VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Armen Avanessian & Enemies #15: Death Karaoke
05.03

Discourse
English

With Monira Al Qadiri & Raed Yassin

Living in times of global uncertainty and shifting realities, the project aims to create an accompaniment to the age of shared melancholia. Sifting through the relationship of sadness and the city, destruction and nomadism, Monira Al Qadiri and Raed Yassin create a performance in which ancient lamentation hymns are transmitted through a Karaoke machine. Darkness, ominous voices, jolts of pain and screams, and a general sense of morose: it promises to be a cathartic evening.

For the gods have abandoned us

Like migrating birds they have gone

Ur is destroyed, bitter is its lament

The country's blood now fills its holes like hot bronze in a mould

Bodies dissolve like fat in the sun. Our temple is destroyed

Smoke lies on our city like a shroud.

Blood flows as the river does

The lamenting of men and women

Sadness abounds

Ur is no more

Lament for Ur, c. 2000 BC (Mesopotamia)

Monira Al Qadiri is a Kuwaiti visual artist born in Dakar, Senegal and educated in Japan. In 2010, she received a Ph.D. in inter-media art from Tokyo University of the Arts, where her research was focused on the aesthetics of sadness in the Middle-East stemming from poetry, music, art and religious practices. Her work explores unconventional gender identities, petro-cultures and their possible futures, as well as the legacies of corruption. She is also part of the artist collective GCC.

Raed Yassin (born 1979, Beirut) lives and works in Beirut. He graduated from the Theatre Department of the Institute of Fine Arts in Beirut in 2003, and in 2015 he was awarded a research fellowship at the Akademie der Künste der Welt in Cologne. An artist and musician, Yassin's work often originates from an examination of his personal narratives and their position within a collective history, through the lens of consumer culture and mass production. One of the organisers of Irtijal Festival - Beirut's experimental contemporary music festival - Yassin has released several music albums and founded the production company Annihaya in 2009. He is also a founding member of Atfal Ahdath, a Beirut-based art collective.


Past Activities

14.02: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #10: Disrupt Democracy: School of Disobedience Nr.2

After their successful launch at the beginning of the Roter Salon's event series, the hybrid word-and-deed-collective Disrupt Democracy's second political workshop addresses another current topic for discussion: How does resistance work in the early 21st century? What's legal? What's illegal? What parliamentary and extra-parliamentary alliances exist?

13.02: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #9: Der Zerfall der Demokratie: Buchpräsentation Yascha Mounk

Populism is threatening the rule of law, according to Harvard University political scientist Yasha Mounk's latest book, The People vs. Democracy: Why Our Freedom Is in Danger and How to Save It (German edition title: Der Zerfall der Demokratie). In a conversation with Georg Diez, he explains why liberal democracies – ranging from Germany to the United States – find themselves in existential danger today, and points out what we can all do to curb this alarming development.

01.02: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #8: Start Worrying, Details to Follow: Podcast-Gespräch mit Carlo Strenger (Special Guest: Igor Levit)

With Karin Pettersson and Georg Diez. Guest: Carlo Strenger; Special Guest: Igor Levit

What new ideas could shape democracy in the 21st century? What are the possibilities for freedom and solidarity in the time of digital capitalism? Who will tame the power of the internet giants? These are some of the questions that Karin Pettersson (Aftonbladet) and Georg Diez (Der Spiegel) are addressing in their Start Worrying, Details to Follow podcast. Recorded live in Berlin for the first time.

22.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #7: THE AGENCY + Leif Randt Rendezvous

Love me, love me, say that you love me.

Fool me, fool me, go on and fool me.

Love me, love me, say that you love me.

Fool me, fool me, go on and fool me.

THE AGENCY invites you to a rendezvous in the Roter Salon: For this one evening only, there will be perfect romantic moments: meaningful glances, a casual touch from time to time, sizzling encounters at the bar or even dinner by candlelight ... Spectators can sign themselves up for scripts of romantic love, forget their traditional partnership profile, and just enjoy the fake.

THE AGENCY deals with the production of emotions with scripts, images and narratives - and now it's romance's turn. It's gonna be perversion.

15.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #6: Institutional Recalibration: As above, So below

The future of cultural infrastructures is the critical site of intervention, shaping not only the future of culturalproduction but also the manner in which culture is to interweave with and affect other societal processes.

In English with Antonia Alampi, Victoria Ivanova, Harm van den Dorpel, Mathew Dryhurst, Emer Grant u.a.

13.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #5: Erfahrungswissen

We're used to separating knowledge from experience. In the academic sphere in particular, there's a tendency to believe that knowledge is generated by deduction from (pre-existing) knowledge. But it's more complicated than that. An experience implies not only gaining but also losing knowledge. Only those who are willing to give up knowledge, in favour of gaining other bits of wisdom and forms of knowing, can truly have an experience in the emphatic sense. From this kind of experience, according to Michel Foucault, we emerge changed. In theatre, in art, but also in academia, there are opportunities to open up unknown forms of philosophical knowledge production. Philosophy is not limited to universities.

10.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #4: 1948, 1957, 1967, 1969, 1973, 1979, 1980 & 1981, 1989, 2007

What do we include (and what do we leave out) when we discuss the importance and historical significance of specific years and celebrate anniversaries? Which years have shaped our present day? An evening about 1948, 1957, 1967, 1969, 1973, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1989, 2007, among others, for all those who want to arm themselves – just in time – for the coming celebrations of the 50th anniversary of 1968. Spontaneous contributions from the audience are more than encouraged.

An evening with Armen Avanessian as well as Bernd Scherer, Anke Hennig, Ludwig Engel, Joanna Kamm, Georg Diez, Christopher Roth et al

04.12: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #3: Discussion with Quentin Meillassoux

Quentin Meillassoux and Armen Avanessian discuss ontology, metaphysics as well as speculative poetics and materialism.

28.11: School of Disobedience 1: New Energies - An Evening from and with Disrupt Democracy

100 companies are responsible for 71% of industrial greenhouse gas emissions. Can these companies be reformed? Or are other, harsher measures required? And what would they be?

These questions are at the heart of this political-participatory workshop: How can we execute, with these companies, the radical switch from labour productivity to resource efficiency across the entire economy? How can we change business models, redirect flows of goods and energy, and use them holistically? Or is there no time left for a reformist approach?

In this workshop, experts will pose the following questions and then discuss them in small groups: How can the largest greenhouse gas emitters be made legally responsible for their effects, how can financial pressure be exerted? How can pressure from consumers and shareholders be organised? But this is just the beginning. It's all about agency, about reclaiming the ability to act. During this evening and in general.

When we look into the future, a central question arises: How will we find new forms for intervention? We take a look at climate activists' radical and unconventional approaches, as well as NGOs' conventional and reformist approaches, which have sought an exit from fossil fuel economic cycles by collaborating with corporations. At the end of the evening, one document, a common plan, will be issued. Alternatives to the current energy regime must be found. And for each individual, the question still remains: reform or resist?

Disrupt Democracy is a 21st-century hybrid knowledge organisation, decentralised, digital, activist, academic, curious, open, political, participatory, a network of people searching after ideas for a good life, a just life, for all.

With (among others):

Roda Verheyen, lawyer, represented Peruvian farmer Saúl Luciano Lliuya against the German energy corporation RWE. For over 20 years she has worked on the question of how companies can be made legally responsible for their complicity in climate change.

11.11: Culture in the Era of Global System Failure: A Boardgame with Paul Mason

What happens when the global systems that we once thought permanent break down? And what does it mean for cultural production in the 21st Century? Paul Mason, author of Postcapitalism: A Guide to Our Future (2015), presents a simulation of global system failure and invites participants to consider the consequences. To discuss what global system failure will mean for artists, theatremakers, and the art forms that are likely to emerge, Paul will be joined by Sam Williams and Armen Avanessian. The evening will conclude with an open platform for the free exchange of ideas.

In English

Tickets

05.03.18, 20:00
Roter Salon
> tickets

media

> Play II Pause
00:00
sound on sound off
00:
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Armen Avanessian & Enemies #15: Death Karaoke
05.03

Diskurs
Englisch

Mit Monira Al Qadiri & Raed Yassin

In Zeiten globaler Unsicherheit und sich ständig ändernder Realitäten zielt dieses Projekt darauf ab, als Begleiter des Zeitalters der gemeinsamen Melancholie zu funktionieren. Durch die Auseinandersetzung mit der Beziehung zwischen Traurigkeit und der Stadt, Zerstörung und Nomadentum haben Monira Al Qadiri und Raed Yassin eine Performance kreiert, die antike Hymnen mit einer Karaoke Maschine wiedergibt: Dunkelheit, ominöse Stimmen, Schmerzen und Schreie und eine insgesamt mürrische Stimmung. Es verspricht ein kathartischer Abend zu werden.

"For the gods have abandoned us

Like migrating birds they have gone

Ur is destroyed, bitter is its lament

The country's blood now fills its holes like hot bronze in a mould

Bodies dissolve like fat in the sun. Our temple is destroyed

Smoke lies on our city like a shroud.

Blood flows as the river does

The lamenting of men and women

Sadness abounds

Ur is no more”

Lament for Ur, c. 2000 BC (Mesopotamia)

Monira Al Qadiri ist eine kuwaitische bildende Künstlerin, die in Dakar, Senegal geboren wurde und ihre Ausbildung in Japan absolvierte. In 2010 promovierte sie in intermedialer Kunst an der Kunsthochschule in Tokio, wo sie ihren Fokus auf die Ästhetik der Traurigkeit in der Poesie, Musik, Kunst und Glaubenspraxis des Nahen Osten legte. Ihre Arbeit untersucht unkonventionelle Genderidentitäten, Petro-Kulturen und ihre mögliche Zukunft, sowie das Vermächtnis der Korruption. Sie gehört ebenfalls dem Künstlerkollektiv GCC an.

Raed Yassin (geboren 1979, Beirut) lebt und arbeitet in Beirut. Dort machte er 2003 seinen Abschluss in der Theaterabteilung der Kunstakademie. 2015 erhielt Yassin ein Forschungsstipendium von der Akademie der Künste in Köln. Als Künstler und Musiker stammen Yassins Arbeiten oft aus der Untersuchung seiner persönlichen Geschichte und ihrem Verhältnis zur kollektiven Geschichte durch die Linse der Konsumkultur und Massenproduktion. Als einer der Organisatoren des Irtijal Festivals, eines experimentellen, zeitgenössischen Musikfestivals in Beirut, hat er mehrere Alben veröffentlicht und gründete 2009 die Produktionsfirma Annihaya. Er ist ebenfalls einer der Gründer des Beiruter Kunstkollektivs Atfal Ahdath.


Vergangene Veranstaltungen

14.02: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #10: Disrupt Democracy: School of Disobedience Nr.2

Nach dem erfolgreichen Auftakt zu Beginn der Veranstaltungsserie im Roten Salon behandelt der zweite politische Workshop des hybriden Wort-und-Tat-Kollektivs Disrupt Democracy ein weiteres aktuelles Thema der Gegenwartsdiskussion. Wie geht Widerstand im frühen 21. Jahrhundert? Was ist legal? Was ist illegal? Was sind die parlamentarischen und außerparlamentarischen Allianzen?

13.02: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #9: Der Zerfall der Demokratie: Buchpräsentation Yascha Mounk

Der Populismus bedroht den Rechtsstaat, sagt Yascha Mounk, Politologe an der Harvard University, in seinem aktuellen Buch „Der Zerfall der Demokratie“. Im Gespräch mit Georg Diez erklärt er, warum liberale Demokratien von Deutschland bis in die Vereinigten Staaten heute in existenzieller Gefahr schweben – und zeigt auf, was wir alle tun können, um dieser alarmierenden Entwicklung Einhalt zu gebieten.

01.02: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #8: Start Worrying, Details to Follow: Podcast-Gespräch mit Carlo Strenger (Special Guest: Igor Levit)

Mit Karin Pettersson und Georg Diez. Gast: Carlo Strenger; Special Guest: Igor Levit

Was sind die neuen Ideen für die Demokratie im 21. Jahrhundert? Was sind die Möglichkeiten für Freiheit und Solidarität im digitalen Kapitalismus? Wer zähmt die Macht der Internet-Giganten? Das sind einige der Fragen, mit denen sich Karin Pettersson (Aftonbladet) und Georg Diez (Der Spiegel) in ihrem Podcast Start Worrying, Details to Follow beschäftigen.

22.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #7: THE AGENCY + Leif Randt Rendezvous

Love me, love me, say that you love me.

Fool me, fool me, go on and fool me.

Love me, love me, say that you love me.

Fool me, fool me, go on and fool me.

THE AGENCY lädt zum Rendezvous in den Roten Salon: Für diesen einen Abend gibt es perfekte romantische Momente: vielsagende Blicke, die ein oder andere zufällige Berührung, aufgeladene Begegnungen an der Bar oder sogar ein Candle Light Dinner… Den Zuschauer*innen wird es möglich sein, sich in Skripte romantischer Liebe einzuschreiben, ihr herkömmliches Partnerschaftsprofil zu vergessen und einfach den Fake zu genießen.

THE AGENCY beschäftigt sich mit der Produktion von Emotionen anhand von Skripten, Bildern und Narrativen - jetzt ist die Romantik dran. It´s gonna be perversion.

15.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #6: Institutional Recalibration: As above, So below

Die Zukunft der kulturellen Infrastruktur dient als kritische Plattform für Intervention, um nicht nur die Zukunft kultureller Produktionen zu formen, sondern auch die Art und Weise, wie Kultur mit anderen Sozialprozessen interagiert.

Auf Englisch mit: Antonia Alampi, Victoria Ivanova, Harm van den Dorpel, Mathew Dryhurst, Emer Grant u.a.

13.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #5: Erfahrungswissen

Man hat sich daran gewöhnt, Wissen von Erfahrung zu trennen. Vor allem in der akademischen Sphäre gibt es die Tendenz zu glauben, dass Wissen sich durch Ableitung aus (bestehendem) Wissen generiere. Es ist wohl komplizierter. Eine Erfahrung impliziert nicht nur Zugewinn an Wissen, sondern auch Wissensverlust. Nur wer bereit ist, Wissen zugunsten anderen Wissens und neuer Wissensformen aufzugeben, macht eine Erfahrung im emphatischen Sinn. Aus ihr geht man, so Michel Foucault, verändert hervor. Am Theater, in der Kunst, aber auch in den Wissenschaften gibt es die Chance, sich unbekannten Formen philosophischer Wissenproduktion zu öffnen. Philosophie ist nicht auf den universitären Raum beschränkt.

10.01: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #4: 1948, 1957, 1967, 1969, 1973, 1979, 1980 & 1981, 1989, 2007

Worüber reden wir (und worüber nicht), wenn wir über die Wichtigkeit und Geschichtsmächtigkeit einzelner Jahre reden und runde Jubiläen feiern? Und welche Jahre haben eigentlich unsere Gegenwart geprägt? Ein Abend über u.a. 1948, 1957, 1967, 1969, 1973, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1989, 2007 für alle, die sich – gerade noch rechtzeitig – für die historischen Feierlichkeiten zu 1968 wappnen wollen. Um spontane Beiträge aus dem Publikum wird dringend gebeten.

Ein Abend von und mit Armen Avanessian sowie Bernd Scherer, Anke Hennig, Ludwig Engel, Joanna Kamm, Georg Diez, Christopher Roth u. a.

04.12: Armen Avanessian & Enemies #3: Gespräch mit Quentin Meillassoux

Quentin Meillassoux und Armen Avanessian sprechen über Ontologie, Metaphysik sowie Spekulative Poetik und Materialismus.

28.11: School of Disobedience 1: Neue Energien – Ein Abend von und mit Disrupt Democracy

100 Unternehmen sind für 71% der industriellen Treibhausgas-Emissionen verantwortlich. Können wir diese Unternehmen reformieren? Oder sind andere, härtere Maßnahmen notwendig? Und welche wären das? Das ist das Thema dieses Abends, ein politisch-partizipatorischer Workshop: Wie können wir mit den Unternehmen ein radikales Umlenken von Arbeits- auf Ressourcen-Produktivität der gesamten Wirtschaft vollziehen? Wie können wir Geschäftsmodelle verändern, Waren- und Energieflüsse umlenken und ganzheitlich nutzen? Oder bleibt uns keine Zeit für einen reformistischen Ansatz?
Experten stellen diese Fragen und werden sie in kleinen Gruppen diskutieren: Wie können die größten Treibhausgas-Emittenten rechtlich verantwortlich gemacht werden, wie kann finanzieller Druck ausgeübt werden? Wie kann Druck durch Konsumenten und Anteilseigner organisiert werden? Aber das ist nur der Anfang. Es geht um Agency, es geht darum,die Fähigkeit zu handeln zurückzugewinnen. An diesem Abend und überhaupt.

Wenn wir in die Zukunft schauen, stellt sich dabei eine zentrale Frage: Wie können neue Formen der Intervention gefunden werden? Wir blicken auf radikale und unkonventionelle Ansätze von Klimaaktivisten genauso wie konventionelle und reformistische Ansätze von NGOs, die partnerschaftlich mit Konzernen einen Ausstieg aus fossilen Wirtschaftskreisläufen gesucht haben. Am Ende wird ein gemeinsames Dokument, ein gemeinsamer Plan stehen. Es geht um Alternativen zum gegenwärtigen Energie-Regime. Und die Frage bleibt, für jeden Einzelnen: Reform oder Resistance?

Disrupt Democracy ist eine hybride Wissensorganisation des 21. Jahrhunderts, dezentral, digital, aktivistisch, akademisch, neugierig, offen, politisch, partizipatorisch, ein Netzwerk von Menschen auf der Suche nach Ideen für das gute Leben, das gerechte Leben, für alle.

Mit (u.a.):

Roda Verheyen , Rechtsanwältin, hat den peruanischen Bauern Saúl Luciano Lliuya gegen den deutschen Energiegroßkonzern RWE vertreten. Sie arbeitet seit 20 Jahren darüber, wie Unternehmen für ihre Mitschuld am Klimawandel juristisch zu belangen sind.

11.11: Kultur in der Ära des Zusammenbruchs der Globalen Systeme: Ein Brettspiel mit Paul Mason

Was passiert, wenn globale Systeme, die wir einst für dauerhaft hielten, zusammenbrechen? Und was bedeutet dieser Zusammenbruch für kulturelle Produktionen? Paul Mason, Autor von Postcapitalism: A Guide to Our Future (2015), präsentiert eine Simulation von eben dieser Situation und lädt Zuschauer ein, die Konsequenzen zu betrachten. Sam Williams und Armen Avanessian diskutieren mit Paul, was der Kollapse von globalen Systemen für Künstler und Theatermacher bedeutet und welche anderen Kunstformen hierdurch zustande kommen können. Der Abend mündet in einem offenen Ideenaustausch.

Auf Englisch

Tickets

05.03.18, 20:00
Roter Salon
> Tickets

Medien

> Play II Pause
00:00
Sound on Sound off
00:
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx