektion von Ärzte ohne Grenzen. Seit fast 30 Jahren ist sie im internationalen humanitären Einsatz. Von 1997 bis 2005 war sie geschäftsführende Direktorin der deutschen Sektion von Ärzte ohne Grenzen. Nach der Koordinierung des La Mancha Reflexionsprozesses über die globalen Herausforderungen von Ärzte ohne Grenzen war sie zwei Jahre als Landeskoordinatorin in Malawi in einem HIV / AIDS-Projekt tätig.

Irena Sabic
Sie ist niedergelassene Expertin für Öffentliches Recht mit den Schwerpunkten Immigration und Asyl, „Community Care“ sowie Wohnungsund Planungsrecht. In den vergangenen Jahren hat sie sich auf die Vertretung von gefährdeten Kindern und Erwachsenen, die von Einwanderungskontrolle betroffen sind, spezialisiert. Sie vertritt regelmäßig unbegleitete asylsuchende Kinder und Opfer von Menschenhandel.

Mai Zeidani
Sie ist eine in Berlin lebende Sozialwissenschaftlerin und Aktivistin. In ihrer Arbeit erforscht sie postkoloniale Migrationsgesellschaften in Europa und die Prozesse der Identitätsbildung in Palästina und Israel. Sie ist Projektkoordinatorin bei Insaan e.V., Ko-Moderatorin der Radiosendung Talking Feminisms auf Reboot.fm und Aktivistin der „Karawane für die Rechte der Migrant*innen und Flüchtlinge“.

Antke Engel
Sie ist Leiterin und Gründerin des Instituts für Queer Theory in Berlin (www.queer-institut.de), das seit 2006 Projekte initiiert, in denen sich akademische und aktivistische, philosophische, politische und künstlerische Praxen verflechten. Sie erhielt ihren Doktor in Philosophie an der Universität Potsdam, arbeitet als unabhängige Wissenschaftlerin und Gastprofessorin und hat zahlreiche Essays und Monografien veröffentlicht.

Reem Fadda
Sie ist Kuratorin und Kunsthistorikerin. Von 2010 bis 2016 betreute sie als Kuratorin für Kunst des Mittleren Ostens das Guggenheim Abu Dhabi Projekt im Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York. Von 2005 bis 2007 war Reem Fadda Leiterin der Palestinian Association for Contemporary Art (PACA) und Akademische Leiterin der International Academy of Art Palestine in Ramallah, die sie 2006 mitgründete.

Bana Gora
Sie ist geschäftsführende Leiterin des Muslim Women’s Council, einer 2009 gegründeten Organisation, die die Ansichten muslimischer Frauen in Großbritannien repräsentiert. Der Muslim Women’s Council plant den Bau der ersten von Frauen geführten britischen Moschee. Bana Gora hat zwanzig Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich karitativer Arbeit und arbeitet direkt mit ethnisch und religiös diversen Gemeinden sowie marginalisierten Gruppen zusammen.

Xanthe Hall
Sie ist Geschäftsstellenleiterin, Abrüstungsexpertin und internationale Campaignerin der deutschen Sektion von Internationale Ärzte für die Verhütung des Atomkrieges (IPPNW Deutschland). Sie arbeitete in Großbritannien, bevor sie 1985 nach Berlin auswanderte. Hall ist Vorstandsmitglied der deutschen Sektion der Internationalen Kampagne zur Abschaffung von Atomwaffen (ICAN Deutschland), die 2017 für ihre Arbeit am Atomwaffenverbotsvertrag den Friedensnobelpreis erhielt.

Dr. Illa Ben-Porat
Sie ist Soziologin, Romanautorin und Musikerin. Derzeit unterrichtet sie am Kibbutzim College in Tel Aviv, Israel. Ihre Forschung befasst sich mit der Beziehung zwischen Nationalstaaten und ihren in der Diaspora lebenden Bevölkerungsgruppen. Sie vertritt die These, dass nicht nur Heimatländer, sondern auch die in der Diaspora lebenden Menschen zur Konzeptualisierung nationaler Kollektive maßgeblich beitragen und deren Charakter formen.


Pressestimmen

„A conceptually and visually striking production that feels urgent (...)" - The New York Times

Adam J. Goldmann, 24.05.18

Medien

> Play II Pause
00:00
Sound on Sound off
00:

Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss

Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss

Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss

Foto: Birgit Kaulfuss

> Play II Pause
00:00
Sound on Sound off
00:
20.07
21.07
22.07
23.07
24.07
25.07
26.07
27.07
28.07
29.07
30.07
31.07
01.08
02.08
03.08
04.08
05.08
06.08
07.08
08.08
09.08
10.08
11.08
12.08
13.08
14.08
15.08
16.08
17.08
18.08
19.08
20.08
21.08
22.08
23.08
24.08
25.08
26.08
27.08
28.08
29.08
30.08
31.08
01.09
02.09
03.09
04.09
05.09
06.09
07.09
08.09
09.09
10.09
11.09
12.09
13.09
14.09
15.09
16.09
17.09
18.09
19.09
20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx