VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Tim Etchells, Marino Formenti
Left to Tell
17./18.02.18
3.Stock

Drama, Performance, Concert
English

Tim Etchells, author, director, performer and founder of Forced Entertainment, and pianist Marino Formenti, both known for their improvisational treatment of performance forms, will present their first joint project, Left to Tell, on 15, 17 and 18 February 2018 in different formats. A work commissioned by the Volksbühne Berlin, this performance can be experienced on three days in six hour, three minute, 12 minute, one hour and nine-hour versions, with and without an audience, live on stage and online.

In Left to Tell, Tim Etchells (concept, lyrics, performance) and Marino Formenti (music) respond together to various motifs from Beckett’s oeuvre and compositions by Morton Feldman. A special role is played by Beckett’s German Diaries, written during a journey through Germany that he began in September 1936. Left to Tell is about moments of isolation and contact, and the perception and experience of time. It creates a juxtaposition of language, images and sounds: fragments from Beckett's work in dialogue with Tim Etchells’ original texts and Marino Formenti's minimalist musical gestures, which amplify, interrupt and occasionally cancel each other out.

Left to Tell I
Thursday, 15.02., 6 pm-midnight
Online premiere on Volksbühne Fullscreen
In a six-hour performance for internet only, Tim Etchells and Marino Formenti improvise together in the space as remote-controlled cameras bring the work to an online audience.
> Go to the Fullscreen event

Left to Tell II
Saturday, 17.02., 8-10pm
Live performance in the Dritter Stock + livestream on Volksbühne Fullscreen
Improvised performances of 3, 12 and 60 minutes of Left to Tell in front of a live audience on the 3. Stock stage and broadcast on Volksbühne Fullscreen. For this performance, tickets are available for advance purchase. Latecomers will not be allowed to enter. A public discussion with both artists will follow the performance, beginning after 10 pm in the Roter Salon.

Left to Tell III
Sunday, 18.02., noon-9 pm
Live performance in the Dritter Stock + livestream on Volksbühne Fullscreen
Tim Etchells and Marino Formenti perform Left to Tell as a 9-hour improvised performance for a maximum of 60 spectators live in the 3. Stock. Audience can arrive, depart and return at any time. The event will last from noon to 9 pm and is open admission, tickets can only be purchased at the box office on the day.

Commissioned by Volksbühne Berlin

Interview of Volksbühne dramaturge Alan Twitchell
with Tim Etchells and Marino Formenti
> News

Cast

media

Photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Photo: Eugene Michelangeli

Photo: Jerry Bauer

20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Left to Tell
Tim Etchells, Marino Formenti
17./18.02.18
3. Stock

Schauspiel, Performance, Konzert
In englischer Sprache

Tim Etchells, Autor, Regisseur, Performer und Gründer von Forced Entertainment, und der Pianist Marino Formenti, die für ihren improvisatorischen Umgang mit Aufführungsformen bekannt sind, präsentieren am 15., 17. und 18. Februar 2018 in unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen ihr erstes gemeinsames Projekt Left to Tell, eine Auftragsarbeit der Volksbühne Berlin. Die Performance ist an drei Tagen als sechsstündige, drei- und zwölfminütige, einstündige sowie neunstündige Version, mit und ohne Publikum, live auf der Bühne und online zu erleben.

In Left to Tell reagieren Tim Etchells (Konzept, Text, Performance) und Marino Formenti (Musik) gemeinsam auf verschiedene Motive aus dem Werk von Samuel Beckett und den Kompositionen von Morton Feldman. Eine besondere Rolle spielen dabei die German Diaries – Die Deutschen Tagebücher Becketts, der im September 1936 zu einer Reise durch Deutschland aufbrach. Left to Tell handelt von Momenten der Isolation und des Kontakts und von der Wahrnehmung und Erfahrung von Zeit. Sie erzeugt ein Nebeneinander von Sprache, Bild und Sound: Fragmente aus Becketts Werk im Dialog mit Originaltexten von Tim Etchells und Marino Formentis minimalistischen musikalischen Gesten, die sich unterstreichen, unterbrechen und gelegentlich auslöschen.

Left to Tell I
Donnerstag, 15.02., 18–24 Uhr
Online-Premiere auf Volksbühne Fullscreen
In einer sechsstündigen Performance, die nur auf Fullscreen übertragen wird, improvisieren Tim Etchells und Marino Formenti gemeinsam, während ferngesteuerte Kameras ihre Arbeit für das Online-Publikum aufzeichnen.
> Zur Fullscreen-Veranstaltung hier

Left to Tell II
Samstag, 17.02., 20–22 Uhr
Live Performance im 3. Stock + Livestream auf Volksbühne Fullscreen
Improvisierte Aufführungen von je 3, 12 und 60 Minuten von Left to Tell vor Live-Publikum auf der Bühne im 3. Stock sowie als Übertragung auf Volksbühne Fullscreen. Für diese Aufführung sind Tickets im Vorverkauf erhältlich. Es gibt keinen Nacheinlass. Im Anschluss findet ab 22 Uhr im Roten Salon ein Publikumsgespräch mit beiden Künstlern statt.

Left to Tell III
Sonntag, 18.02., 12–21 Uhr
Live Performance im 3. Stock + Livestream auf Volksbühne Fullscreen
Tim Etchells und Marino Formenti führen Left to Tell als 9-stündige improvisierte Performance für maximal 60 Zuschauer auf der Bühne im 3. Stock auf. Die Veranstaltung hat zwischen 12 und 21 Uhr offenen Einlass, Zuschauer können jederzeit kommen und gehen. Karten können nur an der Tageskasse erworben werden.

Eine Auftragsarbeit der Volksbühne Berlin.

Interview des Volksbühnen-Dramaturgen Alan Twitchell
mit Tim Etchells und Marino Formenti
> Neuigkeiten

Besetzung

Konzept, Text, Performance: Tim Etchells
Konzept, Musik: Marino Formenti
Künstlerische Produktionsleitung: John McKiernan
Technischer Produktionsleiter: Andreas Dunkel
Ton: Klaus Dobbrick
Bühnenbildassistenz: Maike Krych, Konrad Walkow
Beleuchtung: Leander Hagen

Medien

Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

Foto: Eugene Michelangeli

Photo: Jerry Bauer

13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx