de / en
Kontinuitäten des Antisemitismus
Zwischen Lügen, Abwehr und Konkurrenz
Mit Anetta Kahane, Patrice Poutrus, Düzen Tekkal
28.10.
main stage

Discourse

Moderated by Tahera Ameer

The fear of a loss of culture and identity has taken a central place in social, political, and cultural debates. The result is a particularization into friend-foe antagonisms and an emotionalization of politics. The idea of a universalistic society seems to be an obsolete model. An increase in antisemitic rhetoric and stereotyping shows how cultivated and established antisemitism and its codes are. These “Continuities of Antisemitism” are the reason behind this series of events organized by the Forum for Democratic Culture and Contemporary Art.

The oldest preserved “Judensau” has been hanging in Brandenburg Cathedral since 1230. The church relief is supposed to depict the impurity of the Jews. Another has been hanging at the south-east gate of Cologne Cathedral since 1280. In the thirteenth century, the myth of ritual murder also found its way from England to Germany. It was claimed that Jews kill Christian children and drink their blood as part of magical and medicinal rituals during the festival of Passover. Martin Luther also used this myth to insinuate that all Jews secretly wanted to kill Christians.

This centuries-old myth of ritual murder has been revived recently due to QAnon, the latest popular conspiracy theory. Its adherents claim that elites—liberal globalists and Jewish bankers—want to prolong their own lives with the blood of kidnapped children obtained during satanic rituals. However, the deep antisemitism underlying this ideology is only marginally addressed. In the USA there are already QAnon followers in Donald J. Trump’s cabinet. The Higher Regional Court of Nuremberg ruled that Xavier Naidoo, Germany’s most prominent QAnon supporter, is not to be called an antisemite because the damage to Naidoo’s reputation from the stigma of antisemitism outweighs the danger posed by his statements.

This is by no means an isolated case or merely a phenomenon belonging to the antisemitic realm of conspiracy theories. In the cultural sector, too, debates about antisemitism constantly morph into asking whether the incident in question is really about antisemitism and what antisemitism actually is. Those affected by antisemitism thus find themselves in the paradoxical situation of having to justify their experiences and opinions instead of being able to talk about them openly. So, just as the “Judensau” has been kept out of the debates about representative statues and their historical context, the reflexive refusal to come to terms with antisemitism has also been omnipresent in every major societal debate of recent years. In this panel discussion and subsequent audience discussion the participants will reflect on the significance of antisemitism in current political and cultural debates.

The event is part of the Action Weeks against Anti-Semitism.

Anetta Kahane is an author and chair of the Amadeu Antonio Foundation.

Dr. Patrice Poutrus is a historian. He is a teacher and researcher at the University of Erfurt.

Düzen Tekkal is a journalist, filmmaker, and founder of the human rights organisation Hawar.help.

Tahera Ameer is head of the antisemitism and racism department of the Amadeu Antonio Foundation.

28.10.20, 20:00
> tickets

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en
Kontinuitäten des Antisemitismus
Zwischen Lügen, Abwehr und Konkurrenz
Mit Anetta Kahane, Patrice Poutrus, Düzen Tekkal
28.10.
Großes Haus

Diskurs

Moderiert von Tahera Ameer

Die Angst vor Kultur- und Identitätsverlust hat einen zentralen Platz in gesellschaftlichen, politischen und kulturellen Debatten eingenommen. Daraus folgt eine Partikularisierung in Freund-Feind Antagonismen und eine Emotionalisierung von Politik. Die Idee einer universalistischen Gesellschaft scheint ein Auslaufmodel zu sein. Eine Zunahme antisemitischer Rhetoriken und Stereotypisierungen zeigt, wie kultiviert und tradiert der Antisemitismus und seine Codes sind. Die „Kontinuitäten des Antisemitismus“ sind Anlass der Veranstaltungsreihe des Forum demokratische Kultur und zeitgenössische Kunst.

Die älteste erhaltene „Judensau” hängt seit 1230 im Dom zu Brandenburg. Das Kirchenrelief soll die Unreinheit der Juden darstellen. Eine weitere hängt seit 1280 bis heute am Südosttor des Kölner Doms. Im 13. Jahrhundert fand auch die Legende der Ritualmorde ihren Weg von England nach Deutschland. Sie besagt, dass Juden für magische und medizinische Rituale während des Pessach Fests christliche Kinder töten und ihr Blut trinken. Auch Martin Luther diente die Legende dazu, allen Juden heimliche Mordabsichten an Christen zu unterstellen.

Die Jahrhunderte alte Ritualmordlegende lebt mit der aktuell populärsten Verschwörungsideologie „QAnon” wieder auf. Ihre Anhänger*innen behaupten, dass Eliten aus liberalen Globalisten und jüdischen Bankern mit dem in satanischen Ritualen gewonnenen Blut entführter Kinder ihr eigenes Leben verlängern wollen. Auf den tiefen Antisemitismus, der dieser Ideologie zugrunde liegt, wird jedoch höchstens am Rande eingegangen. In den USA finden sich bereits QAnon-Anhänger*innen im Kabinett von Donald J. Trump. Xavier Naidoo, Deutschlands prominentester QAnon-Anhänger, darf nach einem Urteil des Oberlandesgericht Nürnberg nicht Antisemit genannt werden, weil Naidoos Rufschädigung durch das Stigma des Antisemitismus schwerer wiegt, als die Gefahr, die von seinen Äußerungen ausgeht.

Dabei handelt es sich keineswegs um einen Einzelfall oder lediglich ein Phänomen des antisemitischen Verschwörungsmilieus. Auch im Kulturbereich werden Debatten über Antisemitismus immer wieder auf die Frage verschoben, ob es sich in den jeweiligen Fällen überhaupt um Antisemitismus handelt und was Antisemitismus überhaupt ist. Von Antisemitismus Betroffene geraten so in die paradoxe Situation sich für ihre Erfahrungen und Einschätzungen rechtfertigen zu müssen, anstatt offen darüber sprechen zu können. So wie die „Judensau aus den Debatten um repräsentative Statuen und deren historischen Kontext rausgehalten wird, ist die reflexhafte Abwehr der Aufarbeitung von Antisemitismus in allen wichtigen Gesellschaftsdebatten der letzten Jahre allgegenwärtig. Die Teilnehmer*innen des Panels mit anschließender Publikumsdiskussion, reflektieren die Bedeutung von Antisemitismus in aktuellen politischen und kulturellen Debatten.

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil der Aktionswochen gegen Antisemitismus.

Anetta Kahane ist Autorin und Vorsitzende der Amadeu Antonio Stiftung.

Dr. Patrice Poutrus ist Historiker. Er lehrt und forscht an der Universität Erfurt.

Düzen Tekkal ist Journalistin, Filmemacherin und Gründerin der Menschenrechtsorganisation Hawar.help.

Tahera Ameer leitet den Bereich Antisemitismus und Rassismus der Amadeu Antonio Stiftung.

28.10.20, 20:00
> Tickets

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx