VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Boris Charmatz

Conflicts in collectives, the celebration of communities, and the expansion of the concept of dance are the main topics explored by French choreographer and dancer Boris Charmatz, who pursues a redefinition of choreographic and institutional space. In 2009, when he took over as artistic director of the Centre Chorégraphique National de Rennes et de Bretagne, he declared the institute a museum of dance. Contemporary artists, writers and thinkers from all disciplines are regularly invited to work together on new themes and performative forms. The Musée de la danse is now a “museum in progress”, a platform and impetus for new developments in contemporary dance. In addition to his choreographic work, Charmatz develops improvisational formats and dance workshops with students, children and amateurs. From 2006 to 2008 he was a guest lecturer at the Universität der Künste, Berlin and co-founder of the Hochschulübergreifendes Zentrum Tanz (Inter-University Centre for Dance).

Charmatz studied at the Paris Opera’s school of ballet and rose to international acclaim as a 19-year-old through his own work. His choreographies are presented worldwide, including Flip Book (2008) and Roman Photo (2009). In co-production with the manifesta 8, he developed Levée des conflits (2010), a choreography for 24 dancers that reveals commonalities between man and machine. In 2011, he was named an Artist Associé des Festival d’Avignon and created the internationally celebrated dance piece enfant, for the stage in the Papal Palace. His movement sculpture manger (2014) explores the daily ritual of eating; with the performance Danse de Nuit (2016), Charmatz draws attention to the threat to the human body in public space.

His live exhibition expo zéro was shown at Springdance / BAK basis voor actuele kunst in Utrecht (2010) and at Performa 11 in New York (2011). As co-curator of the exhibition Moments. A History of Performance in 10 Acts (ZKM Karlsruhe, 2012), he developed performative strategies of appropriation with colleagues from art and academia. In November 2013, the Musée de la dance performed its piece Three Collective Gestures at MoMA, New York. From 2012 – 2014, Boris Charmatz was among the most influential artists at the Ruhrtriennale under the direction of Heiner Goebbels. In 2015, with If Tate Modern was Musée de la danse? the Tate Modern, London, presented a multi-day retrospective of the artist in the Turbine Hall and exhibition spaces. As a dancer, Boris Charmatz can be seen in various choreographies including those by Meg Stuart, Tino Sehgal and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. He has co-authored numerous books on contemporary dance, most recently Je suis une école and (together with Jérôme Bel) Emails 2009-2010. Boris Charmatz lives in Rennes and Brussels, and is a member of the Volksbühne’s programme advisory board.

Picture: Donald Christie

Statement
> "Boris Charmatz, what can this 2,500-year-old theatre ritual right now bring forth?"

Current productions

22.06
23.06
24.06
25.06
26.06
27.06
28.06
29.06
30.06
01.07
02.07
03.07
04.07
05.07
06.07
07.07
08.07
09.07
10.07
11.07
12.07
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Boris Charmatz

Konflikte in Kollektiven, das Zelebrieren von Gemeinschaften, die Ausweitung des Tanzbegriffs sind die Hauptthemen des französischen Choreografen und Tänzers Boris Charmatz. Dabei arbeitet er an einer Neudefinition des choreografischen und institutionellen Raums. Als er 2009 die künstlerische Leitung des Centre chorégraphique national de Rennes et de Bretagne übernimmt, erklärt er das Haus zu einem Museum für Tanz. Regelmäßig sind dort zeitgenössische Künstler, Autoren und Denker aller Disziplinen zu Gast, um gemeinsam an neuen Themen und Formen zu arbeiten. Musée de la danse ist heute ›museum in progress‹, Plattform und Impulsgeber für neue Entwicklungen im zeitgenössischen Tanz. Neben seinen choreografischen Arbeiten entwickelt Charmatz immer wieder auch Improvisations-Formate und Tanz-Workshops mit Studierenden, Kindern und Laien. Von 2006 bis 2008 war er Gastdozent an der Universität der Künste, Berlin und Mitbegründer des Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum Tanz.

Charmatz studierte an der Ballettschule der Pariser Oper und stößt bereits als 19-jähriger mit ersten eigenen Arbeiten international auf breite Resonanz. Seine Choreografien werden weltweit gezeigt, darunter Flip Book (2008) und Roman Photo (2009). In Koproduktion mit der manifesta 8 entsteht Levée des conflitsAufhebung der Konflikte (2010), eine Choreografie für 24 Tänzer, die das Gemeinsame von Mensch und Maschine aufdeckt. 2011 ist er Artist Associé des Festival d’Avignon und entwickelt für die Bühne des Papstpalastes das international gefeierte Tanzstück enfant - Kind. Seine Bewegungsskulptur mangeressen (2014) beschäftigt sich mit dem alltäglichen Akt des Essens, mit der Performance danse de nuitTanz bei Nacht (2016) lenkt Charmatz die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Gefährdung des menschlichen Körpers im öffentlichen Raum.

Mit seiner Live-Ausstellung expo zéro ist er zu Gast u.a. bei Springdance/ BAK basis voor actuele kunst in Utrecht (2010) und bei Performa 11 in New York (2011). Als Co-Kurator der Ausstellung Moments. Eine Geschichte der Performance in 10 Akten (ZKM Karlsruhe 2012) entwickelt er mit Kollegen aus Kunst und Wissenschaft performative Strategien der Aneignung. Im November 2013 gastiert das Musée de la danse unter dem Titel Three Collective Gestures im MoMA, New York. Von 2012 – 2014 gehört Boris Charamtz zu den prägenden Künstler der Ruhrtriennale unter der Leitung von Heiner Goebbels. 2015 präsentiert die Tate Modern, London mit If Tate Modern was Musée de la danse? eine mehrtägige Retrospektive des Künstlers in der Turbine Hall und Sammlung. Als Tänzer ist Boris Charmatz in Choreografien von Meg Stuart, Tino Sehgal, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker und in eigenen Stücken zu sehen. Er veröffentlicht als (Co)Autor zahlreiche Bücher über den zeitgenössischen Tanz, zuletzt Je suis une école und (gemeinsam mit Jérôme Bel) Emails 2009-2010. Boris Charmatz lebt in Rennes und Brüssel, er ist Mitglied des Programmbeirats der Volksbühne.

Foto: Donald Christie

Statement
> "Boris Charmatz, was kann das 2.500 Jahre alte Theaterritual gerade jetzt bewirken?"

Aktuelle Produktionen

Vergangene Produktionen

18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx