VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Omar Abusaada

Omar Abusaada is an independent Syrian playwright who lives and works in Damascus. After finishing his theatrical studies at the Higher Institute for Dramatic Arts in Damascus, he starts to build his own vision of a politically and socially-conscious theatre. Working as a playwright and director, he co-founds the Studio Theatre in 2002, whose first show, Insomnia, premieres in 2004.

Abusaada then directs El affich – Forgiveness (2006), based on improvisations with a group of inmates from a youth detention centre, Almirwad wa almikhala (2009), Look at the Streets … This is What Hope Looks Like (2011) and Could You Please Look into the Camera? (2012). His most recent piece While I was Waiting, premieres in Kunsten Festival, Brussels in 2016, and is selected for the official programme of the 70th edition of Festival D’Avignon.

He spends years travelling the remotest regions of Syria, Egypt, and Yemen, performing shows on marketplaces that are often pretexts to talk with with local students, workers and villagers, who sometimes join the actors onstage.

For his most recent play, the director also works together with the Syrian author Mohammad Al Attar. Their performances take place on the boundary between dramatization and documentation. They condense the travails of war and show what it means to endure them. They have completed their theatrical trilogy, which is dedicated to the lives of women seeking refuge from war. Following the adaptation of Trojan Women (2013) in Jordan by Abusaada, Al Attar joined him for the second part of Antigone of Shatila (2014) in Lebanon. The long-awaited Iphigenia now follows at Volksbühne Tempelhof.

Current productions

Past productions

20.09
21.09
22.09
23.09
24.09
25.09
26.09
27.09
28.09
29.09
30.09
01.10
02.10
03.10
04.10
05.10
06.10
07.10
08.10
09.10
10.10
11.10
12.10
13.10
14.10
15.10
16.10
17.10
18.10
19.10
20.10
21.10
22.10
23.10
24.10
25.10
26.10
27.10
28.10
29.10
30.10
31.10
01.11
02.11
03.11
04.11
05.11
06.11
07.11
ʌ
v
This website uses cookies. You can read more about cookies in our disclaimer. > Morex

VOLKSBÜHNE
Berlin

Omar Abusaada

Omar Abusaada ist ein unabhängiger syrischer Theatermacher, der in Damaskus lebt und arbeitet. Nach Beendigung seines Theaterstudiums am Higher Institute for Dramatic Arts in Damaskus beginnt er damit, seine Vision eines politisch und gesellschaftlich bewussten Theaters in die Tat umzusetzen. Während er als Bühnenautor und als Regisseur arbeitet, ist er 2002 Mitbegründer der Gruppe Studio Theatre, deren erstes Stück Insomnia seine Premiere 2004 hat.

Anschließend inszeniert Abusaada El Affich – Forgiveness (Vergebung; 2006), das auf Improvisationen mit einer Gruppe von Häftlingen aus einer Jugendstrafanstalt beruht, Almirwad wa almikhala (2009), Look at the Streets … This is What Hope Looks Like (2011) und Could You Please Look into the Camera? (Könntest du bitte in die Kamera schauen?; 2012). Sein neuestes Stück While I was Waiting (Während ich wartete) wird 2016 beim Kunsten Festival in Brüssel uraufgeführt und für das offizielle Programm der 70. Ausgabe des Festival d’Avignon ausgewählt.

Er verbringt Jahre damit, die entlegensten Regionen von Syrien, Ägypten und dem Jemen zu bereisen, wo er auf den Marktplätzen Theaterstücke aufführt, die auf den Vorgesprächen mit dort ansässigen Studenten, Arbeitern und Dorfbewohner basieren. Die stehen später oft gemeinsam mit den Schauspielern auf der Bühne.

Bei seinem jüngsten Stück arbeitet der Regisseur erneut mit dem syrischen Autor Mohammad Al Attar zusammen. Ihre Aufführungen finden an der Grenze zwischen Dichtung und Dokumentation statt. Sie komprimieren die Mühsal des Krieges und zeigen, was es bedeutet, sie zu ertragen. Sie haben ihre Theater-Trilogie fertiggestellt, die dem Leben von Frauen gewidmet ist, die Zuflucht vor dem Krieg suchen. Im Anschluss an die in Jordanien aufgeführte Adaptation Trojan Women (Die Troerinnen; 2013) von Abusaada, arbeitet er gemeinsam mit Al Attar an Antigone of Shatila (Antigone von Shatila; 2014) im Libanon sowie der lang erwarteten Iphigenia (Iphigenie) an der Volksbühne Tempelhof.

Aktuelle Produktionen

23.04
24.04
25.04
26.04
27.04
28.04
29.04
30.04
01.05
02.05
03.05
04.05
05.05
06.05
07.05
08.05
09.05
10.05
11.05
12.05
13.05
14.05
15.05
16.05
17.05
18.05
19.05
20.05
21.05
22.05
23.05
24.05
25.05
26.05
27.05
28.05
29.05
30.05
31.05
01.06
02.06
ʌ
v
Diese Website setzt Cookies ein. Mehr darüber erfahren Sie in unseren Hinweisen zum Datenschutz. > Mehrx