VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Mette Ingvartsen

The Danish performer and choreographer Mette Ingvartsen, born in 1980, is one of the seminal artists of her generation. She created her first works, Manual Focus (2003) and 50/50 (2004) while studying at the school founded by Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels. Her performance to come (2005), a reflection on the sexualisation of our everyday world, was her first piece to attract attention from the wider public. In subsequent years the performance Why We Love Action (2006), It’s in the Air (2008), the YouTube project Where is my Privacy (2008) and GIANT CITY (2009) followed.

Questions about the interplay of perception, action and sensation are strong influences on her choreographic thinking and acting, which began to overlap into other disciplines early on in her career. In the live performance evaporated landscapes (2009) theatrical effects like foam, mist, light and sound develop a momentum of their own, reminiscent of a swarm. With this “dance without dancers”, she succeeded in making her mark on the art world, which resulted in a series about the choreographic and aesthetic effects of objects and machines. The Extra Sensorial Garden (2010) and Light Forest (2010) invite the spectator to enter environments where light, temperature, colour and sound create a sensual sphere that blurs the boundaries between natural and artificial elements. With the stage study The Artificial Nature Project (2012) Mette Ingvartsen presented a modern paraphrasing of Kleist’s essay, On the Marionette Theatre. She arranged performers, machines, diverse materials and objects into a choreography in which it is no longer clear who or what drives the impulses for the movement: human will or the things that surrounded us.

Red Pieces is the title of a new cycle of works, which places the focus on the human body and its media staging. The first piece is the solo work 69 positions (2014), a walk-through performance archive which deals with the forms of expression of sexual utopias of the feminist avant-garde. This is followed by the group choreography 7 pleasure (2015). The solo performance 21 pornographies (2017), the choreography to come (extended) (2017) and the conference The Permeable Stage (2017) all focus on the conjunction of sexuality, power and the body politic.

Mette Ingvartsen is the artist in residence at the KAAITHEATER in Brussels since 2013. As a performer, she can be seen in projects by Jan Ritsema, Bojana Cvejic, Xavier Le Roy and Boris Charmatz. She lives and works in Brussels.

Past productions

16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Mette Ingvartsen

Die dänische Performerin und Choreografin Mette Ingvartsen, geboren 1980, zählt zu den wegweisenden Künstlerinnen ihrer Generation. Ihre ersten Arbeiten Manual Focus (2003) und 50/50 (2004) realisiert sie noch während ihres Studiums an der von Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker gegründeten Schule P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel. Mit der Performance to come (2005), eine Reflexion über die Sexualisierung unserer Alltagswelt, wird erstmals eine breitere Öffentlichkeit auf sie aufmerksam. In den nächsten Jahren folgen Why We Love Action (2006), It’s in the Air (2008), das YouTube Projekt Where is my Privacy (2008) und GIANT CITY (2009).

Fragen zum Wechselspiel von Wahrnehmung, Wirkung und Empfindung werden bestimmend für ihr choreographisches Denken und Handeln, das früh in andere Disziplinen zu expandieren beginnt. In der Life-Performance evaporated landscapes (2009) entwickeln Theatereffekte wie Schaum, Nebel, Licht und Sound eine Eigendynamik, die an Schwarmphänomene erinnert. Mit diesem „Tanz ohne Tänzer“ gelingt ihr eine signifikante Setzung, die in einer Serie mündet, die sich mit den choreografischen und ästhetischen Effekten von Objekten und Maschinen beschäftigt. The Extra Sensorial Garden (2010) und Light Forest (2010) laden den Zuschauer ein, Environments zu betreten, in dem Licht, Temperatur, Farbe und Sound eine sinnliche Sphäre erzeugen, in der die Grenze zwischen natürlichen und künstlichen Elementen zu verschwimmen beginnt. Mit der Bühnenstudie The Artificial Nature Project (2012) präsentiert Mette Ingvartsen eine moderne Paraphrase auf Kleist’s Gedanken über das Marionettentheater. Sie organisiert Performer, Maschinen, diverse Materialien und Objekte zu einer Choreografie, in der nicht mehr auszumachen ist, wer die Bewegungsimpulse setzt: der menschliche Wille oder die Dinge, die ihn umgeben.

Red Pieces ist der Titel eines neuen Werkzyklus, der den menschlichen Körper und seine medialen Inszenierungen ins Zentrum rückt. Den Auftakt bildet das Solostück 69 positions (2014), ein begehbares Performance-Archiv, das sich mit den Ausdrucksformen sexueller Utopien der feministischen Avantgarde auseinandersetzt. Es folgt die Gruppenchoreographie 7 Pleasure (2015). Die Soloperformance 21 pornographies (2017), die Choreographie to come (extended) (2017) und die Konferenz The Permeable Stage (2017) legen den Fokus auf die Verbindung von Sexualität, Macht und Körperpolitik.

Seit 2013 ist Mette Ingvartsen Artist in Residence am KAAITHEATER in Brüssel. Als Performerin ist sie in Projekten von Jan Ritsema, Bojana Cvejic, Xavier Le Roy und Boris Charmatz zu sehen. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Brüssel und ist Mitglied des Programmbeirats der Volksbühne.

Foto:Fernanda Tafner

24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx