de / en

Photo: Aivars Ivbulis

Looks Like You're Going To Die
Kate Krolle, Valters Sīlis | New Theatre Institute of Latvia, Riga/Latvia

An event of the transcultural festival POSTWEST

Audiowalk

English

Are a person’s thoughts individual? Can two biographies merge into one? How unique are we in the ways we spend our lives? Although some dramatic events happen to us now and then, most of our time we are in the company of our own thoughts, with memories of past events forever bothering us and circling around our heads. Visual artist Kate Krolle and theater director Valters Sīlis leave behind their usual roles and mediums and meet to take us on a walk through their thoughts. It is an intimate encounter that reflects on the complexity and beauty of everyday living and the fragility of creation. Devised as an audio walk, Looks Like You’re Going To Die is a conversation and a journey through the mind, memories, and different European cities.

Credits
Director, Text, Dramaturgy: Kate Krolle, Valters Sīlis
Composition: Arvīds Saulītis
Translation: Andris Kuprišs

With: Kate Krolle, Valters Sīlis

Coproduction between New Theatre Institute of Latvia and Volksbühne Berlin
Produced by New Theatre Institute of Latvia, Dirty Deal teatro

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, Baltic Culture Fund, State Culture Capital Foundation

The New Theatre Institute of Latvia (NTIL) is a project-based organization that has been working in the field of contemporary performing arts since 1998. NTIL organizes Homo Novus, the annual international festival of contemporary theater, as well asproducing and presenting artistic, educational, and research projects and collaboration programs with local and international partners that focus on emerging ideas, innovative work, and responsible action.

Dirty Deal Teatro is an independent venue in Riga that focuses on contemporary theater productions, often with a sociopolitical slant.

Kate Krolle studied visual art at the Art Academy of Latvia and Le Fresnoy in France. She works with mixed media, taking an interest in the relationship between humans and nature, human instincts, collective experience, compassion, and intimacy. Kate has had two solo exhibitions (We hold our hearts, 2014; I could be elsewhere, 2016) and has participated in several group exhibitions in Latvia and abroad. Since 2010 she has been creating site-specific and stage performances on her own and with different collaborators that have been presented at performing arts and contemporary visual arts festivals in Latvia and Belgium (Edge, 2016; Sanctuary of Truth, 2017; Leap Second, 2018; At the shore of running waters, 2018; Arrival, 2019).

Valters Sīlis graduated from the Latvian Academy of Culture in 2010 and since then has worked in small independent theaters as well as the National Theater. From an early stage, Valters became known for his documentary theater productions that illuminated critical moments from recent Latvian history and focused on urgent sociopolitical and ecological issues, both locally and globally (Legionnaires, 2011;National Development Plan, 2013; Lost Antarctica, 2015; 3 Musketeers—East of Vienna, 2016). Valters’ inquisitive, informal, and honest attitude is also present in his latest works, which draw greater attention to micro-histories and the choices of individuals in specific contexts, often focusing on young people (Being Nationalist, 2017; Boy Who Saw in The Darkness, Based on a Book, both 2019).

media

Photo: Laura Stasane

This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

de / en

Foto: Aivars Ivbulis

Looks Like You're Going To Die
Kate Krolle, Valters Sīlis | New Theatre Institute of Latvia, Riga/Lettland

Eine Veranstaltung des transkulturellen Festivals POSTWEST

Audiowalk

In englischer Sprache

Sind die Gedanken einer Person individuell? Können zwei Biografien miteinander verschmelzen? Wie einzigartig sind unsere Lebensentwürfe? Obwohl uns hin und wieder dramatische Ereignisse widerfahren, verbringen wir die meiste Zeit in Gesellschaft unserer eigenen Gedanken, während uns unaufhörlich Erinnerungen an vergangene Ereignisse durch den Kopf gehen und uns behelligen. Die bildende Künstlerin Kate Krolle und der Theaterregisseur Valters Sīlis lassen ihre gewohnten Rollen und Medien hinter sich, um uns auf eine Reise durch ihre Gedankenwelt mitzunehmen. Es ist eine herzliche, ehrliche und intime Begegnung, die die Komplexität und Schönheit des Alltags und die Fragilität der Schöpfung reflektiert. Als audiovisuelle Performance konzipiert, lädt Looks Like You’re Going To Die ein zu einer Konversation und einer Wanderung durch unseren Geist, unsere Erinnerungen und verschiedene europäische Städte.

Credits
Regie, Text, Dramaturgie: Kate Krolle, Valters Sīlis
Komposition: Arvīds Saulītis
Übersetzung: Andris Kuprišs

Mit: Kate Krolle, Valters Sīlis

Koproduktion zwischen New Theatre Institute of Latvia und Volksbühne Berlin
Produziert von: New Theatre Institute of Latvia, Dirty Deal teatro

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Baltic Culture Fund, State Culture Capital Foundation

Das New Theatre Institute of Latvia (NTIL) ist eine projektbasierte Organisation, die seit 1998 im Bereich der performativen Künste aktiv ist. NTIL richtet das jährlich stattfindende, internationale Festival Homo Novus für zeitgenössisches Theater aus. Darüber hinaus produziert und entwickelt es Kunst-, Forschungs- und Bildungsprojekte sowie Kooperationsprogramme mit lokalen und internationalen Partner*innen, die sich auf kreative Konzepte, innovative Arbeit und verantwortungvolles Handeln fokussieren.

Das Dirty Deal Teatro ist eine freie Veranstaltungsstätte in Riga, deren programmatischer Schwerpunkt zeitgenössische Theaterproduktionen mit soziopolitischem Einschlag sind.

Kate Krolle studierte bildende Kunst an der Art Academy of Latvia und der Le Fresnoy in Frankreich. Ihre genreübergreifende Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit dem Verhältnis von Menschen und der Natur, menschlichen Instinkten, kollektiven Erfahrungen, Mitgefühl und Intimität. Krolle hat ihr Schaffen in zwei Einzelausstellungen präsentiert (We hold our hearts, 2014; I could be elsewhere, 2016) und an zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Gruppenausstellungen teilgenommen. Seit 2010 entwickelt sie, zum Teil allein, zum Teil in wechselnden kollaborativen Zusammenhängen, ortsspezifische Performances und Bühnenaufführungen, die auf Festivals für darstellende und bildende Künste in Litauen und Belgien aufgeführt wurden (Edge, 2016; Sanctuary of Truth, 2017; Leap Second, 2018; At the shore of running waters, 2018; Arrival, 2019).

Valters Sīlis graduierte 2010 an der Latvian Academy of Culture und arbeitet seitdem an kleinen freien Theatern und dem Latvian National Theatre. Schon zu Beginn seiner Laufbahn wurde Sīlis für seine dokumentarischen Theaterproduktionen bekannt, die Meilensteine der jüngeren Geschichte Litauens beleuchten und dringende soziopolitische und ökologische Fragen aufwerfen – sowohl auf globaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene (Legionnaires, 2011; National Development Plan, 2013; Lost Antarctica, 2015; 3 Musketeers—East of Vienna, 2016). Sīlis neugierige, ungezwungene und ehrliche Haltung ist auch in seinen jüngsten Werken präsent, die auf die Mikrogeschichten und die Entscheidungen von Individuen in bestimmten Kontexten aufmerksam machen und sich dabei auf junge Menschen konzentrieren.

Medien

Foto: Laura Stasane

Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx