VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Alexandra Bachzetsis, born in Zurich in 1974, is an artist, performer, and choreographer. For her, contemporary dance arises from modern forms of communication, mass media, pop music and the internet. Dance – like painting, architecture, literature, advertising, cinema, fashion, and pornography – combines different disciplines and representational systems for Bachzetsis.

This fundamental interdisciplinary approach is reflected in her training. The artist studied at the Liceo Artistico in Zurich, the Scuola Teatro Dimitri in Verscio and participated in the Performance Education Programme at the Kunstzentrum STUK in Leuven, Belgium. This was followed by a master’s degree at DasArts (De Amsterdamse School/Advanced Research in Theatre and Dance Studies). During her training Bachzetsis started working as a dancer in the contemporary dance and performance scene, collaborating with Sasha Waltz & Guests (Berlin), Christine De Smedt and Koen Augustijnen of Les Ballets C de la B (Ghent). Since 2001, she has been working independently, producing and presenting her work in various theatres and on the art scene.

Many of Bachzetsis’ works explore choreographies of the body; particularly how popular culture provides the raw material for expression and identification through the constant recreation of our bodies and identification forms. The question of how we perform and stage our bodies and ourselves – through stereotype and archetype, through decision and cliché, through work and performance– is fundamental to Bachzetsis’ work. For her, Fred Astaire, Bob Dylan, Michelangelo Antonioni, Alejandro Jodorowsky and Michael Jackson are just as important as Trisha Brown and Lina Bo Bardi. The artist, the daughter of a Swiss mother and a Greek father, does not declare origin and identity, but, rather, declares a lack of roots to a political and aesthetic arena: “Neither places nor languages gave me a sense of belonging. So, I wanted to create one, a space in which I could exist.”

The beginning of Bachzetsis’ choreographic career is marked by Perfect (2010); collaborations with numerous artists followed in more than 25 performance pieces, including Gold (2004), Show Dance (2004), Undressed (2005), Dream Season (2008), Étude (2012), and From A to B via C (2014). PRIVATE: Wear a mask when you talk to me (2016), a solo project, better reflects Bachzetsis’ current work approach.

Bachzetsis has received numerous prizes and distinctions for her work, including the Migros Culture Promotion Jubilee Award, 2007; a grant for her work as a choreographer from the City of Zurich, 2009; an award from the Art Directorate of the Canton of Basel-Land for her performance Bluff, 2010; the Swiss Art Award 2011; and the Swiss Performance Prize, 2012. Additionally, Bachzetsis participated in various exhibitions: in 2008, she had a large solo exhibition curated by Adam Szymczyk, Show, in the Kunsthalle Basel and participated in the 5th Berlin Biennial for Contemporary Art. In the context of the interdisciplinary project Performative Structures (directed by Sabine Rusterholz), Bachzetsis presented her solo exhibition Play at Kunsthaus Glarus in 2010. That same year, she also participated in the group exhibition Performative Structures. New Existentialism, Part 1, curated by Alexandra Blättler at the Museum Alte Fabrik in Rapperswil, Switzerland. Her works were also shown at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam in 2013 and 2015, at the Tate Modern in London and at the Jumex Museum in Mexico City in 2014. In 2016, she participated in the public programmes The Parliament of Bodies and Continuum of the documenta 14. In January 2017, she presented Massacre: Variations on a Theme at MoMA in New York. In 2017, she is re-presented at documenta 14 in Kassel and Athens with her latest play Private Song, and, in Kassel, also with a video installation, Studies for Massacre - Seven Stages.

22.06
23.06
24.06
25.06
26.06
27.06
28.06
29.06
30.06
01.07
02.07
03.07
04.07
05.07
06.07
07.07
08.07
09.07
10.07
11.07
12.07
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Alexandra Bachzetsis

Alexandra Bachzetsis,1974 in Zürich geboren, ist Künstlerin, Performerin und Choreografin. Für sie entspringt der zeitgenössische Tanz aus den modernen Kommunikationsformen, aus Massenmedien, Popmusik und Internet. Tanz vereint für Bachzetsis unterschiedliche Disziplinen und Repräsentationssysteme wie Malerei, Architektur, Literatur, Werbung, Kino, Mode, Pornographie.

Dieser fundamental interdisziplinäre Ansatz spiegelt sich bereits in ihrer Ausbildung wieder. Die Künstlerin studiert am Zürcher Kunstgymnasium, der Dimitrischule in Verscio, dem Performance Education Program am Kunstzentrum STUK im belgischen Leuven. Es folgte ein Masterstudium am DasArts (De Amsterdamse School/Advanced Research in Theatre and Dance Studies), Amsterdam. Bereits während ihrer Ausbildung beginnt sie als Tänzerin in der zeitgenössischen Tanz- und Performanceszene und arbeitet unter anderem mit Sasha Waltz & Guests (Berlin) und Christine De Smedt und Koen Augustijnen vom Les Ballets C de la B (Gent) zusammen. Seit 2001 arbeitet sie selbstständig und produziert und präsentiert ihre Arbeiten in Theatern und im Kunstbereich.

Viele von Bachzetsis’ Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit Choreografien des Körpers und insbesondere damit, wie die Populärkultur bei der stetigen Neuerschaffung unserer Körper und Identifikationsformen das Ausgangsmaterial für Ausdruck und Identifikation bereitstellt. Die Frage, wie wir alle unsere Körper und uns selbst aufführen und inszenieren – durch Stereotype und Archetypen, durch Entscheidung und Klischee, durch Arbeit und Spektakel – bleibt grundlegend für Bachzetsis’ Werk. Für die Künstlerin sind Fred Astaire, Bob Dylan, Michelangelo Antonioni, Alejandro Jodorowsky und Michael Jackson ebenso bedeutend wie Trisha Brown – oder Lina Bo Bardi. Die Künstlerin, als Tochter einer Schweizer Mutter und eines griechischen Vaters geboren, erklärt nicht Herkunft und Identität, sondern Entwurzelung zu einem politischen und ästhetischen Schauplatz: „Weder Orte noch Sprachen vermittelten mir ein Gefühl der Zugehörigkeit. Also wollte ich mir ein solches erschaffen, einen Raum, in dem ich existieren konnte.“

Am Beginn von Bachzetsis‘ choreographischer Arbeit im Jahr 2001 steht Perfect, Kollaborationen mit zahlreichen Künstler*innen an mehr als 25 Stücken folgen, darunter Gold (2004), Show Dance (2004), Undressed (2005), Dream Season (2008), Étude (2012) und From A to B via C (2014). PRIVATE: Wear a mask when you talkt o me (2016) markiert als Soloprojekt, Bachzetsis’ aktuellere Arbeitsweise.

Bachzetsis erhält für ihre Arbeit zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen: 2007 den Migros Kulturprozent Jubilee Award, 2009 eine Förderung für ihre Arbeit als Choreografin von der Stadt Zürich, 2010 eine Auszeichnung der Kunstdirektion des Kantons Basel-Land für ihre Performance Bluff, 2011 und 2016 den Swiss Art Award und 2012 des Schweizer Performancepreises. Zudem nimmt Bachzetsis an verschiedenen Ausstellungen teil: 2008 hat sie eine große, von Adam Szymczyk kuratierte Einzelausstellung, Show, in der Kunsthalle Basel und nimmt an der 5. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst teil. Im Rahmen des übergreifenden Projekts Performative Structures (unter Leitung von Sabine Rusterholz) zeigt sie 2010 ihre Einzelausstellung Play im Kunsthaus Glarus. Im selben Jahr ist sie außerdem an der Gruppenausstellung Performative Structures. New Existentialism, Part 1 vertreten, kuratiert von Alexandra Blättler im Museum Alte Fabrik im schweizerischen Rapperswil. Ihre Werke werden zudem 2013 und 2015 im Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, 2014 in der Tate Modern in London und 2014 im Jumex Museum in Mexico City gezeigt. 2016 nimmt sie an den Öffentlichen Programmen The Parliament of Bodies und Continuum der documenta 14 teil. Im Januar 2017 präsentiert sie Massacre: Variations on a Theme im MoMA in New York. 2017 ist sie sowohl in Athen als auch in Kassel Teil der documenta 14 mit ihrem neusten Stück Private Song und in Kassel zudem mit einer Videoinstallation mit dem Titel Studies for Massacre - Seven Stages.

Aktuelle Produktionen

20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
04.10
05.10
06.10
07.10
08.10
09.10
10.10
11.10
12.10
13.10
14.10
15.10
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx