VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Susanne Kennedy

Director Susanne Kennedy responds to the new balance of power between bodies, technical objects and machines with an aesthetic that is beyond the human. Distorted by masks, playback dialogue, doppelgängers and multimedia, the actors confront the audience with a post-humanistic subjectivity.

Born in Friedrichshafen, Germany in 1977, Susanne Kennedy studied direction at the Hogeschool voor de Kunsten in Amsterdam. She debuted on the Dutch stage with a series of productions of pieces by Enda Walsh, Sarah Kane and Elfriede Jelinek, as well as the experimental soap opera The Hideous (Wo)men (2013). In 2011 she invited Johan Simons to work with the ensemble at the Munich Kammerspiele. Productions of the film material They Shoot Horses, Don’t they? (2011) and Marieluise Fleißer’s first play Fegefeuer in Ingolstadt (Purgatory in Ingolstadt) (2013) ensue. The director sets Fleißer’s small-town life in a box on stage, in which the actors gradually atrophy into sculptures behind their masks, as in an installation, making the stereotypical and deformed quality of language tangible. It is a procedure that Susanne Kennedy taps into in Warum läuft Herr R. Amok? (Why Does Herr R. Run Amok?) (2014), based on the film by Rainer Werner Maria Fassbinder and Michael Fengler.

For her production of Fegefeuer in Ingolstadt Susanne Kennedy was named “young director of the year” by the magazine Theater heute, and awarded the 3sat prize. Fegefeuer von Ingolstadt and Warum läuft Herr R. Amok? were chosen to be staged for the Theatertreffen of the Berliner Festspiele in 2014 and 2015.

In collaboration with the Ruhrtriennale in 2015, the musical theatre parcours Orfeo and, in 2016 together with Markus Selg, the multimedia piece MEDEA.MATRIX were staged, with Birgit Minichmayr in the lead role. At the Munich Kammerspiele, she produced The Virgin Suicides, based on the novel by Jeffrey Eugenides. The play is a co-production with the Volksbühne Berlin, where it will be included in the repertoire from spring 2018. Susanne Kennedy’s serial drama Women in Trouble is part of the Volksbühne’s opening programme in 2017.

Susanne Kennedy lives in Berlin and, with the launch of season 2017/2018, will become an associate director of the theatre.

Statement
> "Susanne Kennedy, what can this 2,500-year-old theatre ritual right now bring forth?"

Current productions

16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Susanne Kennedy

Auf das neuartige Kräfteverhältnis zwischen Körpern, technischen Objekten und Maschinen reagiert die Regisseurin Susanne Kennedy mit einer Ästhetik jenseits des Menschen. Verfremdet durch Masken, Play-Back-Dialoge, Doppelgänger und Multimedia konfrontieren die Darstellerinnen und Darsteller das Publikum mit einer posthumanistischen Subjektivität.

Geboren 1977 in Friedrichshafen, studiert Susanne Kennedy Regie an der Hogeschool voor de Kunsten in Amsterdam. Es entsteht eine Reihe von Inszenierungen an niederländischen Bühnen nach Stücken von Enda Walsh, Sarah Kane und Elfriede Jelinek sowie die experimentelle Soap Opera The Hideous (Wo)men (2013). 2011 lädt Johan Simons sie ein, mit dem Ensemble der Münchner Kammerspiele zu arbeiten. Es folgen Inszenierungen des Filmstoffes They Shoot Horses, Don’t they? (2011) und von Marieluise Fleißers Erstlingsstück Fegefeuer in Ingolstadt (2013). Fleißers kleinstädtischen Alltag lässt die Regisseurin in einer Bühnenbox spielen, in der die Schauspieler hinter Masken wie in einer Installation zu Skulpturen erstarren. Das Schablonenhafte und Deformierte der Sprache wird körperlich sichtbar. Ein Verfahren, an das Susanne Kennedy in Warum läuft Herr R. Amok? (2014) nach dem Film von Rainer Werner Maria Fassbinder und Michael Fengler anschließt.

Für ihre Inszenierung Fegefeuer in Ingolstadt wird Susanne Kennedy von der Fachzeitschrift Theater heute zur Nachwuchsregisseurin des Jahres gewählt und mit dem 3sat-Preis ausgezeichnet. Die Inszenierungen Fegefeuer in Ingolstadt und Warum läuft Herr R. Amok? werden 2014 und 2015 zum Theatertreffen nach Berlin eingeladen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Ruhrtriennale entstehen 2015 der Musiktheater-Parcours Orfeo und 2016 gemeinsam mit Markus Selg das multimediale Stück MEDEA.MATRIX mit Birgit Minichmayr in der Hauptrolle. An den Münchner Kammerspielen inszenierte sie zuletzt Die Selbstmord-Schwestern - The Virgin Suicides nach Motiven des Romans von Jeffrey Eugenides. Die Inszenierung ist eine Koproduktion mit der Volksbühne Berlin, wo sie ab Frühjahr 2018 im Repertoire zu sehen sein wird. Zuvor inszeniert Susanne Kennedy für das Eröffnungsprogramm der Volksbühne das Stationendrama Women in Trouble.

Susanne Kennedy lebt in Berlin und ist mit Beginn Spielzeit 2017/2018 fest assoziierte Regisseurin des Hauses.

Statement
> "Susanne Kennedy, was kann das 2.500 Jahre alte Theaterritual gerade jetzt bewirken?"

Aktuelle Produktionen

16.11
17.11
18.11
19.11
20.11
21.11
22.11
23.11
24.11
25.11
26.11
27.11
28.11
29.11
30.11
01.12
02.12
03.12
04.12
05.12
06.12
07.12
08.12
09.12
10.12
11.12
12.12
13.12
14.12
15.12
16.12
17.12
18.12
19.12
20.12
21.12
22.12
23.12
24.12
25.12
26.12
27.12
28.12
29.12
30.12
31.12
01.01
02.01
03.01
04.01
05.01
06.01
07.01
08.01
09.01
10.01
11.01
12.01
13.01
14.01
15.01
16.01
17.01
18.01
19.01
20.01
21.01
22.01
23.01
24.01
25.01
26.01
27.01
28.01
29.01
30.01
31.01
01.02
02.02
03.02
04.02
05.02
06.02
07.02
08.02
09.02
10.02
11.02
12.02
13.02
14.02
15.02
16.02
17.02
18.02
19.02
20.02
21.02
22.02
23.02
24.02
25.02
26.02
27.02
28.02
01.03
02.03
03.03
04.03
05.03
06.03
07.03
08.03
09.03
10.03
11.03
12.03
13.03
14.03
15.03
16.03
17.03
18.03
19.03
20.03
21.03
22.03
23.03
24.03
25.03
26.03
27.03
28.03
29.03
30.03
31.03
01.04
02.04
03.04
04.04
05.04
06.04
07.04
08.04
09.04
10.04
11.04
12.04
13.04
14.04
15.04
16.04
17.04
18.04
19.04
20.04
21.04
22.04
23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx