VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Lali Puna + Widowspeak
26.11
main stage

DJ from 7:00 pm at Paketcafé: Falko Teichmann
concert

From Weilheim out into the wide world – It's not a secret that this small town in the Upper Bavarian countryside is a breeding ground for forward-thinking pop music and iridescent indie electronica, at least not since The Notwist released their pioneering album Shrink. At about the same time, namely 1998, the Weilheim scene fostered another trend-setting formation that just released its long-awaited fifth album Two Windows. This venture is Lali Puna, the bedroom-to-the-dance-floor electropop project conceived by Valerie Trebeljahr on a four-track recorder.

Two Windows, Lali Puna's first LP without Notwist singer Markus Acher, presents itself as an emancipated hybrid between pop and politics. Together with her collaborators Christian “Taison” Heiß and Christoph Bradner, over the past two years Trebeljahr has taken themes such as gentrification, monitoring and personal freedom, considered and explored them, put them on paper and cast them into electro-acoustic moulds. Trebeljahr's smooth and clear vocals are carried over the dance floor on the feathery beats of 12 songs. With her reinterpretation of Kings of Leon's “The Bucket”, she delivers one of the most beautiful translations of an indie song into the electronic sphere.

The dream-pop group Widowspeak released their fourth album Expect the Best on the respected New York indie label Captured Tracks (Mac Demarco, Diiv, etc.) at the end of the summer. They'll cap off the evening with decelerated guitar riffs and Molly Hamilton's soft-hymnic voice.

Photo: Patrick Moraresceau

Tickets

> 26.11.17, 20:00

media

Photo: Bernd Bergmann

Photo: Patrick Morarescu

19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin
Lali Puna + Widowspeak
26.11
Bühne

DJ ab 19:00 im Parkettcafé: Falko Teichmann
Konzert

Aus Weilheim in die Welt - Dass die Kleinstadt im oberbayrischen Hinterland als Keimzelle für zukunftsorientierte Popmusik und schillernde Indietronika gehandelt wird, ist spätestens seit Veröffentlichung von The Notwists wegweisendem Album Shrink kein Geheimnis mehr. In etwa zur selben Zeit, wir schreiben das Jahr 1998, erwuchs der Weilheimer Szene eine weitere stilprägende Formation, die gerade ihr lang ersehntes, fünftes Album Two Windows veröffentlicht hat. Die Rede ist von Lali Puna, Valerie Trebeljahrs am Vierspurrekorder erdachtem und aus dem Schlafzimmer konsequent in Richtung Tanzfläche gesponnenem Elektropop-Projekt.

Two Windows, Lali Punas erster Longplayer ohne Notwist-Sänger Markus Acher, präsentiert sich als emanzipierter Hybrid zwischen Pop und Politik. Gemeinsam mit ihren Mitstreitern Christian „Taison“ Heiß und Christoph Bradner wurden in den vergangenen zwei Jahren Themenkomplexe wie Gentrifizierung, Überwachung und persönlicher Freiraum bedacht, behandelt, zu Papier gebracht und in elektroakustische Rahmen gegossen. Trebeljahrs sanft und klar geformter Gesang wird auf den 12 Songs von federleichten Beats über die Tanzfläche getragen und liefert mit einer Neuinterpretation von Kings of Leons The Bucket eine der wohl schönsten Überführungen eines Indiesongs in elektronische Sphären.

Die Dreampop-Formation Widowspeak hat im Spätsommer ihr viertes, Expect the Best betiteltes, Album auf dem New Yorker Qualitätslabel Captured Tracks (Mac Demarco, Diiv, etc.) veröffentlicht und wird den Abend mit entschleunigten Gitarrenriffs und der sanft-hymnischen Stimme von Sängerin Molly Hamilton einläuten.

Foto: Patrick Moraresceau

Tickets

> 26.11.17, 20:00

Medien

Foto: Bernd Bergmann

Foto: Patrick Morarescu

20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
08.11
09.11
10.11
11.11
12.11
13.11
14.11
15.11
16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx